## 51 N.J.R. 217(a)

## VOLUME 51, ISSUE 4, FEBRUARY 19, 2019

#### RULE ADOPTIONS

## Reporter

51 N.J.R. 217(a)

NJ - New Jersey Register > 2019 > FEBRUARY > FEBRUARY 19, 2019 > RULE ADOPTIONS > LAW AND PUBLIC SAFETY -- DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS

# Agency

LAW AND PUBLIC SAFETY > DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS > **BOARD OF MASSAGE**AND BODYWORK THERAPY

## Administrative Code Citation

Adopted Amendment: N.J.A.C. 13:37A-2.1

### Text

### Application for Licensure

Proposed: September 17, 2018, at 50 N.J.R. 1987(a).

Adopted: December 5, 2018, by the Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy, Bruce A. Spicer, Chair.

Filed: January 22, 2019, as R.2019 d.020, without change.

Authority: N.J.S.A. 45:11-67 and P.L. 2017, c. 56.

Effective Date: February 19, 2019.

Expiration Date: September 4, 2019.

Summary of Public Comment and Agency Response:

The official comment period ended November 16, 2018. The Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy (Board) received two comments from the following individuals:

- 1. Nicole Lerario, LMT, A Kneaded Vacation Massage & Wellness
- 2. Rose M. Crenshaw-Crowley, LMT

- 1. COMMENT: A commenter supports the amendments to N.J.A.C. 13:37A-2.1.
- RESPONSE: The Board thanks the commenter for her support.
- 2. COMMENT: A commenter opposes imposing the new requirement on applicants who enrolled in massage and bodywork education programs prior to the adoption of the amendments.

RESPONSE: P.L. 2017, c. 56, which imposes the new requirements on applicants, became effective on May 1, 2017. It would not be appropriate to extend this effective date for applicants as the commenter recommends.

#### Federal Standards Statement

A Federal standards analysis is not required because there are no Federal standards or requirements applicable to the subject matter of the adopted amendments.

# Regulations

Full text of the adoption follows:

### SUBCHAPTER 2. LICENSURE

- 13:37A-2.1 Application for licensure
  - (a) An applicant for licensure shall qualify for licensure by:
    - 1. Successfully completing a course of study of at least 500 hours in massage and bodywork therapies; and
    - 2. (No change.)
  - (b) An individual who applies for a license shall submit to the Board:
    - 1. (No change.)
    - 2. An official transcript, which indicates that the applicant has completed an associate degree in massage and bodywork or a course of study outlined in (c) below from a school accredited or approved by:

[page=218] i.-iv. (No change.)

- 3. Proof that the applicant has successfully passed the written examination offered by the FSMTB, NCBTMB, or NCCAOM; Recodify existing 3.-5. as 4.-6. (No change in text.)
- (c) (No change in text.)
- (d) For purposes of (c) above, one credit in a course taken in a college or university shall constitute 15 hours of course study.

- (e) Hours completed during one area of a course of study in massage and bodywork therapy shall not be counted towards completion of another area of that course. For example, one hour spent performing massage, bodywork, and somatic therapy that is completed as part of theory and practice pursuant to (c)3 above shall not be counted towards the 100 hours of clinical practice required by (c)5 above.
- (f) The Board shall issue a license to an applicant who qualifies pursuant to (a) above if the applicant is not disqualified for licensure pursuant to the provisions of N.J.S.A. 45:1-14 et seq.

NEW JERSEY REGISTER Copyright  $^{\odot}$  2019 by the New Jersey Office of Administrative Law

**End of Document**