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The New Jersey State Board of Dentistry ("Board") received

information that John J. Graeber, D.M.D. ("Dr. Graeber" or

"Respondent") entered into a Stipulation of Settlement with the

State of New Jersey, Office of Insurance Fraud Prosecutor ("OIFP")

on March 26, 2006. The settlement resolved claims made by OIFP

following its intervention in a civil suit by brought by Delta

Dental Plan of New Jersey, Inc. ("Delta"), alleging fraudulent

misrepresentations of treatment dates, fees, and services rendered

in claims submitted to Delta. In the OIFP Stipulation of

Settlement, Dr. Graeber acknowledged that he caused to be presented

a written statement in support of a claim for payment pursuant to



a Delta policy, knowing that the statement contained false or

misleading information material to the claim by submitting the

claim in the next policy year because the patient's benefits for

the year of actual treatment were exhausted. As a result of this

admission, Dr. Graeber was assessed a civil penalty in the amount

of $75,000.00 by OIFP, and $25,000.00 in attorney's fees.

In resolving the civil suit instituted by Delta, Dr. Graeber

entered into a settlement agreement ("Delta Settlement") As part

of his agreement, Dr. Graeber "acknowledge[d] that [he had]

personally participated in and personally directed insurance fraud

against Delta Dental of New Jersey, Inc. In violation of the New

Jersey Insurance Fraud Prevention Act, N.J.S.A . 17:33A-1 et seq.,

on numerous occasions during the period 1992 through 2001 including

dates of service and patient treatment."

Dr. Graeber appeared before the Board on December 19, 2008,

with counsel, Richard Tanner, Esq. He admitted, as set forth in

the OIFP settlement, that he had knowingly submitted one insurance

claim for a patient in the year following the year in which the

services were performed, as the patient's benefits for the earlier

year had been exhausted. Additionally, Respondent admitted to

permitting hygienist to use lasers for root planing and scaling.

Having reviewed the record, including the testimony of

Respondent at the investigative inquiry, an Administrative

Complaint was filed with the Board by the Attorney General on
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October 21, 2010 alleging that Respondent, through his conduct

related to insurance submissions, has engaged in the use or

employment of dishonesty, fraud, deception, or misrepresentation,

and has violated board regulations, specifically N.J.A.C . 13:30-

8.10, and has violated the provisions of N.J.S.A. 17:33A-1 et sec..

Additionally, Respondent, by permitting hygienists to perform

services outside the scope of their permitted practice, has engaged

in professional misconduct, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(e).

Respondent acknowledges that the Board's position has

consistently been that use of lasers by a hygienist is outside the

scope of permissible practice for a hygienist as specified in

N.J.A.C. 13:30-1A.2, but denies any intent to have violated the

Board's regulations.

The Board's review of the record establishes a basis for

disciplinary action pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(b),(d),(e), (h),

and (k).

The parties, having agreed to resolve this matter without

further formal proceedings, and the Board finding this settlement

is adequately protective of the public health, safety and welfare,

and for other good cause having been shown,

IT IS ON THIS /4 ' DAY OF , 2011

ORDERED:

1. The license of John Graeber, D.M.D., to practice dentistry

in the State of New Jersey shall be suspended effective November 1,
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2011 following entry of this consent order for a period of three

(3) years, the first two (2) months of which shall be served as a

period of active suspension, and the remainder of which shall be

stayed and served as a period of probation. Respondent shall

comply with the attached Directives for licensees whose licenses

have been suspended, revoked or surrendered.

2. Respondent shall not permit hygienists to perform

services outside the scope of their permitted practice.

3. Respondent is assessed civil penalties pursuant to

N.J.S.A. 45:1-22 totaling $15,000. Payment of civil penalties

shall be submitted by certified check or money order made payable

to the State of New Jersey and shall be sent to Jonathan

Eisenmenger, Executive Director, P.O. Box 45005, 124 Halsey Street,

Sixth Floor, Newark, New Jersey 07101 in three equal installments

of $5,000 each no later than 30, 60, and 90 days from the formal

entry date of this Consent Order. Subsequent violations will

subject Respondent to enhanced penalties pursuant to N.J.S.A.

45:1-25.

4. Respondent is assessed the costs of this investigation to

the State in the amount of $5,875.50. Payment for costs shall be

submitted by certified check or money order to the Board no later

than 30 days from the entry date of this Consent Order to Jonathan

Eisenmenger, Executive Director at the address listed above.

5. Failure to remit any payment as required by this Order
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will result in the filing of a Certificate of Debt and other

proceedings as permitted by law.

