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This matter was opened to the New Jersey State Real Estate

Appraisers Board (the “Board”) upon receipt of information which
the Board has reviewed and upon which the following findings of
fact and conclusions of law are made:

1. Respondent is a State Certified General Real Estate
Appraiser in the State of New Jersey, and has been a licensée at
all times relevant hereto.

2. Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:14F-18 and N.J.A.C. 13:40A-5.3,
all licensed and certified real estate appraisers are required to
complete all continuing education requirements established by “The
Real Property Appraiser Qualification and Criteria and
Interpretations of the Criteria” promulgated by the Appraisal
Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation (the “AQB”), and
the AQB requirements are incorporated by reference in the Board’s
regulations. For the two vear period between January 1, 2008 and
December 31, 2009, the AQB Qualification Criteria mandated that
appraisers complete a minimum of twenty-eight class hours of

approved continuing education.



3. Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:40A-5.4, all 1licensed and
certified appraisers are required to complete a seven hour National
Update Course on the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal
Practice (“USPAP”), or its equivalent, at least once every 24
months. The AQB Qualification Criteria similarly mandate that
appraisers must successfully complete the 7 hour USPAP Update
Course, or its equivalent, every two calendar years.

4. Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:40A-5.8, licensees or certificate
holders are reqguired to maintain documentation for at least four
years of continuing education hours completed in order to veritfy
program attendance and/or activity completion.

5. On or about December 11, 2009, respondent completed and
returned a biennial licensure registration form, for the period
January 1, 2010 through December 31, 2011 to the Board, and
respondent’s license was then renewed by the Board through December
31, 2011. |

6. Respondent was asked on the biennial renewal application
whether respondent “completed the continuing education requirement
during the past two vyears,” referring to the biennial renewal
period of Janua:y 1, 2008 through December 31, 2009. The renewal
application included ‘“specific instructions” regarding this
gquestion, which read:

As a condition of renewal, licensees are required to

obtain at least 28 credit hours of approved continuing

education for each biennial renewal period subsequent to
licensure/certification or 14 hours of continuing

education if initially licensed or certified in the first
six months of the second year. If initially licensed or



certified during the last six months of the second year,

no continuing education is required. IFf you are exempt

from this requirement for this renewal period only,

please answer “yes” to this question. Credits may not be

carried over to another renewal period.
Respondent answered “yes” to the gquestion.

7. Respondent was asked on the biennial renewal form whether
respondent successfully completed the seven hour National USPAP
Update Course, or its equivalent, during the past two vyears,
referring to the biennial period of January 1, 2008 through
December 31, 2009. The renewal application included “specific
instructions” regarding this question, which read:

As a condition of renewal, licensees must successtully

complete the seven-hour National USPAP Update Course, or

its equivalent, at a minimum of every two years.

Equivalency shall be determined through the AQB Course

Approval Program or by an alternate method established by

the AQB.

Respondent answered “yes” to this question.

8. Respondent certified, when submitting the renewal
application, that all of the information on the renewal form was
true and complete to the best of respondent’s knowledge, and
acknowledged awareness that if any of the information submitted was
willfully false, respondent would be subject to punishment and/or
disciplinary sanction to include license suspension or revocation
or the imposition of civil penalties as provided by law.

9. On or about February 19, 2010, the Board commenced a
continuing education audit, asking a random sampling of its

licensees to submit documentation to verify completion of required

continuing education. Respondent was selected for inclusion within



the continuing education audit.

10. On or about February 19, 2010, all licensees selected for
inclusion in the audit were sent a notice, by regular mail,
addressed to the address of record that the licensee maintained
with the Board, advising of the need to supply copies of
documentation maintained to verify continuing education hours
claimed. On or about April 13, 2010, those licensees who failed to
respond to the first notice were sent a second notice by the Board
detailing the need to supply documentation to verify continuing
education claims. The second notice was sent by both certified and
regular mail.

11. 1In response to the audit, respondent supplied
documentation verifying completion of the seven (7) hour USPAP
Course, or its equivalent, and requested until the end of March
2010 to complete the rest of the continuing education requirements.
No documentation relating to these additional courses was provided
to the BRoard.

CONCLUSIONS OF 1AW

1. Respondent failed to demonstrate, to the satisfaction of
the Board, completion of all of the required 28 hours of approved
continuing education for the two year period between January 1,
2008 and December 31, 2009. The Board therefore finds respondent
in wviolation of N.J.A.C. 13:40A-5.3 which in turn subjects
respondent to sanctions pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(e) and 45:1-

21 (h).



2. Based on the above findings and conclusions, the BRoard
further finds that respondent falsely certified on the renewal
application that all responses to all gquestions that were asked on
that application were ftrue. By doing so, the Board finds that
respondent engaged in misrepresentation, and 1s therefore subject
to sanction pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(b).

DISCUSSION

Based on the foregoing findings and conclusions, a Provisional
Order of Discipline (“POD”) was entered on April 18, 2011
provisionally suspending respondent’s license to practice real
estate appraising in the State of New Jersey and provisionally
imposing a civil penalty in the amount of $1,250. Copies were
served upon respondent via regular and certified mail at
respondent’s address of record. The Provisional Order was subject
to finalization by the Board at 5:00 p.m. on the 30 day following
entry unless respondent requested a modification or dismissal of
the stated Findings of Fact or Conclusions of Law by setting forth
in writing any and all reasons why said fiﬁdings and conclusions
should be modified or dismissed and submitting any and all
documents or other written evidence supporting respondent’s request
for consideration and reasons therefor.

The certified mail was returned as “unclaimed” and the regular
mailing was not returned, therefore, the Board deems service to
have been effected. No response has been received to date.

Respondent may not be allowed to evade process by failing to



respond to the Board. Accordingly, it is determined that further
proceedings are not necessary and that the Provisional Order should

be made final.

.
ACCORDINGLY, it is on this AL day of /UO\)QW\\OQ{‘ , 2011

ORDERED that:

1. Respondent’s license to practice real estate appraising in
the State of New Jersey is hereby suspended.

2. Respondent 1s hereby assessed a civil penalty in the
aggregate amount of $1,250. Said penalty is an aggregate penalty,
which includes a penalty in the amount of:

XX $500 for having provided a false answer to one question
on the biennial renewal application (that is, falsely claiming
completion of 28 hours of continuing education credit or falsely
claiming completion of a 7 hour USPAP-Update Course, or its

equivalent; and

XX $750 for failing to have completed between 15 and 21
hours of required continuing education.
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