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STATE OF NEW JERSEY ,
DEPARTMENT OF LAW & PUBLIC SAFETY
DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS

ARKLES F. NEW JERSEY STATE REAL ESTATE
Acting Executive Director - APPRAISERS BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF : Administrative Action

STEPHANIE A, : FINAL ORDER

License Qﬁm 00395600 : OF DISCIPLINE
g‘ﬁ& :

TO EN@AGE IN THE PQACTICE OF
REAL ESTATE APPRAISING IN
THE STATE._OF NEW JERSEY

This matter was opened to the New Jersey State Real Estate
Appraisers Board (the “Board”) upon receipt of information which
the Board has reviewed and upon which the following findings of
fact and conclusions of law are made:

1. Respondent is a State Licensed Real Estate Appraiser in
‘the State of New Jersey, and has been a licensee at all times
relevant hereto.

2. Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:14F-18 and N.J.A.C. 13:40A-5.3,
all licensed and certified real estate appraisers are required to
comp.iete all continuing education requirements established by
“The Real Property Appraiser Qualification and Criteria and
Interpretations of the Criteria” promulgated by the Appraisal
Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation (the “AQB”), and
the AQB requirements are incorporated by reference in the Board’s
regulations. For the two year period between January 1, 2008 and
December 31, 2009, the AQB Qualification Criteria mandated that
appraisers complete a minimum of twenty-eight class hours of

approved continuing education.



3. Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:40A~5.4, all licensed and
certified appraisers are required to complete a seven hQur
National Update Course on the Uniform Standards of Professional
Appraisal Practice (“USPAP”), or its equivalent, at least once
every 24 months. The AQB Qualification Criteria similarly
mandate that appraisers must successfully complete the 7 hour
USPAP Update Course, or its equivalent, every two calendar years.

4. Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:40A-5.8, licensees or
certificate holders are required to maintain documentation for at
least four years of continuing education hours completed in order
to verify program attendance and/or activity completion.

5. On or about December 14, 2009, respondent completed and
submitted a biennial licensure registration form, for the period
January 1, 2010 through December 31, 2011 to the Board, and
respondent’s license was then renewed by the Board through
December 31, 2011.

N

6. Respondent was asked on the biennial renewal application
whether respondent “completed the continuing education
requirement during the past two years.” The renewal application
included “specific instructions” regarding this question, which
read:

As a condition of renewal, licensees are reguired to

obtain at least 28 credit hours of approved continuing

education for each biennial renewal period subsequent

to licensure/certification or 14 hours of continuing

education if initially licensed or certified in the

first six months of the second vear. If initially

licensed or certified during the last six months of the
second year, no continuing education is required. If



you are exempt from this requirement for this renewal

period only, please answer “yes” to this question.

Credits may not be carried over to another renewal

period.

Respondent answered “yes” to the question.

7. Respondent was asked on the biennial renewal form
whether respondent successfully completed the seven hour National
USPAP Update Course, or its equivalent, during the past two
years. The renewal application included “specific instructions”
regarding this question, which read:

As a condition of renewal, licensees must successfully

complete the seven-hour National USPAP Update Course,

or its equivalent, at a minimum of every two years.

Equivalency shall be determined through the AQB Course

Approval Program or by an alternate method established

by the AQB.

Respondent answered “yes” to this question.

8. Respondent certified, when submitting the renewal
application, that all of the information on the renewal form was
true and complete to the best of respondent’s knowledge, and
acknowledged awareness that if any of the information submitted
was willfully false, respondent would be subject to punishment
and/or disciplinary sanction to include license suspension or
revocation or the imposition of civil penalties as provided by
law.

9. After January 1, 2010, the Board commenced a continuing
education audit, asking a random sampling of its licensees to

submit documentation to verify completion of required continuing

education. Respondent was selected for inclusion within the



continuing education audit.