6. Respondent shall fully attend and successfully complete

the ProBE (Professional Problem Based Ethics) course offered by The

Ethics Group, 89 Summit Avenue, Suite 185, Summit, New Jersey

07901, or the PRIME (Professional Renewal in Medicine through

Ethics) course offered by the Center for Continuing Education in

the Health Professions at UMDNJ-Robert Wood Johnson Medical School,

97 Paterson Street, Room 124, New Brunswick, New Jersey 08903, or

other ethics course of similar content that is pre-approved by the

Board. Documentation of full attendance and successful completion

of the course shall be provided to the Board prior to

reinstatement. This course is in addition to the regularly

required continuing education hours.

7. Failure to comply with any of the terms of this Consent

Order may result in further d-sciplinary action.

SEY STATE BOARD OF DENTISTRY

By:
Herbert B. Dolin
Pres:_dent

I have read and understand the

)�f

I consent to the form and entry
within Consent Order and agree of this order
to be bound by its terms.
Consent is P�Preby given to the
Board/to evli'er this Order.

Date

Graeber, DMD Richard Tanner, Esq.

Date
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Order may result in further disciplinary action.

By:
Herbert B . Dolinskx/, D.D
Acting President

I have read and understand the
within Consent order and agree
to be bound by its terms. Consent
is hereby given to the Board to
enter this order.

John J. Graeber, D.M.D.

ent to the form and entry
of h\s order 1 1-4- l}

ic�'anner, Esq.

Date

0
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DIRECTIVES APPLICABLE TO ANY DENTISTRY:3OARD LICENSEE
WHO IS SUSPENDED, REVOKED OR WHOSE SURRENDER OF LICENSURE

HAS BEEN ACCEPTED

A practitioner whose license is suspended or revoked or whose surrender of license has
been acceptedby the Board, shall conduct him/herself as follows-

1 . Document Return and Agency Notification

The licensee shall promptly deliver to the Board office at 124 Halsey Street, 6th floor,
Newark, New Jersey 07102, the original license and current biennial registration certificate,
and if authorized to prescribe drugs, the current State and Federal Controlled Dangerous
Substances Registration. With respect to suspensions of a finite term, at the conclusion
of the term, the licensee may contact the Board office for the return of the documents
previously surrendered to the Board.

2. Practice Cessation

The licensee shall cease and desist from engaging in the practice of dentistry in this State.
This prohibition not only bars a licensee from rendering professional services, but also from
providing an opinion as to professional practice or its application, or representing
him/herself as being eligible to practice. Although the licensee need not affirmatively
advise patients or others of the revocation, suspension or surrender, the licensee must
truthfully disclose his/her licensure status in response to inquiry. The disciplined licensee
is also prohibited from occupying, sharing or using office space in which another licensee
of this Board provides health care services. Unless otherwise ordered by the-Board, the
disciplined licensee may contract for, accept payment from another licensee for or rent at
fair marketvalue of fice premises and/or equipment. In no case may the disciplined
licensee authorize, allow or condone the use of his/her provider number by the practice or
any other licensee or health care provider. In situations where the licensee has been
suspended for less than one year, the licensee may accept payment from another
professional who is using his/her office during the period that the licensee is suspended,
for the payment of salaries for of fice staff employed at the time of the Board action.

A licensee whose license has been revoked, suspended for one (1) year or more or
permanently surrendered must remove signs and take affirmative action to stop
advertisements by which his/her eligibility to practice is represented. The licensee must
also take steps to remove his/her name from all prescription blanks and pads, professional
listings, telephone directories, professional stationery, or billings. If the licensee's name

Dentistry Board Orders
Directives(Rev. 12/6/DD)
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is utilized in a group practice title, it shall be deleted.

Prescription'pads bearing the licensee's name shall be destroyed. A destruction report
form shall be obtained from the Office of Drug Control (973-504-6558) and filed with that
office. If no other licensee is providing services at the practice location, all medications
must be removed and returned to the manufacturer (if possible), or. destroyed or
safeguarded. In situations where the licensee has been suspended for a period of less
than one year, prescription pads and medications must be secured in a locked place for
safekeeping.

3. Practice Income Prohibitions/Divestiture of Equity Interest
in Professional Service Corporations

A licensee shall not charge, receive or share in any fee for professional services rendered
by him/herself or others while barred from engaging in the professional practice. The
licensee may be compensated for the reasonable value of services lawfully rendered and
disbursements incurred on a patient's behalf prior to the effective date of the Board action.

