52 N.J.R. 476(a)

VOLUME 52, ISSUE 5, MARCH 2, 2020

RULE ADOPTIONS

Reporter 52 N.J.R. 476(a)

NJ - New Jersey Register > 2020 > MARCH > MARCH 2, 2020 > RULE ADOPTIONS > LAW AND PUBLIC SAFETY -- DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS

Agency

LAW AND PUBLIC SAFETY > DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS > STATE BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS > ELECTROLOGISTS ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Administrative Code Citation

N.J.A.C. 13:35-12.6 and 12.19

Adopted Amendments:

Text

Curriculum Standards, Continuing Education

Proposed: August 5, 2019, at 51 N.J.R. 1249(a).

Adopted: January 8, 2020, by the State Board of Medical Examiners, Scott E. Metzger, M.D., President.

Filed: February 3, 2020, as R.2020 d.027,

without change.

Authority: N.J.S.A. 45:9-37.81 and 37.83.

Effective Date: March 2, 2020.

Expiration Date: April 3, 2025.

Summary of Public Comment and Agency Response:

The official comment period ended on October 4, 2019. The State Board of Medical Examiners, Electrologists Advisory Committee received no comments.

Federal Standards Statement

A Federal standards analysis is not required because the adopted amendments are governed by N.J.S.A. 45:9-37.76 et seq., and are not subject to any Federal standards or laws.

Full text of the adoption follows:

SUBCHAPTER 12. ELECTROLOGISTS ADVISORY COMMITTEE; LICENSURE OF ELECTROLOGISTS AND ELECTROLOGY INSTRUCTORS; ELECTROLOGY STANDARDS OF PRACTICE

13:35-12.6 Licensing requirements for electrologist

(a) To be eligible for licensure as an electrologist, an applicant shall fulfill the following requirements:

1.-3. (No change.)

4. Have successfully completed an electrology education program that meets the requirements in (b) below or which is determined by the Board to be substantially equivalent to such a program.

5.-6. (No change.)

(b) The electrology education program shall be taught by an electrology instructor licensed pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:35-12.7 and shall include at least 200 hours of instruction in the theory of electrology and at least 400 hours of instruction in the clinical practice of electrology as follows:

1. The 200 hours of instruction in the theory of electrology shall include at least a minimum of:

i. Ten hours in histology and hair structure;

ii. Twenty five hours in the fundamentals of bacteriology and sterilization;

iii. Twenty hours in the principles and modalities of electricity;

iv. Thirty hours in the structure and diseases of skin and hair, and abnormalities;

v. Twenty five hours on equipment necessary for proper operation of an electrolysis office;

52 N.J.R. 476(a)

vi. Five hours on professional conduct and ethics; vii. Five hours in New Jersey law and regulations;

viii. Twenty hours in human anatomy and physiology;

ix. Ten hours in draping, positioning, and ergonomics; and

x. Fifty hours in the topics set forth in (b)1i through ix above or in other topics related to the practice of electrology.

2. The 400 hours of instruction in the clinical practice of electrology shall include instruction in the following content areas:

i. Epilation techniques;

ii. Thermolysis;

iii. Blend/dual modality;

iv. Demonstrations of proper electrolysis treatment procedures for legs, arms, and face; and

v. Electricity.

3. As part of the approved course of study, all hours of theory must be completed prior to practical work being performed on the general public. 4. The 400 hours of instruction in the clinical practice of electrology require in-person instruction. Webinars and distance learning courses shall not satisfy this requirement.

13:35-12.19 Continuing education, programs, standards

(a)-(b) (No change.)

(c) Each applicant for a biennial license renewal shall complete during the preceding biennial period 20 credits of continuing education, consistent with the following requirements:

1. Three credits shall be in courses pertaining to universal precautions.

2. Seventeen credits shall be in courses and/or other activities directly related to the practice of electrology.

(d) (Reserved)

(e)-(h) (No change.)

(i) Credit for continuing education shall be granted for each biennial licensure period as follows:

1.-5. (No change.)

6. Correspondence, self-study, televised, videotaped, teleconference, and internet courses related to the practice of electrology.

(j)-(m) (No change.)

NEW JERSEY REGISTER Copyright $^{\odot}$ 2020 by the New Jersey Office of Administrative Law

End of Document