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STATE OF NEW JERSEY

DEPARTMENT OF LAW & PUBLIC SAFETY
DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS
STATE BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS

IN THE MATTER OF THE SUSPENSION :
OR REVOCATION OF THE LICENSE OF Administrative Action

VLADIMIR BERKOVICH, M.D. CONSENT ORDER
LICENSE NO. MA 067558 :

TO PRACTICE OF MEDICINE AND
SURGERY IN THE STATE
OF NEW JERSEY :

This matter was opened to the New Jersey State Board of
Medical Examiners (“Board”) upon receipt of information pertaining
to Vladimir Berkovich, M.D. (“Respondent”) and his medical
treatment during 2006-2009 of several patients with off-label uses
of IV Ketamine, IV Colchicine and Human Growth Hormone (hGH).
Respondent is a physician in the State of New Jersey and has been
a licensee at all times relevant hereto. On April 28 and June 23,
2010, Respondent appeared and testified under oath before the
Preliminary Evaluation Committee of the Board. Dr. Berkovich'’s

documentation failed to comply with Board regulations. In lieu of

further investigation and litigation, and the attendant costs, and
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without admissions of wrongdoing, Respondent seeks to resolve the

matter by Consent Order. The Board finding the within disposition
adequately protective of the public health, safety and welfare and
for other good cause shown,

ON THIS ] 8th DAY OF Ly . 2011, IT I8 ORDERED AND AGREED
THAT:

1. Respondent Vladimir Berkovich, M.D. is hereby reprimanded
for: using IV Colchicine, IV Ketamine and hGH as treatments for his
patients without proper documentation of medical need, proper
monitoring of potential side effects from the use of the above
medications; failing to acquire appropriate informed comsent for
the above treatments; failing to include findings and results of
diagnostic tests completed by treating practitioners in his medical
plan, and for treating patients with IV Colchicine contrary to FDA
warnings and prohibitions, contrary to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(c) and (4);
and inadequately and improperly documenting in his medical records
diagnostic data reviewed and considered, observations, clinical
examinations and medical rationale for the treatment he rendered to
his patients, contrary to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(h) and N.J.A.C. 13:35-
6.5; and failing to provide sufficient documentation of continuing
medical education as required by Board regulation, a violation of
N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(h).

2. Respondent’s license to practice medicine and surgery in
the State of New Jersey shall be and hereby is suspended for a

period of three years, effective on the filing of the within Order.



This suspension shall be stayed and served as a period of
probation, pending successful fulfillment of the other terms of
this Order. Respondent shall observe the Directives Applicable to
a Licensee Whose License Has Been Disciplined, which are attached
to this Order.

3. Respondent shall pay $1,900 for the costs of the expert
retained in this matter within thirty (30) days of the date the
Order is filed. Payment shall be submitted by certified check or
money order payable to the State of New Jersey. Payment shall be
sent via regular mail to William Roeder, Executive Director, New
Jersey State Board of Medical Examiners, P.O. Box 183, Trenton, New
Jersey 08625-0183.

4. Respondent shall pay $1,900 in penalties for failing to
complete sufficient CME within thirty (30) days of the date the
order is filed. Payment shall be submitted by certified check or
money order payable to the State of New Jersey. Payment shall be
sent via regular mail toAWilliam Roeder, Executive Director, New
Jersey State Board of Medical Examiners, P.O. Box 183, Trenton, New
Jersey 08625-0183.

5. Respondent shall pay penalties in the amount of $5,000
within thirty (30) days of the date the Order is filed. Payment
shall be submitted by certified check or money order payable to the
State of New Jersey. Payment shall be sent via regular mail to
William Roeder, Executive Director, New Jersey State Board of

Medical Examiners, P.O. Box 183, Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0183.



6. Within sixty days, Respondent shall provide documentary
proof, not already provided, of his compliance with the CME
requirements for the 2007-2009, and 2009-2011 biennial periods
including the cultural competency course required by Board
regulations to the Administrative office of the Board.

7. In addition to the requisite CM%QZZiguired. by Board
regulation, Respondent shall complete byoahgusb 1, 2011, twenty
(20) additional hours of Category I Board-approved Continuing
Medical Education credits, with ten (10) hours in current pain
management theory and technique, and ten (10) hours in diagnosis
and treatment of depression and anxiety.

