50 N.J.R. 1965(a)

VOLUME 50, ISSUE 17, SEPTEMBER 4, 2018

RULE ADOPTIONS

Reporter

50 N.J.R. 1965(a)

NJ - New Jersey Register > 2018 > SEPTEMBER > SEPTEMBER 4, 2018 > RULE ADOPTIONS > LAW AND PUBLIC SAFETY -- DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS

Agency

LAW AND PUBLIC SAFETY > DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS > NEW JERSEY STATE BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY

Administrative Code Citation

Adopted Amendment: N.J.A.C. 13:29-1.5

Text

Fees

Proposed: August 7, 2017, at 49 N.J.R. 2456(a).

Adopted: November 16, 2017, by the Board of Accountancy, Sara DeSmith, CPA, President.

Filed: August 6, 2018, as R.2018 d.168, without change.

Authority: N.J.S.A. 45:2B-48.

Effective Date: September 4, 2018.

Expiration Date: February 7, 2025.

Summary of Public Comment and Agency Reponse:

The official comment period ended October 6, 2017. The Board of Accountancy (Board) received one comment from William J. Mignone, CPA.

1. COMMENT: The commenter objected to the raising of the CPA fees in the State of New Jersey and stated that is unfair to raise these fees.

The commenter also noted that the license fees in Pennsylvania are about the same or lower than New Jersey's.

RESPONSE: Under the statutory authority set forth in N.J.S.A. 45:1-3.2, a professional board's fees must be established in an amount necessary to defray proper expenses incurred in performing its duties, but such fees may not be raised in an amount in excess of the amount estimated to allow the Board to carry out its duties. A fiscal analysis conducted by the Division of Consumer Affairs revealed that the proposed fee increases are necessary and appropriate to satisfy the Board's current and anticipated expense levels and comport with the requirements of N.J.S.A. 45:1-3.2. The proposed fees are necessary for the Board to perform its statutory obligations to the regulated community and to the public at large to maintain professional and ethical business practices in the practice of accountancy.

Federal Standards Statement

A Federal standards analysis is not required because the adopted amendments are governed by N.J.S.A. 45:2B-42 et seq., and are not subject to any Federal laws or standards.

Regulations

Full text of the adoption follows:

SUBCHAPTER 1. GENERAL RULES

13:29-1.5 Fees

- (a) Fees for Certified Public Accountants, Public Accountants, and accounting firms, including sole proprietorships, partnerships, professional corporations, limited liability companies, or limited liability partnerships are as follows:
 - 1. (No change.)
 - 2. Initial license fee (for Certified Public Accountants and accounting firms only):
 - i. During the first year of a triennial registration
 period: \$ 135.00;
 - ii. During the second year of a triennial registration period: \$ 90.00;
 - iii. During the third year of a triennial registration
 period: \$ 45.00;
 - 3. Triennial registration: \$ 135.00;
 - **4.-5.** (No change.)

- 6. Inactive status renewal: \$ 60.00;
 7.-8. (No change.)
- (b) (No change.)
- (c) Fees for Registered Municipal Accountants are as follows:
 - 1.-2. (No change.)
 - 3. Initial license fee:
 - i. During the first year of a triennial registration period: \$ 135.00;
 - ii. During the second year of a triennial registration
 period: \$ 90.00;
 - iii. During the third year of a triennial registration
 period: \$ 45.00;
 - 4. Triennial registration: \$ 135.00; [page=1966] 5.-6. (No change.)
 - 7. Inactive status renewal: \$ 60.00; 8.-9. (No change.)
- (d) Fees for Public School Accountants are as follows:
 - 1. Initial license fee: \$ 75.00;
 - 2. Triennial registration fee: \$ 75.00;
 - **3.-4.** (No change.)
 - 5. Inactive status renewal: \$ 60.00;
 - 6. (No change.)
- (e) Entities filing an application to become sponsors of continuing professional education shall pay a fee of \$ 150.00 on a triennial basis for administrative costs and evaluation of programs submitted.

NEW JERSEY REGISTER

Copyright $^{\circ}$ 2018 by the New Jersey Office of Administrative Law