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STATE OF NEW JERSEY
DEPARTMENT OF LAW & PUBLIC SAFETY
DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS
BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS

IN THE MATTER OF THE

LICENSE OF
Administrative Action

JOSEPH P, FODERO, M.D.
License No. MA0693800
CONSENT ORDER
TO PRACTICE MEDICINE AND

SURGERY IN THE STATE OF

NEW JERSEY

This matter was opened to the State Board of Medical Examiners
(“Board”) upon notice from the Food and Drug Administration that it
}had undertaken an investigation of Joseph P. Fodero, M.D., relating
to his use of an unapproved drug in treatment of his patients. 1t
became known that Dr. Fodero héd purchased and administered to
three of his patients a Botulinum Toxin which was unapproved for
human-use. There was no report that any of the patients suffered
any harm.
Dr. Fodero ’cooperated in the Board’s investigation by
acknowledging his use of the unapproved drug on his patients and

providing corroborative information. Dr. Fodero maintains that the




patients were advised of the experimental nature of the product,
agreed to its administration, and were not charged.

The Board views the doctor’s cooperation in the investigation
as mitigating information. Nonetheless, the Board finds that the
doctor has engaged in both professional misconduct and gross
negligence.

The Board finding the within disposition is adequately

protective of the public health, safety and welfare,

IT IS on this 13TH day of MAY 2009 :
ORDERED :
1. Joseph P. Fodero, M.D. is hereby reprimanded for the

conduct set forth herein.

2. Dr. Fodero shall enroll in and successfully complete a
Board-approved medical ethics course, at his own expense, within
twelve (12) months of the entry of this Order. Said course must be
approved by the Medical Education Director of the Board prior to
enroliment and proof of completion of and an unconditional passing
grade in said course shall be sent to the New Jersey State Board of

Medical Examiners, P.0O. Box 183, Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0183 no

later than thirty (30) days from receipt of said proof.
3. Dr. Fodero shall pay a penalty in the amount of $5,000.00

upon execution of the within Order.



4. Dr. Fodero shall pPay investigative Costs in the amount of

$444.32 upon execution of the within Order.

5. Dr. Fodero shall enroll in and Successfully Complete

13:35-6.15).

6. Respondent shall comply with the attached “Directives
Applicable to Any Medical Board Licensee Who Is Disciplined or
Whose Surrender of Licensure Has Been Accepted, ” which Directives

are incorporated herein by reference.

STATE BOARD OF MEDI CAL EXAMINERS

I have read and understand
the contents of the within
Consent Order and agree to
be bound by itg terms.

Ve (7 Dolls

J¢seph 'P. Fodero,
Date: g /¢ )43

Consented to as to form.

! RICHAB DYl Bsa.
Date:,gv(/oﬁ



DIRECTIVES APPLICABLE TO ANY MEDICAL BOARD LICENSEE
WHO IS DISCIPLINED OR WHOSE SURRENDER OF LICENSURE
HAS BEEN ACCEPTED

APPROVED BY THE BOARD ON MAY 10, 2000

All licensees who are the subject of a disciplinary order of the
Board are required to provide the information required on the

addendum to these directives. The information provided will be
maintained separately and will not be part of the public document
filed with the Board. Failure to provide the information

required may result in further disciplinary action for failing to
cooperate with the Board, as required by N.J.A.C. 13:45C-1 et
seg: Paragraphs 1 through 4 below shall apply when a license is
suspended or revoked or permanently surrendered, with or without
prejudice. Paragraph 5 applies to licensees who are the subject
of an order which, while permitting continued practice, containsg
a probation or monitoring requirement.

1. Document Return and Agency Notification

The licensee shall promptly forward to the Board office at Ppost
Office Box 183, 140 East Front Street, 2nd floor, Trenton, New
Jersey 08625-0183, the original license, current biennial
registration and, if applicable, the original CDS registration.
In addition, if the 1licensee holds a Drug Enforcement Agency
(DEA) registration, he or she shall promptly advise the DEA of
the licensure action. (With respect to suspensions of a finite
term, at the conclusion of the term, the licensee may contact the
Board office for the return of the documents previously
surrendered to the Board. In addition, at the conclusion of the
Cerm, the licensee should contact the DEA to advise of the
resumption of practice and to ascertain the impact of that change
upon his/her DEA registration.)

