54 N.J.R. 152(a)

VOLUME 54, ISSUE 2, JANUARY 18, 2022

RULE ADOPTIONS

Reporter

54 N.J.R. 152(a)

NJ - New Jersey Register > 2022 > JANUARY > JANUARY 18, 2022 > RULE ADOPTIONS > LAW AND PUBLIC SAFETY -- DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS

Agency

LAW AND PUBLIC SAFETY > DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS > STATE ACUPUNCTURE EXAMINING BOARD

Administrative Code Citation

Adopted Amendment: N.J.A.C. 13:35-9.20

Text

Continuing Professional Education Requirements

Proposed: November 18, 2019, at 51 N.J.R. 1664(a) (The notice of proposal would have expired on November 18, 2020, but was extended by Executive Order No. 127 (2020) and P.L. 2021, c. 103, to January 1, 2022).

Adopted: May 20, 2020, by Henry McCann, President, State Acupuncture Examining Board, and Scott E. Metzger, M.D., President, State Board of Medical Examiners.

Filed: December 9, 2021, as R.2022 d.012, without change.

Authority: N.J.S.A. 45:2C-3.

Effective Date: January 18, 2022.

Expiration Date: April 3, 2025.

Summary of Public Comment and Agency Response:

The official comment period ended January 17, 2020. No comments were received.

Federal Standards Statement

A Federal standards analysis is not required because there are no Federal laws or standards applicable to the adopted amendment.

Full text of the adoption follows:

SUBCHAPTER 9. ACUPUNCTURE

13:35-9.20 Continuing professional education requirements

- (a)-(b) (No change.)
- (c) No license renewal shall be issued by the Board unless the acupuncturist confirms on the renewal application that he or she completed at least 26 hours of continuing education detailed in (d) below and holds current certification in CPR, first aid, and use of an automated external defibrillator (AED) from courses offered by the American Heart Association or a substantially similar course approved or offered by the American Red Cross, the National Safety Council, Coyne First Aid, Inc., the American Safety and Health Institute, EMP International Inc., or EMS Safety Services Inc.
 - (d) Credit for continuing professional education shall be granted as follows for each biennial period:
- 1. Publishing in a national professional journal, an article related to the practice of acupuncture: three continuing education hours per article, up to 13 hours;
- 2.-3. (No change.)
- 4. Teaching new courses or seminars related to the practice of acupuncture. "New" means that the acupuncturist has never taught or developed curriculum for that seminar or lecture in any educational setting: one continuing education hour per contact hour, up to 13 hours;
- 5.-6. (No change.)
- 7. Successfully completing a distance learning course approved by NCCAOM: one continuing education hour for each contact hour, up to 13 hours;
- 8.-9. (No change.)
- (e)-(g) (No change.)
- (h) An acupuncturist who completes more than the minimum continuing education hours set forth in (b) above, in any biennial license renewal period, may carry over the additional hours to the immediately succeeding biennial license renewal period.
- (i)-(k) (No change.)

NEW JERSEY REGISTER

Copyright © 2022 by the New Jersey Office of Administrative Law