STATE OF NEW JERSEY Qz?h
DEPARTMENT OF LAW & PUBLIC SAFE
DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS - @
NEW JERSEY STATE REAL ESTATE

APPRAISERS BOARD

Acting Executnve Director

IN THE MATTER OF : Administrative Action
Patricia J. Chiapperini : FINAIL ORDER
License #42RG00032460 : OF DISCIPLINE

TO ENGAGE IN THE PRACTICE OF
REAL ESTATEIAP?RAISING IN
THE STAﬁguﬁf‘NEw JERSEY
R
7 L -
5% i
}"‘ This matter was opened to the New Jersey State Real Estate

Appraisers Board (the “Board”) upon receipt of information which
the Board has reviewed andlupon which the following findings of
fact and conclusions of law are made:

bl. Respon&ent is a State Certified General Real Estate
Appraiser in the State of New Jersey, and has been a licensee at
all times relevant hereto.

2. Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:14F-18 and N.J.A.C. 13:40A-5.3,
all licensed and certified real estate appraisers are required to
complete all coﬁtinuing education requirements established by “The
Real Property Appraiser anlification and Criteria and
Interpretations of the Criteria” promulgated by the Appraisal
Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation (the “AQB”), and
the AQB requirements are incorporated by reference in the Board’s
regulations. For the two year period between January 1, 2008 and
December 31, 2009, the AQB Qualification Criteria mandated that
appraisers complete a minimum of twenty-eight class hours of

approved continuing education.



3. Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:40A-5.4, all 1licensed and
certified appraisers are required to complete a seven hour National
Update Course on the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal
Practice (“USPAP”), or its equivalent, at least once every 24
months. The AQB Qualification Criteria similarly mandate that
appraisers must successfully complete the 7 hour USPAP Update
Course, or its equivalent, every two calendar years.

4. Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:40A-5.8, liéensees or certificate
holders are required to maintain documentation for at least four
years of continuing education hours completed in order to verify
program attendance and/or activity completion.

5. On or about November 27, 2009, respondent completed and
returned a biennial licensure registration form, for the period
January 1, 2010 through December 31, 2011 to the Board, and
respondent’s license was then renewed by the Board through December
31, 2011.

©. Respondent was asked on the biennial renewal application
whether respondent “completed the continuing‘education requirement
during the past two years,” referring to the biennial renewal
period of January 1, 2008 through December 31, 2009. The renewal
application included ‘“specific instructions” regarding this
question, which read:

As a condition of renewal, licensees are required to

obtain at least 28 credit hours of approved continuing

education for each biennial renewal period subsequent to
licensure/certification or 14 hours of continuing

education if initially licensed or certified in the first
six months of the second year. If initially licensed or



certified during the last six months of the second year,

no continuing education is required. If you are exempt

from this requirement for this renewal period only,

please answer “yes” to this question. Credits may not be

carried over to another renewal period.
Respondent answered “vyes” to the question.

7. Respondent was asked on the biennial renewal form whether
respondent successfully completed the seven hour National USPAP
Update Course, or its equivalent, during the past two vyears,
referring to the biennial period of January 1, 2008 through
December 31, 2009. The renewal application included “specific
instructions” regarding this question, which read:

As a condition of renewal, licensees must successfully

complete the seven-hour National USPAP Update Course, or

its equivalent, at a minimum of every two vyears.

Equivalency shall be determined through the AQB Course

Approval Program or by an alternate method established by

the AQB.

Respondent answered “yes” to this question.

8. Respondent certified, when submitting the renewal
. application, that all of the information on the renewal form was
true and complete to the best of respondent’s knowledge, and
acknowledged awareness that if any of the information submitted was
willfully false, respondent would be subject to punishment and/or
disciplinary sanction to include license suspension or revocation
or the imposition of civil penalties as provided by law.

9. On or about February 19, 2010, the Board commenced a
continuing education audit, asking a random sampling of its

licensees to submit documentation to verify completion of reguired

continuing education. Respondent was selected for inclusion within



the continuing education audit.

10. On or about February 19, 2010, all licensees selected for
inclusion in the audit were sent a notice, by regular mail,
addressed to the address of record that the licensee maintained
with the Board, advising of the need to supply copies of
documentation maintained to verify continuing education hours
claimed. On or about April 13, 2010, those licensees who failed to
respond to the fifst notice were sent a second notice by the Board
detailing the need to supply documentation to verify continuing
education claims. The second notice was sent by both certified and
regular mail.

11. Respondent failed to respond to any of the notices that
were forwarded to respondent regarding the need to supply
documentation verifying completion of required continuing
education.

CONCLUSTIONS OF LAW

1. Respondent’s failure to have responded to any of the
notices that were sent requiring respondent to supply documentation
verifying the claimed completion of required continuing education
constitutes a violation of the Uniform Duty to Cooperate
Regulation, N.J.A.C. 13:45C-1.2, -1.3, which in turn subjects
respondent to sanctions pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(e).

2. By wvirtue of failing to have responded to the two
notices, respondent is deemed to have failed to demonstrate, to the

satisfaction of the Board, the completion of any hours of



continuing education for the two year period between January 1,
2008 and December 31, 2009, and to have failed to demonstrate
completion of the required 7 hour USPAP-Update Course, or its
equivalent. The Board therefore finds respondent in violation of
both N.J.A.C. 13:40A-5.3 and 13:40A~-5.4, which in turn subjects
respondent to sanctions pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(e) and 45:1-
21 (h).

3. Based on the above findings and conclusions, the Board
further finds that respondent falsely certified on the renewal
application that all responses to all questions that were asked on
that application were true. By doing so, the Board finds that
respondent engaged in misrepresentation, and is therefore subject
to sanction pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(b) .

DISCUSSTON

Based on the foregoing fihdings and conclusions, a Provisional
Order of Discipline (“POD") was entered- on  April 8, 2011
provisionally suspending respondent’s license to practice real
estate appraising in the State of New Jersey and provisionally
imposing a civil penalty in the amount of $3,500. Copies were
served ‘upon respondent via regular and certified mail at
respondent’s address of record. The Provisional brder was subject
to finalization by the Board at 5:00 p.m. on the 30* day following
entry unless respondent requested a modification or dismissal of
the stated Findings of Fact or Conclusions of Law by setting forth

in writing any and all reasons why said findings and conclusions



should be modified or dismissed and submitting any and all
documents or other written evidence supporting respondent’s request
for consideration and reasons therefor.

The certified mail was returned to sender as “unclaimed” and
the regular mailing was not returned, therefore, the Board deems
service to have been effected. No response has been received to
date. Respondent may not be allowed to evade process by failing to
respond to the Board. Accordingly, it is determined that fgrther
proceedings are not necessary and that the Provisional Order should

be made final.

ACCORDINGLY, it is on this ﬁday of Movemboe , 2011

ORDERED that:

1. Respondent’s license to practice real estate appraising in
the State of New Jersey is hereby suspended.

2. Respondent is hereby assessed a civil penalty ih the
aggregate amount of $3,500. Said penalty is an aggregate penalty,
which includes a penalty in the amount of $1,000 for having made
false representations when responding to two questions on the
biennial renewal application, a penalty in the amount of $1,000 for
having violated the Uniform Duty to Cooperate Regulation, a penalty
in the amount of $1,000 for having failed to have demonstrated
completion of any of the 28 hours of required continuing education
'during the licensure period January 1, 2008 through December 31,
.2009, and a penalty of $500 for having failed to have demonstrated

completion of a seven hour USPAP Update Course during the licensure



period January 1, 2008 through December 31, 2009.
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