
STATE OF NEW JERSEY
copy

DEPARTMENT OF LAW & PUBLIC SAFETY
DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS
NEW JERSEY STATE REAL ESTATE
APPRAISERS BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF

Wayne E. Famular, Jr.
License #42R000198600

Administrative Action

FINAL ORDER

OF DISCIPLINE

TO ENGAGE IN,t PRACTICE OF
REAL EST.V ,,,A"'PRAISING IN
TH A'� 11OF NEW JERSEY

This matter was opened to the New Jersey State Real Estate

Appraisers Board (the "Board") upon receipt of information which

the Board has reviewed and upon which the following findings of

fact and conclusions of law are made:

1. Respondent is a State Certified Residential Real Estate

Appraiser in the State of New Jersey, and has been a licensee at

all times relevant hereto.

2. Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:14F-18 and N.J.A.C. 13:40A-5.3,

all licensed and certified real estate appraisers are required to

complete all continuing education requirements established by

"The Real Property Appraiser Qualification and Criteria and

Interpretations of the Criteria" promulgated by the Appraisal

Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation (the "AQB"), and

the AQB requirements are incorporated by reference in the Board's

regulations. For the two year period between January 1, 2008 and

December 31, 2009, the AQB Qualification Criteria mandated that

appraisers complete a minimum of twenty-eight class hours of

approved continuing education.



3. Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:40A-5.4, all licensed and

certified appraisers are required to complete a seven hour

National Update Course on the Uniform Standards of Professional

Appraisal Practice ("USPAP"), or its equivalent, at least once

every 24 months. The AQB Qualification Criteria similarly

mandate that appraisers must successfully complete the 7 hour

USPAP Update Course,,or its equivalent, every two calendar years.

4. Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:40A-5.8, licensees or

certificate holders are required to maintain documentation for at

least four years of continuing education hours completed in order

to verify program attendance and/or activity completion.

5. On or about December 7, 2009, respondent completed and

returned a biennial licensure registration form, for the period

January 1, 2010 through December 31, 2011 to the Board, and

respondent's license was then renewed by the Board through

December 31, 2011.

6. Respondent was asked on the biennial renewal application

whether respondent "completed the continuing education

requirement during the past two years," referring to the biennial

renewal period of January 1, 2008 through December 31, 2009. The

renewal application included "specific instructions" regarding

this question, which read:

As a condition of renewal, licensees are required to
obtain at least 28 credit hours of approved continuing
education for each biennial renewal period subsequent
to licensure/certification or 14 hours of continuing
education if initially licensed or certified in the
first six months of the second year. If initially



licensed or certified during the last six months of the
second year, no continuing education is required. If
you are exempt from this requirement for this renewal
period only, please answer "yes" to this question.
Credits may not be carried over to another renewal
period.

Respondent answered "yes" to the question.

7. Respondent was asked on the biennial renewal form

whether respondent successfully completed the seven hour National

USPAP Update Course, or its equivalent, during the past two

years, referring to the biennial period of January 1, 2008

through December 31, 2009. The renewal application included

"specific instructions" regarding this question, which read:

As a condition of renewal, licensees must successfully
complete the seven-hour National USPAP Update Course,
or its equivalent, at a minimum of every two years.
Equivalency shall be determined through the AQB Course
Approval Program or by an alternate method established
by the AQB.

Respondent answered "yes" to this question.

8. Respondent certified, when submitting the renewal

application, that all of the information on the renewal form was

true and complete to the best of respondent's knowledge, and

acknowledged awareness that if any of the information submitted

was willfully false, respondent would be subject to punishment

and/or disciplinary sanction to include license suspension or

revocation or the imposition of civil penalties as provided by

law.

9. On or about February 19, 2010, the Board commenced a

continuing education audit, asking a random sampling of its



licensees to submit documentation to verify completion of

required continuing education. Respondent was selected for

inclusion within the continuing education audit.

10. On or about February 19, 2010, all licensees selected

for inclusion in the audit were sent a notice, by regular mail,

addressed to the address of record that the licensee maintained

with the Board, advising of the need to supply copies of

documentation maintained to verify continuing education hours

claimed.