A licensee whose license is revoked, surrendered or suspended for a term of one (1) year
or more shall be deemed to be disqualified from the practice, and shall be required to
comply with the requirements to divest him/herself of all financial interest in the
professional practice pursuant to Board regulations contained in N.J.A.C. 13:30-8.21.
Such divestiture shall occur within 90 days following the entry of the Board Order. Upon
divestiture, a licensee shall forward to the Board a copy of documentation forwarded to the
New Jersey Department of Treasury, Commercial Reporting Division, demonstrating that
the interest has been terminated. If the licensee is the sole shareholder in a professional
service corporation, the corporation must be dissolved within 90 days of the licensee's
disqualification.

4. Patient Records

If, as a result of the Board's action, a practice is closed or transferred to another location,
the licensee shall ensure that during the three (3) month period following the effective date
of the disciplinary order, a message will be delivered to patients calling the former office
premises, advising where records may be obtained. The message should inform patients
of the names and telephone numbers of the licensee (or his/her attorney) assuming
custody of the records. The same information shall also be disseminated by means of a
notice to be published at least once per month for three '(3) months in a newspaper of
general circulation in the geographic vicinity in which the practice was conducted. At the
end of the three month period, the licensee shall file with the Board the name and
telephone number of the contact person who will have access to patient records of former
patients. Any change in that individual or his/her telephone number shall be promptly
reported to the Board. When a patient or his/her representative requests a copy of his/her
patientl record or asks that the record be forwarded to another health care provider, the
licensee shall promptly provide the record without charge to the patient.
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5. Probation/Monitoring Conditions

A disciplined practitioner whose active suspension of license has been stayed in full or in
part, conditioned upon compliance with a ,probation or monitoring program, shall fully
cooperate with the Board or its designated representatives, including the Enforcement
Bureau of the Division of Consumer Affairs, in ongoing monitoring of the licensee's status
and practice. Such monitoring shaiF be at the expense of the disciplined practitioner.

(a.) Monitoring of practice conditions may include, but is not limited to, inspection
of professional premises and equipment, and inspection and copying of patient
records (confidentiality of patient identity shall be protected by the Board) to verify
compliance with Board Order and accepted standards of practice.

(b.) Monitoring of status conditions for an impaired practitioner may include, but is
not limited to, practitioner cooperation in providing releases permitting unrestricted
access to records and other information to the extent permitted by law from any
treatment facility, other treating practitioner, support group or other individual or
facility involved in the education, treatment, monitoring or oversight of the
practitioner, or maintained by the rehabilitation program for impaired practitioners.
If bodily substance monitoring has been ordered, the practitioner shall fully
cooperate by responding to a demand for breath, blood, urine or other sample in a
timely manner and by providing the designated sample.

6. Reports of Reimbursement

A disciplined practitioner shall promptly report to the Board his/her compliance with each
directive requiring monies to be reimbursed to patients to other parties or third party payors
or to any Court.

7. Report of Changes of Address

A disciplined practitioner shall notify the Board office in writing within ten (10) days of
change of address.
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NOTICE OF REPORTING PRACTICES OF BOARD
REGARDING DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS

Pursuant toN.J.S.A. 52:14B-3(3), all orders of the New Jersey State Board of Dentistry are
available for public inspection. Should any inquiry be made'concerning the status of a
licensee, the inquirer will be informed of the existence of the order and a copy will be
provided if requested. All' evidentiary hearings, proceedingson motions or other
applications which are conducted as public hearings and the record thereof, including the
transcript and documents marked in evidence, are available for public inspection upon
request.

Pursuant to Public Law 101-191, the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act,
the Board is obligatedto report to the HealthcareIntegrity and Protection Data Bank any
adverseaction relating to a dentist:

(1) Which revokes or suspends(or otherwise restricts) a license; or

(2) Which censures, reprimands or places on probation, or restricts the right to
apply or renew a license; or

(3) Under which a license is surrendered.

In accordance with an agreement with the American Association of Dental Examiners, a
report of all disciplinary orders is provided to that organization on a monthly basis.

Within the month following entry of an order, a summary of the order may appear on the
public agenda for themonthly Board meeting and is forwarded to those members of the
public requesting a copy. In addition, the same summary will appear in the minutes of that
Board meeting, which are also made available to those requesting a copy.

On a periodic basis the Board disseminates to its licensees a newsletter which includes a
brief description of all of the orders entered by the Board. In addition, the same description
may appear on the Internet Website of the Division of Consumer Affairs.

From time to time, the Press Office of the Division of Consumer Affairs may issue releases
including the summaries of the content of public orders.

Nothing herein is intended in any way to limit the Board, the Division or the Attorney
General from disclosing any public document.
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