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This matter was opened to the New Jersey State Real Estate.

Appraisers Board (the "Board") upon receipt of information which

the Board has reviewed and upon which the following findings of

fact and conclusions of law are made:

1. Respondent is a State Certified Residential Real Estate

Appraiser in the State of New Jersey, with license #42RC00248200

issued March 1, 2011 as an upgrade from respondent's State Licensed

Residential Real Estate Appraiser status (license #42RA00421700

null and void as of March 1, 2011). Respondent has been a licensee

at all times relevant hereto.

2. Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:14F-18 and N.J.A.C. 13:40A-5.3,

all licensed and certified real estate appraisers are required to

complete all continuing education requirements established by "The

Real Property Appraiser Qualification and Criteria and

Interpretations of the Criteria" promulgated by the Appraisal

Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation (the "AQB"), and

the AQB requirements are incorporated by reference in the Board's

regulations. For the two year period between January 1, 2008 and



December 31, 2009, the AQB Qualification Criteria mandated that

appraisers complete a minimum of twenty-eight class hours of

approved continuing education.

3. Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:40A-5.4, all licensed and

certified appraisers are required to complete a seven hour National

Update Course on the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal

Practice ("USPAP"), or its equivalent, at least once every 24

months. The AQB Qualification Criteria similarly mandate that

appraisers must successfully complete the 7 hour USPAP Update

Course, or its equivalent, every two calendar years.

4. Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:40A-5.8, licensees or certificate

holders are required to maintain documentation for at least four

years of continuing education hours completed in order to verify

program attendance and/or activity completion.

5. On or about December 30, 2009, respondent completed and

returned a biennial licensure registration form, for the period

January 1, 2010 through December 31, 2011 to the Board, and

respondent's license was then renewed by the Board through December

31, 2011.

6. Respondent was asked on the biennial renewal application

whether respondent "completed the continuing education requirement

during the past two years," referring to the biennial renewal

period of January 1, 2008 through December 31, 2009. The renewal

application included "specific instructions" regarding this

question, which read:



As a condition of renewal, licensees are required to
obtain at least 28 credit hours of approved continuing
education for each biennial renewal period subsequent to
licensure/certification or 14 hours of continuing
education if initially licensed or certified in the first
six months of the second year. If initially licensed or
certified during the last six months of the second year,
no continuing education is required. If you are exempt
from this requirement for this renewal period only,
please answer "yes" to this question. Credits may not be
carried over to another renewal period.

Respondent answered "yes" to the question.

7. Respondent was asked on the biennial renewal form whether

respondent successfully completed the seven hour National USPAP

Update Course, or its equivalent, during the past two years,

referring to the biennial period of January 1, 2008 through

December 31, 2009. The renewal application included "specific

instructions" regarding this question, which read:

As a condition of renewal, licensees must successfully
complete the seven-hour National USPAP Update Course, or
its equivalent, at a minimum of every two years.
Equivalency shall be determined through the AQB Course
Approval Program or by an alternate method established by
the AQB.

Respondent answered "yes" to this question.

8. Respondent certified, when submitting the renewal

application, that all of the information on the renewal form was

true and complete to the best of respondent's knowledge, and

acknowledged awareness that if any of the information submitted was

willfully false, respondent would be subject to punishment and/or

disciplinary sanction to include license suspension or revocation

or the imposition of civil penalties as provided by law.

9. On or about February 19, 2010, the Board commenced a



continuing education audit, asking a random sampling of its

licensees to submit documentation to verify completion of required

continuing education. Respondent was selected for inclusion within

the continuing education audit.

10. On or about February 19, 2010, all licensees selected for

inclusion in the audit were sent a notice, by regular mail,

addressed to the address of record that the licensee maintained

with the Board, advising of the need to supply copies of

documentation maintained to verify continuing education hours

claimed. On or about April 13, 2010, those licensees who failed to

respond to the first notice were sent a second notice by the Board

detailing the need to supply documentation to verify continuing

education claims. The second notice was sent by both certified and

regular mail.

11. In response to the audit, respondent explained that he

had taken a course but respondent failed to provide documentation

of having completed any of the required 28 hours of continuing

education.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. Respondent failed to demonstrate, to the satisfaction of

the Board, completion of the required 28 hours of approved

continuing education or completion of a 7 hour USPAP Update Course,

or its equivalent for the two year period between January 1, 2008

and December 31, 2009. The Board therefore finds respondent in

violation of N.J.A.C. 13:40A-5.3 and 13:40A-5.4 which in turn



subjects respondent to sanctions pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(e)

and 45:1-21(h).

2. Based on the above findings and conclusions, the Board

further finds that respondent falsely certified on the renewal

application that all responses to all questions that were asked on

that application were true. By doing so, the Board finds that

respondent engaged in misrepresentation, and is therefore subject

to sanction pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(b).

DISCUSSION

Based on the foregoing findings and conclusions, a Provisional

Order of Discipline ("POD") was entered on April 18, 2011

provisionally suspending respondent's license to practice real

estate appraising in the State of New Jersey and provisionally

imposing a civil penalty in the amount of $2,500. Copies were

served upon respondent via regular and certified mail at

respondent's address of record. The Provisional Order was subject

to finalization by the Board at 5:00 p.m. on the 30t' day following

entry unless respondent requested a modification or dismissal of

the stated Findings of Fact or Conclusions of Law by setting forth

in writing any and all reasons why said findings and conclusions

should be modified or dismissed and submitting any and all

documents or other written evidence supporting respondent's request

for consideration and reasons therefor.

Respondent replied to the Provisional Order, requesting

dismissal of the Order and stating that he thought he was required



to complete the continuing education over a period of three years,

instead of two years. The Board considered this matter and

determined that no material discrepancies had been raised with

respect to respondent's failure to demonstrate successful

completion of the continuing education requirements, nor had any

discrepancy been raised with respect to respondent having engaged

in misrepresentation on the on-line renewal application. The Board

was not persuaded that respondent's argument warranted modification

of the Order, inasmuch as the continuing education requirements for

licensees have been effect for years and respondent is not a new

licensee. Moreover, respondent has a duty as a licensee to be

aware of Board statutes and regulations. The Board therefore

determined that the Provisional Order should be made final.

ACCORDINGLY, it is on this day of V��,m 2011

ORDERED that:

1. Respondent's license to practice real estate appraising in

the State of New Jersey is hereby suspended until respondent has

furnished proofs of having successfully completed all of the credit

hours of the requisite continuing education for the January 1, 2008

through December 31, 2009 renewal period.

2. Respondent is hereby assessed a civil penalty in the

aggregate amount of $2,500. Said penalty is an aggregate penalty,

which includes a penalty in the amount of $1,000 for having made

false representations when responding to two questions on the

biennial renewal application, a penalty in the amount of $1,000 for



having failed to have demonstrated completion of between 22 and 28

hours of required continuing education during the licensure period

January 1, 2008 through December 31, 2009, and a penalty of $500

for having failed to have demonstrated completion of a seven hour

USPAP Update Course during the licensure period January 1, 2008

through December 31, 2009.

NEW JERSEY STATE REAL
ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD

By:
Denise M. Siegel
Board President


