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LICENSED TO PRACTICE DENTISTRY
IN THE STATE OF NEW JERSEY

This matter was opened to the New Jersey State Board of

Dentistry ("Board") upon receipt of a patient complaint against

Mahmoud Amr Helal, D.M.D. ("respondent") alleging that respondent

deviated from the standard of care and professionalism for dentists

licensed to practice in this State. On April 7, 2010, respondent

appeared without counsel at an investigative inquiry into the

matter held by the Board.

A review of the complaint, patient records, and respondent's

testimony show that as to patient C.L., a senior citizen on a fixed

income, respondent did not adequately address the patient's dental

or medical conditions or needs, did not follow-up on known medical

conditions, proceeded with restorations in the presence of
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pathology, did not maintain adequate patient records; and

encouraged the patient to obtain credit for dental treatment

without allowing the patient adequate time to review and understand

the financial consequences, given his limited resources.

Having reviewed the entire record, including the testimony of

respondent at the investigative inquiry, it appears to the Board

that as to patient C. L., respondent: failed to properly sequence

treatment; performed an excessive amount of treatment in the

initial visit; performed dental work in the presence of periodontal

disease; failed to consult the patient's medical physician in light

of the patient's medical history; failed to adequately address the

patient's dental condition; failed to give the patient sufficient

time to understand his treatment options and the financial

ramifications of obtaining a loan through Care Credit, and failed

to maintain records consistent with N.J.A.C . 13:30-8.7.

These facts establish basis for disciplinary action pursuant

to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21 (d), (e) and (h) in that respondent engaged in

repeated acts of incompetence, engaged in professional misconduct,

and failed to comply with the Board's record keeping rule. It

appearing that the respondent desires to resolve this matter

without admissions and without recourse to formal proceedings, and

the respondent waiving any right to a hearing, and the Board having

been satisfied that the within resolution adequately protects the

public health, safety and welfare, and for good cause shown:
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IT IS ON THIS DAY [kV f-k t , 2011

HEREBY ORDERED AND AGREED THAT:

1. Respondent's license to practice dentistry shall be

suspended for a period of six months, one week of which shall be

served as a period of active suspension, the remainder of which

shall be stayed and served as a period of probation. The

suspension shall commence thirty (30) days following entry of this

Consent Order. Respondent shall comply with the attached

Directives for licensees whose licenses have been suspended,

revoked or surrendered.

2. Respondent is hereby reprimanded by the State Board of

Dentistry.

3. Respondent is assessed civil penalties, pursuant to

N.J.S.A. 45:1-22, totaling $10,000 for professional misconduct and

for repeated acts of negligence. Payment of the civil penalties

totaling $10,000.00 shall be submitted by certified check or money

order made payable to the State of New Jersey and shall be sent to

Jonathan Eisenmenger, Executive Director, P.O. Box 45005, 124

Halsey Street, Sixth Floor, Newark, New Jersey 07101 no later than

thirty (30) days from the entry of this Consent Order. Subsequent

violations will subject respondent to enhanced penalties pursuant

to N.J.S.A . 45:1-25.

4. Failure to remit any payment as required by this Order

will result in the filing of a certificate of debt and shall
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constitute a violation of this consent order.

5. Respondent shall fully attend, successfully complete, and

pass an ethics course. Respondent shall complete the ProBE

(Professional Problem Based Ethics) course offered by The Ethics

Group, 89 Summit Avenue, Suite 185, Summit, New Jersey 07901, or

the PRIME (Professional Renewal in Medicine through Ethics) course

offered by the Center for Continuing Education in the Health

Professions at UMDNJ-Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, 97

Paterson Street, Room 124, New Brunswick, New Jersey 08903, or

other ethics course of similar content that is pre-approved by the

Board. Documentation of full attendance and successful completion

of the course shall be provided to the Board.

6. Respondent shall successfully complete seven (7) hours of

continuing education in medically compromised patients to include

the geriatric population; four (4) hours of continuing education in

record keeping; seven (7) hours of continuing education in

periodontics to include treatment plan and sequence of treatment;

and fourteen (14) hours in implant dentistry, within six months of

the entry of this Consent Order. The course work, which shall be

in addition to respondent's regularly required continuing education

hours, must be approved by the Board in writing prior to

attendance. Respondent shall complete the attached continuing

education course approval form. Respondent shall provide proof of

successful completion of the course within thirty days of
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completion.

