
FILED
September 14, 2011

NEW JERSEY STATE BOARD
OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS

STATE OF NEW JERSEY

DEPARTMENT OF LAW & PUBLIC SAFETY
DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS
STATE BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS

In the Matter of:

ROSENDO S. ICOCHEA, M.D., CONSENT ORDER

An Unlicensed Person.

This matter was opened before the New Jersey State Board

of Medical Examiners ("Board") upon the Attorney General's filing

of a Motion to Enforce Litigant's Rights against Respondent,

Rosendo S. Icochea, M.D., on August 30, 2011. Said motion, filed

by Deputy Attorney General William Lim, sought to enforce the terms

of a January 13, 2009 Consent Order ("2009 Consent Order") between

Respondent and the Board concerning his unlicensed practice of

medicine in New Jersey.

By the terms of the 2009 Consent Order, Respondent was

found to have engaged in the unlicensed practice of medicine in New

Jersey from 2006 to 2008, in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:9-6, 45:9-

19.17, and 45:9-22. Respondent agreed pursuant to the 2009 Consent

Order to pay a $10,000 civil penalty and immediately cease and

desist from the practice of medicine in New Jersey, including the

closure of his office in West New York, New Jersey, until such time

as he becomes validly licensed. However, compliance investigation

by the Enforcement Bureau of the Division of Consumer Affairs

revealed that although Respondent is licensed in New York, he did

not complete an application for New Jersey licensure and that he
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has continued to operate the same West New York office through June

2011, in violation of his 2009 Consent Order.

Based upon its consideration of the Attorney General's

moving papers, the Board finds five specific violations committed

by Respondent, being: 1.) that Respondent continued to operate his

West New York office despite his agreement to close pursuant to the

2009 Consent Order; 2.) that Respondent advertised his West New

York office in a Spanish language newspaper; 3.) that Respondent

scheduled appointments for his West New York office with patients

by telephone; 4.) that Respondent offered to patients payment

financing brochures bearing his name and West New York address; and

5.) that Respondent performed physical examinations on patients at

his West New York office. The Board takes notice that a criminal

prosecution of Respondent for unlicensed practice of medicine has

been brought by the Hudson County Prosecutor's Office. The Board

takes further notice that the Attorney General expended an

estimated $12,600.00 in investigative costs and attorney's fees for

the period from February to September 2011.

A hearing on the Attorney General's motion was scheduled

for September 14, 2011, with D.A.G. Lim representing the Attorney

General and Martin Asatrian, Esq., 235 Harrison Ave., Harrison, New

Jersey 07029, representing Respondent. Prior to the hearing, the

parties agreed to and the Board accepted a settlement of this

matter as set forth in this Consent Order.

The Board having found that Respondent's five specific



instances of unlicensed practice of medicine as enumerated above

provide a basis for the entry of disciplinary sanction pursuant to

N.J.S.A. 45:9-6 and 45:9-22 (prohibiting the unlicensed practice of

medicine), N.J_ A.C_ 13:35-6.10 (concerning physician advertising),

and N.J.S.A. 45:1-18.2(b) (2) and 45:1-25 (liability for civil

monetary penalties), and being satisfied that the within

disposition is adequately protective of the public health, safety

and welfare, and that good cause exists to support the entry of

this Consent Order,

IT IS on this day of , 2011

ORDERED:

1. Respondent Rosendo S. Icochea, M.D., shall

immediately cease and desist from the practice of medicine in New

Jersey until such time as he obtains a valid license from the

Board. Respondent shall immediately close his office located at

6507 Bergenline Avenue, West New York, New Jersey 07093, and shall

refrain from practicing from or opening any other office in New

Jersey, until such time as he obtains a valid license. Respondent

shall immediately remove or destroy all materials, including but

not limited to, office signs, advertisements, websites, brochures,

forms, business cards, letterheads, stationery, directory listings,

and prescription blanks in which he holds himself out as a New

Jersey physician. Respondent may direct patients to his New York

office by providing a New York telephone number and address.

