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STATE OF NEW JERSEY

DEPARTMENT OF LAW AND PUBLIC SAFETY
DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS

STATE BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS

IN THE MATTER OF THE SUSPENSION :
OR REVOCATION OF THE LICENSE OF § Administrative Action

ADEKUNLE ADEOTI, M.D. CONSENT ORDER
LICENSE NO. 25MA06124400 {

TO PRACTICE MEDICINE AND SURGERY
IN THE STATE OF NEW JERSEY

This matter was opened to the New Jersey State Board of
Medical Examiners (“the Boérd”) upon notification from the
Department of Law & Public Safety, Office of the Insurance Fraud
Prosecutor (“OIFP”), that Adekunle Adeoti, M.D. (“Respondent”), a
licensee of the Board, and Newark Imaging Center, a corporation
formed and operated by Respondent, entered into a Consent Order
with the OIFP, dateq August 22, 2007, relating to the allegation
that Respondent and Newark Imaging Center Ccperated an ambulatory
care facility without the required license from the State

Department of Health & Senior Services, from June 9, 2000, to March




12, 2002. These allegations, if proven, would violate onewor more
of the Board’'s statutes and regulatioﬁs, including, but not limiteg
to, N.J.S.Aa. 45:1-21(b) and N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(e) .

The partiesg, desiring to resolve this matter without the need
for formal disciplinary proceedings and their attendant costs, and
the Board finding the within to be‘adequately protective of the
public health, safety and welfére, and for good cause shown, it ig,
therefore, on this 4%1_“‘ day of June, 2008,

ORDERED THAT:

1. Respondent Adekunle Adeoti, M.D. be and is hereby
reprimanded for the conduct aileged herein;

2. Respondent shall pay a civil penalty pursuant to N.J.S.A.
45:1-25(d) in the amount of $2,500. However, such penalty shall be
stayed and payment shall not be required, provided that Respondent

fully complies with 211 terme—and—conditicns of the within Consent

Order. 1In the event Respondent is found to have failed to comply
with this Consent Order, upon being forwardeqd an opportunity to
be heard, the aforementioned pénalty shall be made active and shall
become payable within twenty (20) déys of such a finding by the
Board.

3. Respondent shall pay the Board’s costs in this matter,
Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-25(d), in the amount of $2,182.50, within

twenty (20) days from the date of éntry of this Consent Order.



Such payment shall be made via certified check or money order made
payable to the Treasurer, Stéte Oof New Jersey and forwarded to
William V. Roeder, Executive Director, New Jersey State Board of
Medical Examiners, 140 East Front Street, P.0O. Box 183, Trenton,
New Jersey 08625-0183. The Board Teserves the right to file a
Certificate of Debt in the event bayment is not submitted within 20
days of the filing of this Consent Order.

4. Respondent shall comply with the Board’s statutes and
regulations governing the praétice of medicine in New Jersey.

5. Respondent sghall adhere vto the Board’s "Directives
Applicable to Any Medical Board Licensee Who is Suspended, Revoked
Or Whose Surrender of Licensure Has Been Accepted, " as applicable,

which are attached hereto and made 3 part hereof.

NEW JERSEY STATE BOARD OF
" MEDICAL EXAMINERS
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Mario A. Qri cito, M.D., President

I have read and understood the within
Consent Order and hereby agree to

comply with itsg terms. I understand

that this Consent Order has legal
consequences but I have decided, nonethelegs
to enter into this Consentwggger witho
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EXHIBIT A

DIRECTIVES APPLICABLE TO ANY MEDICAL BOARD LICENSEE
WHO IS DISCIPLINED OR WHOSE SURRENDER OF LICENSURE
HAS BEEN ACCEPTED

APPROVED BY THE BOARD ON MAY 10, 2000

Addendum to these Directives. The information provided will be
maintained separately and will not be part of the public document
filed with the Board. Failure to provide the information required
may result in further disciplinary action for failing to cooperate

revoked or peérmanently surrendered, with Oor without prejudice.
Paragraph 5 applies to licensees who are the subject of an order
which, while permitting continued practice, contains a probation or
monitoring requirement.

1. Document Return and Agency Notification

The licensee shall promptly forward to the Board office at
Post Office Box 183, 140 East Front Street, 2nd floor, Trenton, New
Jersey 08625-0183, the original license, current Dbiennial
registration and, if applicable, the original CDs registration. In
addition, if the licensee holds a Drua Enforcement Agerrcy—(DEA)

registratitonr—he 6% she shall promptly advise the DEA of the
licensure action. (With respect to suspensions of a finite term,

the Board. In addition, at the bonclusion, of the term, the
licensee should contact the DEA to advise of the resumption of
bractice and to ascertain the impact of that change upon his/her
DEA registration.)