7. Failure to comply with any of the terms of this Consent

Order may result in further disciplinary action, including

activation of the stayed suspension and any additional relief

determined by the Board to be appropriate based on the conduct

found.

NEW JERSEY STATE BOARD OF DENTISTRY

By:
Herbert Doling`ky, D.D.S.
Acting President

I have read and understand this
Consent Order and agree to be
bound by its terms. I consent
to the ntry of thi der.

Mahmoud Amr Helal, U.M.D.
Date

I consent to the form and entry of this
order.

Peter
Date:
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DIRECTIVES APPLICABLE TO ANY DENTISTRYBOARD LICENSEE
WHO IS SUSPENDED, REVOKEDOR WHOSE SURRENDEROF LICENSURE

HAS BEEN ACCEPTED

A practitioner whose license is suspended or revoked or whose surrender of license has
been accepted by the Board, shall conduct him/herself as follows.-

1 . Document Return and Agency Notification

The licensee shall promptly deliver to the Board office at 124 Halsey Street, 6th floor,
Newark, New Jersey 07102, the original license and current biennial registration certificate,
and if authorized to prescribe drugs, the current State and Federal Controlled Dangerous
Substances Registration. With respect to suspensions of a finite term, at the conclusion
of the term, the licensee may contact the Board office for the return of the documents
previously surrendered to the Board.

2. Practice Cessation

The licensee shall cease and desist from engaging in the practice of dentistry in this State.
This prohibition not only bars a licensee from rendering professional services, but also from
providing an opinion as to professional practice or its application, or representing
him/herself as being eligible to practice. Although the licensee need not affirmatively
advise patients or others of the revocation, suspension or surrender, the licensee must
truthfully disclose his/her licensure status in response to inquiry. The disciplined licensee
is also prohibited from occupying, sharing or using office space in which another licensee
of this Board provides health care services. Unless otherwise ordered by the Board, the
disciplined licensee may contract for, accept payment from another licensee for or rent at
fair market value office premises and/or equipment. In no case may the disciplined
licensee authorize, allow or condone the use of his/her provider number by the practice or
any other licensee or health care provider. In situations where the licensee has been
suspended for less than one year, the licensee may accept payment from another
professional who is using his/her office during the period that the licensee is suspended,
for the payment of salaries for office staf f employed at the time of the Board action.

A licensee whose license has been revoked, suspended for one (1) year or more or
permanently surrendered must remove signs and take affirmative action to . stop
advertisements by which his/her eligibility to practice is represented.The licensee must
also take steps to remove his/her name from all prescription blanks and pads, professional
listings, telephone directories, professional stationery, or billings.If the licensee's name

Dentistry Board Orders
Directives (Rev. 12/6/00)
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is utilized in a group practice title, it shall be deleted.

Prescription pads bearing the licensee's name shall be destroyed. A destruction report
form shall be obtained from the Office of Drug Control (973-504-6558) and filed with that
office. If no other licensee is providing services at the practice location, all medications
must be removed and returned to the manufacturer (if possible), or destroyed or
safeguarded. In situations where the licensee has been suspended for a period of less
than one year, prescription pads and medications must be secured in a locked place for
safekeeping.

3. ' Practice Income Prohibitions/Divestiture of Equity Interest
in Professional Service Corporations

A licensee shall not charge, receive or share in any fee for professional services rendered
by him/herself or others while barred from engaging in the professional practice. The
licensee may be compensated for the reasonable value of services lawfully rendered and
disbursements incurred on a patient's behalf prior to the effective date of the Board action.

A licensee whose license is revoked, surrendered or suspended for a term of one (1) year
or more shall be deemed to be disqualified from the practice, and shall be required to
comply with the requirements to divest him/herself of all financial interest in the
professional practice pursuant to Board regulations contained in N.J.A.C. 13:30-8.21.
Such divestiture shall occur within 90 days following the entry of the Board Order. Upon
divestiture, a licensee shall forward to the Board a copy of documentation forwarded to the
New Jersey Department of Treasury, Commercial Reporting Division, demonstrating that
the interest has been terminated. If the licensee is the sole shareholder in a professional
service corporation, the corporation must be dissolved within 90 days of the licensee's
disqualification.