8. Within one year, Respondent shall provide documentation of
his successful completion of a Board-approved record documentation

and billing course, such as the one offered at UC San Diego-PACE.
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DIRECTIVES APPLICABLE TO ANY MEDICAL BOARD LICENSEE
WHO IS DISCIPLINED OR WHOSE SURRENDER OF LICENSURE
HAS BEEN ACCEPTED

APPROVED BY THE BOARD ON MAY 10, 2000

All licensees who are the subject of a disciplinary order of the Board are required to
provide the information required on the addendum to these directives. The information
provided will be maintained separately and will not be part of the public document filed with
the Board. Failure to provide the information required may result in further disciplinary
action for failing to cooperate with the Board, as required by N.J.A.C. 13:45C-1 et seq.
Paragraphs 1 through 4 below shall apply when a license is suspended or revoked or
permanently surrendered, with or without prejudice. Paragraph 5 applies to licensees who
are the subject of an order which, while permitting continued practice, contains a probation

or monitoring requirement.
1. Document Return and Agency Notification

The licensee shall promptly forward to the Board office at Post Office Box 183, 140 East
Front Street, 2nd floor, Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0183, the original license, current
biennial registration and, if applicable, the original CDS registration. In addition, if the
licensee holds a Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) registration, he or she shall promptly
advise the DEA of the licensure action. (With respect to suspensions of a finite term, at
the conclusion of the term, the licensee may contact the Board office for the return of the
documents previously surrendered to the Board. In addition, at the conclusion of the term,
the licensee should contact the DEA to advise of the resumption of practice and to
- ascertain the impact of that change upon his/her DEA registration.)

2. Practice Cessation

The licensee shall cease and desist from engaging in the practice of medicine in this State.
This prohibition not only bars a licensee from rendering professional services, but also
from providing an opinion as to professional practice or its application, or representing
him/herself as being eligible to practice. (Although the licensee need not affirmatively
advise patients or others of the revocation, suspension or surrender, the licensee must
truthfully disclose his/her licensure status in response to inquiry.) The disciplined licensee
is also prohibited from occupying, sharing or using office space in which another licensee
provides health care services. The disciplined licensee may confract Tor, accept payment
from another licensee for or rent at fair market value office premises and/or equipment.
In no case may the disciplined licensee authorize, allow or condone the-use of his/her
provider number by any health care practice or any other licensee or health care provider.
(In situations where the licensee has been suspended for less than one year, the licensee
may accept payment from another professional who is using his/her office during the
period that the licensee is suspended, for the payment of salaries for office staff employed

at the time of the Board action.)



A licensee whose license has been revoked, suspended for one (1) year or more or
permanently surrendered must remove signs and take affirmative action to stop
advertisements by which his/her eligibility to practice is represented. The licensee must
also take steps to remove his/her name from professional listings, telephone directories.

professional stationery, or billings. If the licensee’s name is utilized in a group practice
title, it shall be deleted. Prescription pads bearing the licensee's name shall be destroyed.
A destruction report form obtained from the Office of Drug Control (973-504-6558) must
be filed. f no other licensee is providing services at the location, all medications must be
removed and returned to the manufacturer, if possible, destroyed or safeguarded. (In
situations where a license has been suspended for less than one year, prescription pads
and medications need not be destroyed but must be secured in a locked place for

safekeeping.) L

- 3. Practice Income Prohibitions/Divestiture of Equity Interest in Professional
Service Corporations and Limited Liability Companies

A licensee shall not charge, receive or share in any fee for professional services rendered
by him/herself or others while barred from engaging in the professional practice. The
licensee may be compensated for the reasonable value of services lawfully rendered and
disbursements incurred on a patient's behalf prior to the effective date of the Board action.

A licensee who is a shareholder in a professional service corporation organized to engage
in the professional practice, whose license is revoked, surrendered or suspended for a
term of one (1) year or more shall be deemed to be disqualified from the practice within the
meaning of the Professional Service Corporation Act. (N.J.S.A. 14A:17-1 1). Adisqualified -
licensee shall divest him/herself of all financial interest in the professional service
corporation pursuant to N.J.S.A. 14A:17-13(c). A licensee who is a member of a limited
liability company organized pursuant to N.J.S.A. 42:1-44, shall divest him/herself of all
financial interest. Such divestiture shall occur within 90 days following the the entry of the
Order rendering the licensee disqualified to participate in the applicable form of ownership.
~ Upon divestiture, a licensee shall forward to the Board a copy of documentation forwarded
to the Secretary of State, Commercial Reporting Division, demonstrating that the interest
has been terminated. If the licensee is the sole shareholder in a professional service
corporation, the corporation must be dissolved within 90 days of the licensee's

disqualification.
4. Medical Records o

If, as a result of the Board's action, a practice is closed or transferred to another location,
the licensee shall ensure that during the three (3) month period following the effective date
of the disciplinary order, a message will be delivered to patients calling the former office
premises, advising where records may be obtained. The message should inform patients
of the names and telephone numbers of the licensee (or his/her attorney) assuming