2. Practice Cessation

The licensee shall cease and desist from engaging in the
practice of medicine in this State. Thig prohibition not only bars
a licensee from rendering professional services, but also from
providing an opinion as to professional practice or itsg
application, or representing him/herself as being eligible to
practice. (Although the licensee need not affirmatively advise

patients or others of the revocation, suspension or surrender, the



licensee provides health care services. The disciplined licensee
may contract for, accept payment from another licensgee for or rent
at fair market value office premises and/or équipment. In no case
may the disciplined licensee authorize, allow or condone the use of
his/her provider number by any health Care practice or any other
licensee or health Care provider. (In situations where the
licensee has been suspended for less than one year, the licensee
may accept payment from another professional who is using his/her
office during the period that the licensee is Suspended, for the
payment of salaries for office staff employed at the time of the
Board action.)a licensee whose license has been revoked, suspended
for one (1) year or more or permanently surrendered must remove
signs and take affirmative action to stop advertisements by which
his/her eligibility to practice is represented. The licensee must
also take steps to remove his/her name from professional listings,

telephone directories, professional stationery, or billings. 1If
the licensee's name is utilized in a group practice title, it
shall be deleted. Prescription pads bearing the licensee's name

shall be destroyed. A destruction report form obtained from the
Office of Drug Control (973-504-6558) must be filed. If no other
licensee is providing services at the location, all medications
must be removed and returned to the manufacturer, if possible,
destroyed or safeguarded. (1n situations where a license has been
suspended for less than one Year, prescription pads and medications

3 Practice Income Prohlbltlons/Divestlture of Equity Interest in
Professional 1d  Limited Liability
Companies

A licensee shall not charge, receive or share in any fee for
professional services rendered by him/herself Or others while
barred from engaging in the professional practice. The licensee
may be compensated for the reasonable value of services lawfully
rendered and disbursements incurred on a patient's behalf prior to

within the meaning of the Professional Service Corporation Act.,
(N.J.S.A. 14A:17-11) . A disqualified licensee shall divest
him/herself of all financial interest in the professional Service
corporation pursuant to N.J.S.A. 14A:17-13(c). A licensee who ig a
member of a limited liability company organized pursuant to
N.J.S.A. 42:1-44, shall divest him/herself of all financial



participate in the applicable form of ownership. Upon divestiture,
a licensee shall forward to the Board a copy of documentation
forwarded to the Secretary of State, Commercial Reporting Division,
demonstrating that the interest has been terminated. If the
licensee is the sole shareholder in & professional service
corporation, the Corporation must be dissolved within 90 days of
the licensee's disqualification.

4. Medical Records

If, as a result of the Board's action, a practice is closed or
transferred to another location, the licensee shall ensure that
during the three (3) month period following the effective date of
the disciplinary ocrder, a message will be delivered to patients
calling the former office premises, advising where records may be

obtained. The message should inform patients of the names and
telephone numbers of the licensee (or his/her attorney) assuming
custody of the records. The same information shall also be

disseminated by means of a notice to be published at least once per
month for three (3) months in a newspaper of general circulation in

have access to medical records of former patients. Any change in
that individual or his/her telephone number shall be promptly
reported to the Board. When a patient or his/her representative
reéquests a copy of his/her medical record or asks that record be
forwarded to another health care provider, the licensee shall

pPromptly provide the record with wt—charge—to the patient.

5. Probation/Monitoring Conditions

With respect to any licensee who is the subject of any Order
imposing a probation or monitoring reguirement or a stay of an
active suspension, in whole or in part, which is conditioned upon
compliance with a probation or monitoring requirement, the licensee
shall fully cooperate  with the * Board and its designated
Tepresentatives, including the Enforcement Bureau of the Division
of Consumer.Affairs, in ongoing‘monitoring of the licensee's status
and practice. Such monitoring shall be at the expense of the
disciplined practitioner.