2. Respondent shall be ineligible for licensure as a



physician in New jersey for a period of two years, beginning on the

effective date of this Consent Order. Prior to obtaining a New

Jersey license, Respondent shall appear before a Preliminary

Evaluation Committee of the Board to demonstrate his fitness to

practice.

3. Respondent is hereby assessed a civil penalty in the

amount of $90,000.00, with $40,000.00 payable and $50,000.00

stayed. Respondent shall pay $5,000.00 by October 1, 2011.

Respondent shall pay $35,000.00 in twenty-four equal monthly

installments of $1,458.33 with the first installment due on

November 1, 2011. The Board may file a Certificate of Debt for the

amounts due under this Consent Order, to be discharged upon payment

in full of all amounts due under this Consent Order. Payments

shall be made by certified check or money order payable to the

"State Board of Medical Examiners" and delivered to the Executive

Director of the State Board of Medical Examiners, P.O. Box 183,

Trenton, New Jersey 08625.

4. In the event that Respondent is found to have

committed any violation of this Consent Order, including in the

event of a default on any payments due, Respondent shall become

immediately liable for the entire outstanding amount of civil

penalties up to the full assessment of $90,000.00.

5. The Attorney General agrees to waive the assessment

of $12,600.00 in investigative costs and attorney's fees. However,

the Attorney General does not waive the imposition of costs and



attorney's fees incurred in any future action to enforce this

Consent Order or any other enforcement action which may be brought.

6. Respondent shall comply with all terms of the

Board's "Directives Applicable to Any Medical Board Licensee Who is

Disciplined or Whose Surrender of Licensure Has Been Accepted,"

copy attached.

STATE BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS

I hereby agree to be bound by the
terms and conditions set forth
above, and consent to the entry of
this Order by the State Board of
Medical Examiners.

Consent given to the form and entry
f ho t is Order.

Martin Asatrian, Esq.
Counsel for Respondent

Consent given to the form and entry
of this Order.

William Lim
Deputy Attorney General



DIRECTIVES APPLICABLE TO ANY MEDICAL BOARD LICENSEE
WHO IS DISCIPLINED OR WHOSE SURRENDER OF LICENSURE

HAS BEEN ACCEPTED'

All licensees who are the subject of a disciplinary order of the Board are required to provide the
information required on the Confidential Information page enclosed with these directives. The
information provided will be maintained separately and will not be part of the public document filed
with the Board. Failure to provide the information required may result in further disciplinary action
for failing to cooperate with the Board, as required by N.J.A.C. 13:45C-1 et seq. Paragraphs 1
through 4 below shall apply when a license is suspended or revoked or permanently surrendered,
with or without prejudice. Paragraph 5 applies to licensees who are the subject of an order which,
while permitting continued practice, contains a probation or monitoring requirement.

1. Document Return and Agency Notification
The licensee shall promptly forward to the Board office at Post Office Box 183, 140 East Front
Street, 2nd floor, Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0183, the original license, current biennial registration
and, if applicable, the original CDS registration. In addition, if the licensee holds a Drug
Enforcement Agency (DEA) registration, he or she shall promptly advise the DEA of the licensure
action. (With respect to suspensions of a finite term, at the conclusion of the term, the licensee may
contact the Board office for the return of the documents previously surrendered to the Board. In
addition, at the conclusion of the term, the licensee should contact the DEA to advise of the
resumption of practice and to ascertain the impact of that change upon his/her DEA registration.)

2. Practice Cessation
The licensee shall cease and desist from engaging in the practice of medicine in this State. This
prohibition not only bars a licensee from rendering professional services, but also from providing
an opinion as to professional practice or its application, or representing him/herself as being eligible
to practice. (Although the licensee need not affirmatively advise patients or others of the revocation,
suspension or surrender, the licensee must truthfully disclose his/her licensure status in response to
inquiry.) The disciplined licensee is also prohibited from occupying, sharing or using office space
in which another licensee provides health care services. The disciplined licensee may contract for,

accept payment from another licensee for or rent at fair market value office premises and/or
equipment. In no case may the disciplined licensee authorize, allow or condone the use of his/her
provider number by any health care practice or any other licensee or health care provider. (In
situations where the licensee has been suspended for less than one year, the licensee may accept
payment from another professional who is using his/her office during the period that the licensee is
suspended, for the payment of salaries for office staff employed at the time of the Board action.)