4. Patient Records

If, as a result of the Board's action, a practice is closed or transferred to another location,
the licensee shall ensure that during the three (3) month period following the effective date
of the disciplinary order, a message will be delivered to patients calling the former office
premises, advising where records may be obtained. The message should inform patients
of the names and telephone numbers of the licensee (or his/her attorney) assuming
custody of the records. The same information shall also be disseminated by means of a
notice to be published at least once per month for three -(3) months in a newspaper of
general circulation in the geographic vicinity in which the practice was conducted. At the
end of the three month period, the licensee shall file with the Board the name and
telephone number of the contact person who will have access to patient records of former
patients. Any change in that individual or his/her telephone number shall be promptly
reported to the Board. When a patient or his/her representative requests a copy of his/her
patientl record or asks that the record be forwarded to another health care provider, the
licensee shall promptly provide the record without charge to the patient.

Dentistry Board Orders
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5. Probation/Monitoring Conditions

A disciplined practitioner whose active suspension of license has been stayed in full or in
part, conditioned upon compliance with a probation or monitoring program, shall fully
cooperate with the Board or its designated representatives, including the Enforcement
Bureau of the Division of Consumer Af fairs, in ongoing monitoring of the licensee's status
and practice. Such monitoring shall be at the expense of the disciplined practitioner.

(a.) Monitoring of practice conditions may include, but is not limited to, inspection
of professional premises and equipment, and inspection and copying of patient
records (confidentiality of patient identity shall be protected by the Board) to verify
compliance with Board Order and accepted standards of practice.

(b.) Monitoring of status conditions for an impaired practitioner may include, but is
not limited to, practitioner cooperation in providing releases permitting unrestricted
access to records and other information to the extent permitted by law from any
treatment facility, other treating practitioner, support group or other individual or
facility involved in the education, treatment, monitoring or oversight of the
practitioner, or maintained by the rehabilitation program for impaired practitioners.
If bodily substance monitoring has been ordered, the practitioner shall fully
cooperate by responding to a demand for breath, blood, urine or other sample in a
timely manner and by providing the designated sample.

6. Reports of Reimbursement

A disciplined practitioner shall promptly report to the Board his/her compliance with each
directive requiring monies to be reimbursed to patients to other parties or third party payors
or to any Court.

7. Report of Changes of Address

A disciplined practitioner shall, notify the Board office in writing within ten (10) days of
change of address.

Dentistry Board Orders
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NOTICE OF REPORTING PRACTICES OF BOARD
REGARDING DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS

Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:148-3(3), all orders of the New Jersey State Board of Dentistry are
available for public inspection. Should any inquiry be made concerning the status of a
licensee, the inquirer will be informed of the existence of the order and a copy will be
provided if requested. All evidentiary hearings, proceedings on motions or other
applications which are conducted as public hearings and the record thereof, including the
transcript and documents marked in evidence, are available for public inspection upon
request.

Pursuant to Public Law 101-191, the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act,
the Board is obligated to report to the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank any
adverse action relating to a dentist:

(1)

(2)

(3)

Which revokes or suspends (or otherwise restricts) a license; or

Which censures, reprimands or places on probation, or restricts the right to
apply or renew a license; or

Under which a license is surrendered.

In accordance with an agreement with the American Association of Dental Examiners, a
report of all disciplinary orders is provided to that organization on a monthly basis.

Within the month following entry of an order, a summary of the order may appear on the
public agenda for the monthly Board meeting and is forwarded to those members of the
public requesting a copy. In addition, the same summary will appear in the minutes of that
Board meeting, which are also made available to those requesting a copy.

On a periodic basis the Board disseminates to its licensees a newsletter which includes a
brief description of all of the orders entered by the Board. In addition, the same description
may appear on the Internet Website of the Division of Consumer Affairs.

From time to time, the Press Office of the Division of Consumer Affairs may issue releases
including the summaries of the content of public orders.

Nothing herein is intended in any way to limit the Board, the Division or the Attorney
General from disclosing any public document.
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