50 N.J.R. 1966(a)

VOLUME 50, ISSUE 17, SEPTEMBER 4, 2018

RULE ADOPTIONS

Reporter

50 N.J.R. 1966(a)

NJ - New Jersey Register > 2018 > SEPTEMBER > SEPTEMBER 4, 2018 > RULE ADOPTIONS > LAW AND PUBLIC SAFETY -- DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS

Agency

LAW AND PUBLIC SAFETY > DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS > BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF ELECTRICAL CONTRACTORS

Administrative Code Citation

Adopted Amendment: N.J.A.C. 13:31-1.6

Text

Fee Schedule

Proposed: August 7, 2017, at 49 N.J.R. 2458(a).

Adopted: December 13, 2017, by the Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors, Joseph P. Schooley, President.

Filed: August 6, 2018, as R.2018 d.169, without change.

Authority: N.J.S.A. 45:5A-6.

Effective Date: September 4, 2018.

Expiration Date: March 16, 2022.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency Reponses:

The official comment period ended October 6, 2017. The Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors (Board) received comments from the following:

1. Michael G. Slossar, Sr., Regional Compliance Manager, AT&T/Direct TV; and

- 2. Eric DeGesero, Executive Director, New Jersey Independent Electrical Contractors.
- 1. COMMENT: One commenter expressed support for the proposed fee increase and noted that it is unreasonable to expect the Board to continue to operate on a fee schedule created more than 13 years ago.

RESPONSE: The Board thanks the commenter for its support.

2. COMMENT: One commenter stated that it understands the Board's justification for the proposed fee increase and is not opposed. The commenter, however, suggested that the Board review fees on a more regular basis, such as five years, so that a quarter century does not pass between fee increases.

RESPONSE: The Division of Consumer Affairs (Division) conducts an annual fiscal analysis to determine whether the Board's fees are necessary and appropriate to satisfy the Board's current and anticipated expense levels and comport with the requirements of N.J.S.A. 45:1-3.2.

3. COMMENT: One commenter requested that the Board spend more time investigating the unlicensed practice of electrical contracting with a specific emphasis of prosecuting violators pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:21-33, as opposed to simply assessing a civil penalty and cease and desist letters. The commenter noted that this statute has been in effect since 1999 and it is the commenter's understanding that it is rarely, if ever, enforced. The commenter also noted that recently P.L. 2017, c.173 was enacted to make the unlicensed practice of HVACR and plumbing a crime of the fourth degree and it would be unfortunate if those violations were immediately prosecuted while violations that have been a crime of the fourth degree for nearly 20 years have not been regularly prosecuted.

RESPONSE: The Board notes that it routinely handles complaints about the unlicensed practice of electrical contracting. The Board, however, does not have the statutory authority to prosecute or impose criminal sanctions and/or penalties.

Federal Standards Statement

A Federal standards analysis is not required because the adopted amendments are governed by N.J.S.A. 45:5A-1 et seq., and are not subject to any Federal laws or standards.

Regulations

Full text of the adopted amendment follows:

SUBCHAPTER 1. GENERAL RULES AND REGULATIONS

13:31-1.6 Fee schedule

(a)	The following fees shall be charged by the Board (No change.) $\label{eq:charged}$	l:
2.	Initial license fee:	
	i If paid during the first year of a triennial	

	i.	If noid during the first year of a triannial					
	1.	If paid during the first year of a triennial renewal period	\$ 225.00				
			·				
	ii.	If paid during the second year of a triennial					
		renewal period	\$ 150.00				
	iii	If paid during the third year of a triennial					
	•	renewal period	\$ 75.00				
3.	Trie	nnial license renewal	\$ 225.00				
45	. (No	change.)					
6.	Duci	ness permit:					
0.	Dusti	ness permit.					
	i.	If paid during the first year of a triennial renewal					
		period	\$ 150.00				
	ii.	If paid during the second year of a triennial					
		renewal period	\$ 100.00				
	iii	If paid during the third year of a triennial					
		renewal period	\$ 50.00				
7.	Trie	nnial business permit renewal	\$ 150.00				
	- /						
812. (No change.)							
13.	Qual	ified journeyman electrician initial registration fee:					
	i.	If paid during the first year of a triennial	\$ 90.00				
	ii.	If paid during the second year of a triennial	\$ 60.00				
	iii	If paid during the third year of a triennial	\$ 30.00				
	•						
14.	Qual	ified journeyman electrician registration					

15. Telecommunications wiring exemption?
application fee and issuance of identification card

\$ 90.00

50 N.J.R. 1966(a)

	(non-refundable)	\$:	250.00
16.	Continuing education sponsor fee	\$:	200.00
17.	Temporary courtesy license fee	\$	75.00
18.	Qualified journeyman electrician temporary courtesy registration fee	\$	30.00
19.	Renewal of temporary courtesy license fee	\$	75.00
20.	Renewal of qualified journeyman electrician temporary courtesy registration fee	ċ.	30.00
	cemporary courcesy registration ree	Ą	30.00

NEW JERSEY REGISTER

Copyright $^{\tiny{\textcircled{\scriptsize 0}}}$ 2018 by the New Jersey Office of Administrative Law

End of Document