A licensee whose license has been revoked, suspended for one (1) year or more or
permanently surrendered must remove signs and take affirmative action to stop advertisements by
which his/her eligibility to practice is represented. The licensee must also take steps to remove
his/her name from professional listings, telephone directories, professional stationery, or billings.
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If the licensee's name is utilized in a group practice title, it shall be deleted. Prescription pads
bearing the licensee's name shall be destroyed. A destruction report form obtained from the Office
of Drug Control (973-504-6558) must be filed. If no other licensee is providing services at the
location, all medications must be removed and returned to the manufacturer, if possible, destroyed
or safeguarded. (In situations where a license has been suspended for less than one year, prescription
pads and medications need not be destroyed but must be secured in a locked place for safekeeping.)

3. Practice Income Prohibitions /Divestiture of Equity Interest in Professional Service
Corporations and Limited Liability Companies
A licensee shall not charge, receive or share in any fee for professional services rendered by
him/herself or others while barred from engaging in the professional practice. The licensee may be
compensated for the reasonable value of services lawfully rendered and disbursements incurred on
a patient's behalf prior to the effective date of the Board action.

A licensee who is a shareholder in a professional service corporation organized to engage in the
professional practice, whose license is revoked, surrendered or suspended for a term of one (1) year
or more shall be deemed to be disqualified from the practice within the meaning of the Professional
Service Corporation Act. ( N.J.S.A. 14A:17-11). A disqualified licensee shall divest him/herself of
all financial interest in the professional service corporation pursuant to N.J.S.A. 14A:17-13(c). A
licensee who is a member of a limited liability company organized pursuant to N.J.S.A. 42:1-44,
shall divest him/herself of all financial interest. Such divestiture shall occur within 90 days
following the entry of the Order rendering the licensee disqualified to participate in the applicable
form of ownership. Upon divestiture, a licensee shall forward to the Board a copy of documentation
forwarded to the Secretary of State, Commercial Reporting Division, demonstrating that the interest
has been terminated. If the licensee is the sole shareholder in a professional service corporation, the
corporation must be dissolved within 90 days of the licensee's disqualification.

4. Medical Records
If, as a result of the Board's action, a practice is closed or transferred to another location, the licensee
shall ensure that during the three (3) month period following the effective date of the disciplinary
order, a message will be delivered to patients calling the former office premises, advising where
records may be obtained. The message should inform patients of the names and telephone numbers
of the licensee (or his/her attorney) assuming custody of the records. The same information shall
also be disseminated by means of a notice to be published at least once per month for three (3)
months in a newspaper of general circulation in the geographic vicinity in which the practice was
conducted. At the end of the three month period, the licensee shall file with the Board the name and
telephone number of the contact person who will have access to medical records of former patients.
Any change in that individual or his/her telephone number shall be promptly reported to the Board.
When a patient or his/her representative requests a copy of his/her medical record or asks that that
record be forwarded to another health care provider, the licensee shall promptly provide the record
without charge to the patient.
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5. Probation /Monitoring Conditions
With respect to any licensee who is the subject of an Order imposing a probation or monitoring
requirement or a stay of an active suspension, in whole or in part, which is conditioned upon
compliance with a probation or monitoring requirement, the licensee shall fully cooperate with the
Board and its designated representatives, including the Enforcement Bureau of the Division of
Consumer Affairs, in ongoing monitoring of the licensee's status and practice. Such monitoring shall
be at the expense of the disciplined practitioner.

(a) Monitoring ofpractice conditions may include, but is not limited to, inspection of the
professional premises and equipment, and inspection and co pyingof patient identity shall be protected by the Board) to verify compliance with the Board Order and

accepted standards of practice.