(a) Monitoring of practice conditions may include, but is not
patient identity shall be protected by the Board) to verify
compliance with the Board Order and accepted standards of practice,

(b) Monitoring of status conditions for an impaired
practitioner may include, but is not limited to, practitioner
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c
records and other information: to the extent permitted by law from
-any treatment facility, other treating bractitioner, support group
or other individual/facility involved in the education, treatment,
monitoring or oversight of the pbractitioner, or maintained by a
rehabilitation program for impaired practitioners. If bodily
substance monitoring has been ordered, the practitioner shall fully
Cooperate by responding to a demand for breath, blood, urine or
other sample in 2 timely manner and providing the designated
sample.




NOTICE OF REPORTING PRACTICES OF BOARD
REGARDING DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS

Pursuant to N.J.S.Aa. 52:14B-3(3), all orders of the New Jersey
State Board of Medical Examiners are available for public
inspection. Should any inquiry be made concerning the status of a
licensee, the inquirer will be informed of the existence of the
order and a copy will be provided if requested. al] evidentiary
hearings, proceedings on motionsg Or other applications which are
conducted ag ‘public hearings and the record, including the
transcript and documents marked in evidence, are available for
public inspection, upon request. ‘

Pursuant to 45 CFR Subtitle A 60.8, the Board is obligated to
Teport to the National Practitioners Data Bank any action relating
to a physician which is based on reasons relating to professional
competence or professional conduct :

(1) Which revokes or suspends (or otherwise restricts) a
license, ' .
(2)  Which Ceénsures, reprimands or places on probation,
(3) Under which a1 license is surrendered.

Pursuant to 45 CrRr Section 61.7, the Board isg obligated to
Teport to the Healthcare Integrity and Protection (HIP) Data Bank,
any formal or official actions, such as revocation or Suspension of
a license(and the length of: any such suspension), reprimand
Cénsure or probation or any-eother—foss—of 11cense or the right to

apply for, or renew, a license of the provider, supplier, or
practitioner, whether by operation of law, voluntary surrender,
non-renewability, or otherwise, or any other negative action or
finding by such Federal or State agency that is publicly available
information.

Pursuant to N.J.S.A.45:9—19.13, if the Board refuses to issue,
suspends, revokes or otherwise places conditions on a license or
permit, it ig obligated to notify each licensed health care

In accordance with an agreement with the Federation of State
Medical Boards of the United States, a list of all disciplinary
orders are provided to that organization on a monthly basis.



of that Board meeting, which are also made available to thoge
Tequesting a copy.

From time to time, the Press Office of the Division of
Consumer Affairs may issue releases including the Summaries of the
content of public orders.

NOTICE OF REPORTING PRACTICES OF BOARD
REGARDING DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS

Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:14B-3(3), all orders of the New Jersey
State Board of Medical Examiners are available for public
inspection. Should any inquiry be made concerning the statug of a5
licensee, the inquirer will e imformed of the existence of the

order and a copy will be provided if requested. Aall evidentiary
hearings, proceedings on motions or other applications which are
conducted as public hearings and th record, including the
Cranscript and documents marked in evidence, are available for

public inspection, upon request.

Pursuant to 45 CER Subtitle A 60.8, the Board is obligated to
report to the National Practitioners Data Bank any action relating
to a physician which is based on reasons relating to professional
competence or professional conduct :

(1) Which revokes Or suspends (or otherwise restricts) a
license,

(2)  Which censures, reprimands or places on probation,

(3) Under which a license is sSurrendered.

Pursuant to 45 Cpgr Section 61.7, the Board is obligated to
Teport to the Healthcare Integrity and Protection (HIP) Data Bank,
any formal or official actions, such as revocation or suspension of
a license(and the length of any such Suspension), reprimand,
censure or probation or any other loss of license or the right to



apply for, or rénew, a license of the provider, supplier, or
practitioner, whether by operation of law, voluntary surrender,
non-renewability, or otherwise, or any other negative action or
finding by such Federal or State agency that is publicly available
information.

Pursuant to N.J.S.A.45:9—19.13, if the Board refuses to issue,
Suspends, revokes or otherwise places conditions on a license or
permit, it g obligated to notify each licensed health care

In accordance with an agreement with the Federation of Stare
Medical Boards of the United States, a list of all disciplinary
orders are provided to that organization on a monthly basis.

4 Copy. In addition, the same summary will appear in the minutes
of that Board meeting, which are also made available to thoge

Tequesting a copy.

On a periodic basis the Board-disseminates Lo 1ts licensees 3

newsletter which includes 3 brief description of al] of the orders
entered by the Board.

From time to time, the Press Offijice of the Division of
Consumer Affairs may issue releases including the summaries of the
content of public orders. ' '
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