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This matter was opened to the State Board of Dentistry upon receipt of information
that on April 6, 2005, Alan Rutkowski, D.M.D. (“respondent”), entered into a stipulation of
settlement with the Office of Insurance Fraud Prosecutor (“OIFP”) in Superior Court of

New Jersey, Essex County, Law Division based on his violation of N.J.S.A. 17:33A-1 et

seqg. Respondent agreed to pay a civil penalty of $100,000 and $10,000 in attorneys’ fees.
The settlement was based on respondent’s conduct, specifically that he “knowingly

submitted statements [to insurance companies] which could have been misconstrued by



those carriers ... inducing the carrier to pay a greater fee than they otherwise may have
paid.”

Respondent did not renew his license to practice dentistry for the biennial period
2001-2003 and has not reinstated his license since that time. Respondent’s license to
practice dentistry in this State is suspended by operation of law, N.J.S.A. 45:1-7.1(b).

Entry of that stipulation of settlement with OIFP provides a basis for discipline

pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(k). Based on the above, respondent has agreed to the

voluntary surrender of his license, with prejudice, and to cease practicing dentistry in this
State, and to give his last biennial registration, CDS registration, and any prescription pads
bearing his name to investigators from the Enforcement Bureau, Division of Consumer
Affairs. Respondent, unless licensed to practice in another jurisdiction, shall surrender his
DEA registration to the Drug Enforcement Administration. The Board finds the terms of this
consent order to be adequately protective of the public health, safety and welfare.

IT IS, therefore, on this Z(Q_@an of M/A‘Z , 2007

CONSENTED AND ORDERED THAT:

1. Alan Rutkowski, D.M.D., shall surrender his license to practice dentistry in this
State, with prejudice, and cease to practice dentistry in the State of New Jersey upon entry
of this order. Respondent agrees that he will not apply for licensure in the State of New
Jersey at any time in the future and waives any right he may have to do so. Respondent

shall relinquish his biennial registration, CDS registration, and prescription pads to the



Enforcement Bureau of the Division of Consumer Affairs. Respondent shall surrender his
DEA registration to the federal Drug Enforcement Administration.
2. Respondent shall comply with the attached directives for dentists whose licenses

have been surrendered or revoked, which are incorporated here by reference.
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DIRECTIVES APPLICABLE TO ANY DENTISTRY BOARD LICENSEE
WHO IS SUSPENDED, REVOKED OR WHOSE SURRENDER OF LICENSURE
HAS BEEN ACCEPTED

A practitioner whose license is suspended or revoked or whose surrender of license has
been accepted by the Board, shall conduct him/herself as follows:

1. Document Return and Agency Notification

The licensee shall promptly deliver to the Board office at 124 Halsey Street, 6th floor,
Newark, New Jersey 07102, the original license and current biennial registration certificate,
and if authorized to prescribe drugs, the current State and E ederal Controlled Dangerous
Substances Registration. With respect to suspensions of a finite term, at the conclusion

of the term, the licensee may contact the Board office for the return of the documents
previously surrendered to the Board. )

3

2. Practice Cessation

The licensee shall cease and desist from engaging in the practice of dentistry in this State.
This prohibition not only bars a licensee from rendering professional services, but also from
providing an opinion as to professional practice or its application, or representing
him/herself as being eligible to practice. Although the licensee need not affirmatively
advise patients or others of the revocation, suspension or surrender, the licensee must
truthfully disclose his/her licensure status in response to inquiry. The disciplined licensee
is also prohibited from occupying, sharing or using office space in which another licensee
of this Board provides health care services. Unless otherwise ordered by the Board, the
disciplined licensee may contract for, accept payment from another licensee for or rent at
fair market value office premises and/for equipment. In no case may the disciplined
licensee authorize, allow or condone the use of his/her provider number by the practice or
any other licensee or health care provider. In situations where the licensee has been
suspended for less than one year, the licensee ‘may accept payment from another
professional who is using his/her office during the period that the licensee is suspended,
for the payment of salaries for office staff employed at the time of the Board action.

A licensee whose license has been revoked, suspended for one (1) year or more or
permanently surrendered must remove signs and take affirmative action to stop
advertisements by which his/her eligibility to practice is represented. The licensee must

also take steps to remove his/her name from all prescription blanks and pads, professional
listings, telephone directories, professional stationery, or billings. If the licensee's name
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is utilized in a group practice title, it shall be deleted.

Prescription pads bearing the licensee’s name shall be destroyed. A destruction report
form shall be obtained from the Office of Drug Control (973-504-6558) and filed with that
office. If no other licensee is providing services at the practice location, all medications
must be removed and returned to the manufacturer (if possible), or destroyed or
safeguarded. In situations where the licensee has been suspended for a period of less

than one year, prescription pads and medications must be secured in a locked place for
safekeeping.