(b) Monitoring of status conditions for an impaired practitioner may include, but is not
limited to, practitioner cooperation in providing releases permitting unrestricted access to records
and other information to the extent permitted by law from any treatment facility, other treating
practitioner, support group or other individual/facility involved in the education, treatment,
monitoring or oversight of the practitioner, or maintained by a rehabilitation program for impaired
practitioners. If bodily substance monitoring has been ordered, the practitioner shall fully cooperate
by responding to a demand for breath, blood, urine or other sample in a timely manner and providing
the designated sample.
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NOTICE OF REPORTING PRACTICES OF BOARD

REGARDING DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS
Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:14B-3(3), all orders of the New Jersey State Board of Medical Examiners

are available for public inspection. Should any inquiry be made concerning the status of a licensee, the
inquirer will be informed of the existence of the order and a copy will be provided if requested. All
evidentiary hearings, proceedings on motions or other applications which are conducted as public hearings
and the record, including the transcript and documents marked in evidence, are available for public
inspection, upon request.

Pursuant to 45 CFR Subtitle A 60.8, the Board is obligated to report to the National Practitioners
Data Bank any action relating to a physician which is based on reasons relating to professional competence
or professional conduct: (1) Which revokes or suspends (or otherwise restricts) a license;
(2) Which censures, reprimands or places on probation; (3) Under which a license is surrendered.

Pursuant to 45 CFR Section 61.7, the Board is obligated to report to the Healthcare Integrity and
Protection (HIP) Data Bank, any formal or official actions, such as revocation or suspension of a license (and
the length of any such suspension), reprimand, censure or probation or any other loss of license or the right
to apply for, or renew, a license of the provider, supplier, or practitioner, whether by operation of law,
voluntary surrender, non-renewability, or otherwise, or any other negative action or finding by such federal
or State agency that is publicly available information.

Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:9-19.13, if the Board refuses to issue, suspends, revokes or otherwise places
conditions on a license or permit, it is obligated to notify each licensed health care facility and health
maintenance organization with which a licensee is affiliated and every other board licensee in this state with
whom he or she is directly associated in private medical practice.

In accordance with an agreement with the Federation of State Medical Boards of the United States,
a list of all disciplinary orders are provided to that organization on a monthly basis. Within the month
following entry of an order, a summary of the order will appear on the public agenda for the next monthly
Board meeting and is forwarded to those members of the public requesting a copy. In addition, the same
summary will appear in the minutes of that Board meeting, which are also made available to those requesting
a copy. Within the month following entry of an order, a summary of the order will appear in a Monthly
Disciplinary Action Listing which is made available to those members of the public requesting a copy. On
a periodic basis the Board disseminates to its licensees a newsletter which includes a brief description of all
of the orders entered by the Board. From time to time, the Press Office of the Division of Consumer Affairs
may issue releases including the summaries of the content of public orders.

Nothing herein is intended in any way to limit the Board, the Division or the Attorney General from
disclosing any public document.



CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION TO BE SUBMITTED TO THE STATE BOARD

Any licensee who is the subject of an order of the Board suspending , revoking or otherwise
conditioning the license , shall provide the following information at the time that the order is signed,
if it is entered by consent , or immediately after service of a fully executed order entered after a
hearing. The information required here is necessary for the Board to fulfill its reporting obligations,
but does not become part of the public record:

Name
Social Security Number2:

List the name and address of any and all Health Care Facilities with which you are affiliated:

List the names and addresses of any and all Health Maintenance Organizations with which you are
affiliated:

Provide the names and addresses of every person with whom you are associated in your professional
practice : (You may attach a blank sheet of stationery bearing this information).

2Pursuant to 45 CFR Subtitle A Section 61.7 and 45 CFR Subtitle A Section 60.8, the
Board is required to obtain your Social Security Number and/or federal taxpayer identification
number in order to discharge its responsibility to report adverse actions to the National
Practitioner Data Bank and the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank.