2. Practice Cessation

The licensee shall cease and desist from engaging in the practice
of medicine in this State. This prohibition not only bars a
licensee from rendering professional services, but also from
providing an opinion as to professional practice or its
application, or representing him/herself as being eligible to
practice. (Although the licensee need not affirmatively advise
patients or others of the revocation, suspension or surrender,
the licensee must truthfully disclose his/her licensure status in
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response to inquiry.) The disciplined 1licensee is also
prohibited from occupying, sharing or using office space in which
another licensee provides health care services. The disciplined
licensee may contract for, accept payment from another licensee
for or rent at fair market value office premises and/or
equipment. In no case may the disciplined licensee authorize,
allow or condone the use of his/her provider number by any health
care practice or any other licensee or health care provider. (In
situations where the licensee has been suspended for less than
one year, the licensee may accept payment from another
professional who is using his/her office during the period that
the licensee is suspended, for the payment of salaries for office
staff employed at the time of the Board action.)

A licensee whose license has been revoked, suspended for one (1)
year or more or permanently surrendered must remove signs and
take affirmative action to stop advertisements by which his/her
eligibility to practice is represented. The licensee must also
take steps to remove his/her name from professional listings,
telephone directories, professional stationery, or billings. 1If
the licensee's name is utilized in a group practice title, it
shall be deleted. Prescription pads bearing the licensee's name
shall be destroyed. a destruction report form obtained from the
Office of Drug Control (973-504-6558) must be filed. 1If no other
licensee is providing services at the location, all medications
must be removed and returned to the manufacturer, if possible,
destroyed or safeguarded. (In situations where a license has
been suspended for less than one year, prescription pads and
medications need not be destroyed but must be secured in a locked
place for safekeeping.)

3. Practice Income Prohibitions/Divestiture of Equity Interest
in Professional Service Corporations and Limited Liability
Companies

A licensee shall not charge, receive or share in any fee for
professional services rendered by him/herself or others while
barred from engaging in the professional practice. The licensee
may be compensated for the reasonable value of services lawfully
rendered and disbursements incurred on a patient's behalf prior
to the effective date of the Board action.

A licensee who is a shareholder in a professional service
corporation organized to engage in the professional practice,
whose license is revoked, surrendered or suspended for a term of
one (1) year or more shall be deemed to be disqualified from the
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practice within the meaning of the Professional Service
Corporation Act. (N.J.S.A. 14A:17-11). A disqualified licensee
shall divest him/herself of all financial interest in the
professional service corporation pursuant to N.J.S.A. 14A:17-
13(c). A licensee who is a member of a limited liability company
organized pursuant to N.J.S.A. 42:1-44, shall divest him/herself
of all financial interest. Such divestiture shall occur within
90 days following the the entry of the Order rendering the
licensee disqualified to participate in the applicable form of
ownership. Upon divestiture, a licensee shall forward to the
Board a copy of documentation forwarded to the Secretary of
State, Commercial Reporting Division, demonstrating that the
interest has been terminated. If the licensee is the sole
shareholder in a professional service corporation, the
corporation must be dissolved within 90 days of the licensee's
disqualification.

4, Medical Records

If, as a result of the Board's action, a practice is closed or
transferred to another location, the licensee shall ensure that
during the three (3) month period following the effective date of
the disciplinary order, a message will be delivered to patients
calling the former office premises, advising where records may be

obtained. The message should inform patients of the names and
telephone numbers of the licensee (or his/her attorney) assuming
custody of the records. The same information shall also be

disseminated by means of a notice to be published at least once
per month for three (3) months in a newspaper of general
circulation in the geographic vicinity in which the practice was
conducted. At the end of the three month period, the licensee
shall file with the Board the name and telephone number of the
contact person who will have access to medical records of former
patients. Any change in that individual or his/her telephone
number shall be promptly reported to the Board. When a patient
or his/her representative requests a copy of his/her medical
record or asks that record be forwarded to another health care
provider, the licensee shall promptly provide the record without
charge to the patient.