3. Practice Income Prohibitions/Divestiture of Equity Interest
in Professional Service Corporations

Alicensee shall not charge, receive or share in any fee for professional services rendered
by him/herself or others while barred from engaging in the professional practice. The
licensee may be compensated for the reasonable value of services lawfully rendered and
- disbursements incurred on a patient's behalf prior to the effective date of the Board action.

Alicensee whose license is revoked, surrendered or suspended for a term of one (1) year
or more shall be deemed to be disqualified from the practice, and shall be required to
comply with the requirements to divest him/herself of all financial interest in the
professional practice pursuant to Board regulations contained in N.J.A.C. 13:30-8.21.
Such divestiture shall occur within 90 days following the entry of the Board Order. Upon -
divestiture, alicensee shall forward to the Board a copy of documentation forwarded to the
New Jersey Department of Treasury, Commercial Reporting Division, demonstrating that
the interest has been terminated. If the licensee is the sole shareholder in a professional

service corporation, the corporation must be dissolved within 90 days of the licensee's
disqualification. '

4.  Patient Records

If, as aresult of the Board's action, a practice is closed or transferred to another location,
the licensee shall ensure that during the three (3) month period following the effective date
of the disciplinary order, a message will be delivered to patients calling the former office
premises, advising where records may be obtained. The message should inform patients
of the names and telephone numbers of the licensee (or his/her attorney) assuming
custody of the records. The same information shall also be disseminated by means of a
notice to be published at least once per month for three-(3) months in a newspaper of
general circulation in the geographic vicinity in which the practice was conducted. At the

~end of the three month period, the licensee shall file with the Board the name and
telephone number of the contact person who will have access to patient records of former -
patients. Any change in that individual or his/her telephone number shall be promptly
reported to the Board. When a patient or his/her representative requests a copy of hisfher
patientl record or asks that the record be forwarded to another health care provider, the
licensee shall promptly provide the record without charge to the patient.
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5. Probation/Monitoring Conditions

A disciplined practitioner whose active suspension of license has been stayed in full or in
part, conditioned upon compliance with a probation or monitoring program, shall fully
cooperate with the Board or its designated representatives, including the Enforcement
Bureau of the Division of Consumer Affairs, in ongoing monitoring of the licensee’s status
and practice. Such monitoring shall be at the expense of the disciplined practitioner.

(a.) Monitoring of practice conditions may include, but is not limited to, inspection
of professional premises and equipment, and inspection and copying of patient
records (confidentiality of patient identity shall be protected by the Board) to verify
compliance with Board Order and accepted standards of practice.

(b.) Monitoring of status conditions for an impaired practitioner may include, but is
not limited to, practitioner cooperation in providing releases permitting unrestricted
access to records and other information to the extent permitted by law from any
treatment facility, other treating practitioner, support group or other individual or
facility involved in the education, treatment, monitoring or oversight of the
practitioner, or maintained by the rehabilitation program for impaired practitioners.
If bodily substance monitoring has been ordered, the practitioner shall fully
cooperate by responding to a demand for breath, blood, urine or other sampleina
timely manner and by providing the designated sample.

6. Reports of Reimbursement

A disciplined practitioner shall promptly report to the Board his/her compliance with each

directive requiring monies to be reimbursed to patients to other parties or third party payors
or to any Court. : '

7. Report of Changes of Address

A disciplined practi{ioner shall notify the Board office in writing within ten (10) days of
change of address. '
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NOTICE OF REPORTING PRACTICES OF BOARD
REGARDING DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS

PursuanttoN.J.S.A. 52:14B-3(3), all orders of the New Jersey State Board of Dentistry are
available for public inspection. Should any inquiry be made concerning the status of a
licensee, the inquirer will be informed of the existence of the order and a copy will be
provided if requested. All evidentiary hearings, proceedings on motions or other
applications which are conducted as public hearings and the record thereof, including the

transcript and documents marked in evidence, are available for public inspection upon
request.

Pursuant to Public Law 101-1 91, the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act,

the Board is obligated to report to the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank any
adverse action relating to a dentist:

(1) Which revokes or suspends (or otherwise restricts) a license; or

(2)  Which censures, reprirﬁands or places on probation, or restricts the right to
apply or renew a license: or

(3)  Under which a license is surrendered.

In accordance with an agreement with the American Association of Dental Examiners, a
report of all disciplinary orders is provided to that organization on a monthly basis.

Within the month following entry of an order, a summary of the order may appear on the
public agenda for the monthly Board meeting and is forwarded to those members of the
public requesting a copy. In addition, the same summary will appear in the minutes of that
Board meeting, which are also made available to those requesting a copy. ‘

On a periodic basis the Board disseminates to its licensees a newsletter which includes a
brief description of all of the orders entered by the Board. In addition, the same description
may appear on the Internet Website of the Division.of Consumer Affairs.

From time to time, the Press Office of the Division of Consumer Affairs may issue releases
including the summaries of the content of public orders.

' N'othing herein is intended in any way to limit the Board, the Division or the Attorney
General from disclosing any public document.
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