11. Respondent notified the Board that he had not completed

any of the continuing education requirements, and requested an

extension of time to complete the courses. He indicated that he

would provide the Board with certificates after he completed the

courses. Respondent failed to follow up and provide the Board

with any certificates.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. Respondent failed to demonstrate, to the satisfaction

of the Board, that respondent completed any hours of continuing

education for the two year period between January 1, 2008 and

December 31, 2009, and failed to demonstrate completion of the

required 7 hour USPAP-Update Course, or its equivalent. The

Board therefore finds respondent in violation of N.J.A.C. 13:40A-

5.3 and 13:40A-5.4, which in turn subjects respondent to

sanctions pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(e) and 45:1-21(h).

2. Based on the above findings and conclusions, the Board



further finds that respondent falsely certified on the renewal

application that all responses to all questions that were asked

on that application were true. By doing so, the Board finds that

respondent engaged in misrepresentation, and is therefore subject

to sanction pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(b).

DISCUSSION

Based on the foregoing findings and conclusions, a

Provisional Order of Discipline was entered on April 8, 2011

provisionally suspending respondent's license to practice real

estate appraising in the State of New Jersey and provisionally

imposing a civil penalty in the amount of $3,500. A second

Provisional Order of Discipline was entered on April 18, 2011

provisionally suspending respondent's license to practice real

estate appraising in the State of New Jersey and provisionally

imposing a civil penalty in the amount of $2,500. It appears

that the first Provisional Order of Discipline, filed on April 8,

2011, was filed in error. Copies of both Provisional Orders were

served upon respondent via regular and certified mail at

re'spondent's address of record. Receipts were signed for both

certified mailings. The Provisional Orders were subject to

finalization by the Board at 5:00 p.m. on the 30th day following

entry unless respondent requested a modification or dismissal of

the stated Findings of Fact or Conclusions of Law by setting

forth in writing any and all reasons why said findings and

conclusions should be modified or dismissed and submitting any



and all documents or other written evidence supporting

respondent's request for consideration and reasons therefor.

In response to the Provisional Order of Discipline,

respondent provided proof of completion of 28 hours of continuing

education, including a 7 hour USPAP update, or its equivalent,

taken during the time period of May 14, 2010 through April 12,

2011. Respondent maintained that he mistakenly thought that the

classes he took to upgrade his license would have fulfilled the

continuing education requirements. The Board reviewed

respondent's submissions and determined that further proceedings

were not necessary and that no material discrepancies had been

raised. The Board was not persuaded that the submitted materials

merited further consideration, as Respondent did not dispute the

findings of fact or conclusions of law. Inasmuch as respondent

provided the information originally requested, the Board

determined that suspension was no longer warranted.

ACCORDINGLY , it is on this Z day of _ ) QyQW\VQ C , 2011

ORDERED that:

1. The Provisional Order of Discipline filed on April 8,

2011 is hereby withdrawn in its entirety.

2. Respondent is hereby assessed a civil penalty in the

aggregate amount of $2,500. Said penalty is an aggregate

penalty, which includes, as applicable (where checked below), a

penalty in the amount of:

xx $1000 for having provided false answers to two
questions on the biennial renewal application (that is, falsely



claiming completion of 28 hours of continuing education credit
and falsely claiming completion of a 7 hour USPAP-Update Course,
or its equivalent); or

$500 for having provided a false answer to one
question on the biennial renewal application (that is, falsely
claiming completion of 28 hours of continuing education credit or
falsely claiming completion of a 7 hour USPAP-Update Course, or
its equivalent);

and/or

xx $1000 for failing to have completed between 22 and 28
hours of required continuing education;

$750 for failing to have completed between 15 and 21
hours of required continuing education;

$500 for failing to have completed between 8 and 14
hours of required continuing education;

$250 for failing to have completed between 1 and 7
hours of required continuing education;

and/or

xx $500 for failing to have completed a 7 hour USPAP-
Update Course, or its equivalent-
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