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Re: Engaging in unlicensed practice with an expired license
Modified Offer of Settlement In Lieu of Filing a Formal Disciplinary Complaint

Dear Ms. Hansford:

This is to advise you that the New Jersey State Board of Physicai Therapy at its February
27,2001 meeting reviewed your letter dated January 22, 2001, wherein you requested a reduction
in the $2500 penalty imposed for practicing without a renewed license. After considering your
arguments, the Board has determined to reduce the penalty from $2500 to $1000 and waive the
balance of $1500. You are also advised that the you may pay the penalty in instalilment payments
of $100 over a 10 month period. The first payment should be sent to the Board, within 15 days of
your receipt of this letter, to the attention of Susan Gartland, Executive Director, at the address
listed herein. Below is the modified offer of settlement for your consideration.

The New Jersey State Board of Physical Therapy (the “Board”) has had an opportunity to
review information concerning your continuing to practice as a physical therapist assistant without
having an active license. Specifically, the information reviewed included:

1. State of New Jersey Biennial Renewal application mailed to licensees in November
1999.

2. A letter from the Board dated August 1, 2000 confirming that you failed to renew
your license by January 31, 2000.

3. A notarized letter dated August 2, 2000 from Harold Hall, Executive Director of the
Passaic County Elks Cerebral Palsy Treatment Center ("Center") advising thatyou
were employed as a physical therapy assistant from February 1, 2000 thru July 31,
2000 with the Center.

New Jersey Is An Equal Opportunity Employer * Printed on Recycled Paper and Recyclable



4. A letter from you dated August 2, 2000 providing an explanation as to why you did
not submit a renewal application until seven months after the expiration date on
your license.

Upon review of all available information, the Board has preliminarily found that probable
cause exists to support a finding that you violated N.J.S.A. 45:1-7.1(c) and 45:1-21(h) in that you
failed to renew your physical therapy assistant license by January 31, 2000 and continued to
practice without an expired license. Practicing with an expired license is deemed to be engaging
in unlicensed practice of a physical therapy assistant pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-7(c). You have
advised the Board that as a 1995 graduate you were unfamiliar with the renewal procedures.
Please be advised that as a licensee you are required to familiarize and adhere to the statutes
and regulations of the Board. Enclosed find a copy of the current statutes and regulations that
apply to the practice of physical therapy and physical therapy assistants.

Additionally you explained that the language in the renewal application which required
you to advise the Board of a change in your official address confused you because it states " Do
not return with renewal if your data is unchanged" and resulted in your failing to return the biennial
renewal application to the Board. Please be advised that this wording requires the licensee to
complete the change of address form which is located on the back of the biennial renewal
application and return it in addition to the return of the license renewal application.

Atthis juncture, the Board has preliminarily concluded that the above violations are
sufficient to warrant the initiation of formal disciplinary proceedings against you. Notwithstanding
that decision, however, the Board has determined that it will first offer you an opportunity to settle
this matter, and thereby avoid the initiation of formal disciplinary proceedings, should you consent
to:

1. cease and desist from continuing to practice as a physical therapy assistant without
timely renewal of future biennial licenses. The Board records indicate that you paid
the reinstatement fee and your license was renewed on August 3, 2000.

3. the issuance of a formal reprimand;

4, pay a penalty in the amount of $2500. This amount is reduced to $1000 and the
remainder of the balance is waived. (to be paid immediately or in installment
payments as set forth herein upon your signing of the acknowledgment at the
bottom of this letter);

If you are willing to settle this matter on the offered settiement terms, you may do
. 80 by signing the acknowledgment at the bottom of this letter, and returning it to the Board office.
Upon your signature, this letter will be a matter of public record.

In the event you are unwilling to settle this matter on the offered terms, it will be
referred to the Attorney General’s office for the initiation of appropriate enforcement action. In such
event, you will be afforded an opportunity to defend against the alleged violations. If an evidentiary
hearing is deemed warranted, the Board will either conduct that hearing at a date and time to be
scheduled or refer the matter to the Office of Administrative Law. You are advised, however, that
in the event formal charges are filed, the Board may assess civil penalties in an amount greater
than those herein offered in settlement should any charges against you be sustained.



Additionally, the Board may, if the facts are found to so warrant, enter an order requiring you to
pay the additional costs incurred by the Board. Should you have any questions concerning this
letter or the settlement offer herein, | suggest that you contact Deputy Attorney General Carmen
A. Rodriguez, who may be reached at (973) 693-5056.

If you elect to settle this matter now you should sign the acknowledgment at the
bottom of this letter and return it to the Board within fifteen (15) days following your receipt of this
letter. In the event that the Board receives no response from you within fifteen (15) days, the
Board'’s settlement offer will be withdrawn, and the matter will be referred to the Attorney General's
Office for the initiation of appropriate enforcement proceedings.
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Susan H. Gartland
Executive Director

ACKNOWLEDGMENT: |, Lauren R. Hansford, hereby acknowledge that | have read and
reviewed the settlement proposal set forth in the above letter. | acknowledge the conduct which
has been charged. | am aware that, by signing this acknowledgment, | am waiving any rights | may
have to defend myself against any charges of wrongdoing at an administrative hearing. | am also
aware that the action taken against me by the Board herein is a matter of public record, and that
this letter is a public document. | hereby agree to pay a penalty in the amount of $1000 (to be paid
upon signing of this acknowledgment), and to comply with all other requirements set forth in the

settlement letter. @f{, s / Zéw,%%f

Lauren R.-Hansford, PA.A.

Dated:

cc: Carmen A. Rodriguez, Deputy Attorney General