5. Probation/Monitoring Conditions

With respect to any licensee who is the subject of any Order
imposing a probation or monitoring requirement or a stay of an
active suspension, in whole or in part, which is conditioned upon
compliance with a probation or monitoring requirement, the
licensee shall fully cooperate with the Board and its designated
representatives, including the Enforcement Bureau of the Division
of Consumer Affairs, in ongoing monitoring of the licensee's
status and practice. Such monitoring shall be at the expense of
the disciplined practitioner.



(a) Monitoring of practice conditions may include, but is
not limited to, inspection of the professional premises and
eguipment, and Inspection and copying of patient records

Board) to verify compliance with the Board Order and accepted
standards of practice.

v (b) Monitoring of status conditions for an impaired
practitioner may include, but is not limited to, practitioner
cocperation in providing releases permitting unrestricted access
to records and other information to the extent permitted by law
from any treatment facility, other treating practitioner, support
group or other individual/facility' involved in the education,
treatment, monitoring or oversight of the pPractitioner, or
maintained by a rehabilitation program for impaired
practitioners. If bodily substance monitoring has been ordered,
the practitioner shall fully cooperate by responding to a demand
for breath, blood, urine or other sample in a timely manner and
providing the designated sample.




NOTICE OF REPORTING PRACTICES OF BOARD
REGARDING DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS

Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:14B-3(3), all orders of the New Jersey
State Board of Medical Examiners are available for public
inspection. Should any inguiry be made concerning the status of
a licensee, the inquirer will be informed of the existence of the
order and a copy will be provided if requested. Aall evidentiary
hearings, proceedings on motions or other applications which are
conducted as public hearings and the record, including the
transcript and documents marked in evidence, are available for
public inspection, upon request.

Pursuant to 45 CFR Subtitle A 60.8, the Board is obligated to
report to the National Practitioners Data Bank any action
relating to a physician which is based on reasons relating to
professional competence or professional conduct:

(1) Which revokes or suspends (or otherwise restricts) a
license,

(2) Which censures, reprimands or places on probation,

(3) Under which a license is surrendered.

Pursuant to 45 CFR Section 61.7, the Board is obligated to report
to the Healthcare Integrity and Protection (HIP) Data Bank, any
formal or official actions, such as revocation Or susgpension of a
license(and the length of any such suspension), reprimand,
ceénsure or probation or any other loss of license or the right to
apply for, or renew, a license of the provider, supplier, or
practitioner, whether by operation of law, voluntary surrender,
non-renewability, or otherwise, or any other negative action or
finding by such Federal or State agency that is publicly
available information.

Pursuant to N.J.S.A.45:9-19.13, if the Board refuses to issue,
suspends, revokes or otherwise places conditions on a license or
permit, it is obligated to notify each 1licensed health care
facility and health maintenance organization with which a
licensee is affiliated and every other board licensee in this
State with whom he or she is directly associated 1in private

medical practice.

In accordance with an agreement with the Federation of State
Medical Boards of the United States, a list of all disciplinary
orders are provided to that organization on a monthly basis.



Within the month following entry of an order, a summary of the
order will appear on the public agenda for the next monthly Board
meeting and is forwarded to those members of the public
requesting a copy. In addition, the same summary will appear in
the minutes of that Board meeting, which are also made available
to those requesting a copy.

Within the month following entry of an order, a summary of the
order will appear in a Monthly Disciplinary Action Listing which
is made available to those members of the public requesting a

copy.

On a periodic basis the Board disseminates to its licensees g3
newsletter which includes a brief description of all of the
orders entered by the Board.

From time to time, the Press Office of the Division of Consumer
Affairs may issue releases including the summaries of the content
of public orders.

Nothing herein is intended in any way to limit the Board, the
Division or the Attorney General from disclosing any public
document .