- custody of the records. The same information shall also be disseminated by meansofa
notice to be published at least once per month for three (3) months in a newspaper of



general circulation in the geographic vicinity in which the practice was conducted. At the
end of the three month period, the licensee shall file with the Board the name and
telephone number of the contact person who will have access to medical records of former
patients. Any change in that individual or his/her telephone number shall be promptly

reported to the Board. When a patient or his/her representative requests a copy of his/her
medical record or asks that record be forwarded to another health care provider, the
licensee shall promptly provide the record without charge to the patient.

5. Probation/Monitoring Conditions

With respect to any licensee who is the subject of any Order imposing a probation or
monitoring requirement or a stay of an active suspension, in whole or in part, which is
conditioned upon compliance with a probation or monitoring requirement, the licensee
shall fully cooperate with the Board and its designated representatives, including the
- Enforcement Bureau of the Division of Consumer Affairs, in ongoing monitoring of the
licensee's status'and practice. Such monitoring shall be at the expense of the disciplined

practitioner. |

(a)  Monitoring of practice conditions may include, but is not limited to, inspection
ofthe professional premises and equipment, and | nspection and copying of patient records
(confidentiality of patient identity shall be protected by the Board) to verify compliance with

the Board Order and accepted standards of practice.

- (b) Monitoring of status conditions for an impaired practitioner may include, but
is not limited to, practitioner cooperation in providing releases permitting unrestricted
access to records and other information to the extent permitted by law from any treatment
facility, other treating practitioner, support group or other individual/facility involved in the
education, treatment, monitoring or oversight of the practitioner, or maintained by a
rehabilitation program for impaired practitioners. If bodily substance monitoring has been
ordered, the practitioner shall fully cooperate by responding to a demand for breath, blood,
urine or other sample in a timely manner and providing the designated sample.



NOTICE OF REPORTING PRACTICES OF BOARD

REGARDING DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS
22200 TN VUIFLINARY ACTIONS

Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:14B-3(3), all orders of the New BQ&Fdﬂf—MedicaFExaminers are
available for public inspection. Should any inquiry be made conceming the status of 3 licensee, the

* inguirer will be informed of the existence of the order and a copy will be provided if requested. Al
evidenfiary hearings, proceedings on motions or other applications which are conducted as public
hearings and the record, including the transcript and documents marked in evidence, are available for

public inspection, upon request.
oard is obligated to report to the National Practitioners Data

Pursuant to 45 CFR Subtitle A 60.8, the B ;
Bank any action relating to a physician which is based on reasons relating to professional competence

or professional conduct:

(1) Which revokes or suspends (or otherwise restricts) a license,
(2) Which censures, reprimands or places on probation,
(3) Under which a license is surrendered. .

Pursuant to 45 CFR Section 61.7, the Board is obligated to report to the Healthcare Integrity and
Protection (HIP) Data Bank, any formal or official actions, such as revocation or suspension of a

license(and the length of any such suspension), reprimand, censure or probation or any other loss of

license or the right to apply for, or renew, a license of the provider, supplier, or practitioner, whether by

. operation of law, voluntary surrender, non-renewability, or otherwise, or any other negative action or
finding by such Federal or State agency that is publicly available information.,

Pursuant to N.J.S.A.45:9-19.13, if the Board refuses to Issue, suspends, revokes or otherwise places
conditions on a license or permit, it is obligated o notify each licensed health care facility and health
maintenance organization with which a licensee is affiliated and every other board licenses in this state

with whom he or she is directly associated in private medical practice.

In accordance with an agreement with the Federation of State Medical Boards of the United States, a
list of all disciplinary orders are provided to that organization on a monthly basis.

Within the month following entry of an order, a summary of the order will appear on the public agenda
for the next monthly Board meeting and is forwarded to those members of the public requesting a copy.
in addition, the same summary will appear in the minutes of that Board meeting, which are also made

available to those requesting a copy.

ry of the order will appear in a Monthly

Within the month folléwing entry of an order, a summa
members of the public requesting a copy.

Disciplinary Action Listing which is made available to those

On a periodic basis the Board disseminates to its ficensees a newsletter which includes a brief

description of all of the orders entered by the Board.
From time to time, the Press Office of the Division of Consumer Affairs may issue releases including
the summaries of-the content of public orders.

Nothing herein is intended in any way to limit the Board, the Division or the Attorney General from

disclosing any public document.