10. On or about February 19, 2010, all licensees selected
for inclusion in the audit were sent a notice, by regular mail,
addressed to the address of record that the licensee maintained
with the Board, advising of the need to supply copies of
documentation maintained to verify continuing education hours
claimed.

11. Respondent replied to the audit, but did not supply any
documentation verifying completion of any hours of continuing
education or completion of a 7 hour USPAP Update Course, or its
equivalent, within the two yvear time period of January 1, 2008
through December 31, 2009. Respondent maintained that she had
been i1l during that time and submitted evidence of completion
for 20 hours of Appraisal Subject Matter Electives, which count
towards qualifying education towards certification and do not
count towards continuing education. Respondent also submitted
evidence of taking the 2010-2011 National USPAP Update Equivalent

course on April 4, 2010.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
Reépondent failed to demonstrate, to the satisfaction of the
Board, completion of the required 28 hours of approved continuing
education for the two year period between January 1, 2008 and
December 31, 2009. The Board therefore finds respondent in
violation of N.J.A.C. 13:40A-5.3, which in turn subjects

respondent to sanctions pursuént to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(e) and 45:1-



21 (h).

Respondent failed to demonstrate, to the satisfaction of the
Board, completion of a 7 hour USPAP Update Course, or its
~equivalent, for the two year period between January 1, 2008 and
December 31, 2009. The Board therefore finds respondent in
violation of N.J.A.C. 13:40A-5.4, which in turn subjects
respondent to sanctions pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(e) and 45:1-
21 (h).

Based on the above findings and conclusions, the Board
further finds that respondent falsely certified on the renewal
application that all responses to all questions that were asked
on that application were true. By doing so, the Board finds that
respondent engaged in dishonesty, and is therefore subject to
sanction pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(b) .

Based on the foregoing findings and conclusions, a
Provisional Order of Discipline provisionally suspending
respondent’s license to practice and imposing a civil penalty was
entered on April 18, 2011. Copies were served upon respondent
via regular and certified mail. The Provisional Order was
subject to finalization by the Board at 5:00 p.m. on the
thirtieth day following entry unless respondent requested a
modification or dismissal of the stated findings of fact and
conclusions of law by setting forth in writing any and all
reasons why said findings and conclusions should be modified or

dismissed and submitting any and all documents Or other written



evidence supporting respondent’s request for consideration and
reasons therefor.

Respondent responded to the Provisional Order of Discipline
and provided evidence of completion of 14 hours of continuing
education taken after the 2008-2009 period. Specifically,
Respondent submitted certificates of completion of “Risky
Business: Ways to Minimize Your Liability” for 7 hours on 6/4/10
and “Mortgage Fraud: Protect Yourself” for 7 hours on 11/2/10.
Respondent maintained that she has a disease that affects her
brain function and that she could not remember whether she had
completed the required continuing education when she filled out
her renewal application.

The Board reviewed Respondent’s submissions and determined
that further proceedings were not necessary regarding the
continuing education issue and that no material discrepancies had
been raised with respect to the continuing education. Respondent
acknowledged that she had failed to complete any continuing
education during the 2008 - 2009 period and submitted evidence of
completing 21 hours of continuing education, including a USPAP
update course, to be applied toward the deficiency from 2008 -
2009. Based upon respondent’s illness, the Board considered the
20 hours of qualifying education towards certification and
decided to recognize respondent’s efforts. As such, the Board
determined that suspension was no longer warranted.

WHEREFORE, it is on this | day of N\(NQ,\/\ , 2011




ORDERED that:

1. Respondent is hereby assessed a civil penalty in the
aggregate amount of one thousand dollars ($1000). said penalty
13 an aggregate penalty, which includes, as applicable (where
checked below), a penalty in the amount of:

X $1000 for having provided false answers to two
questions on the biennial renewal application (that is, falsely
claiming completion of 28 hours of continuing education credit

and falsely claiming completion of a 7 hour USPAP update course,
or its equivalent.

NEW JERSEY STATE REAL
ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD

By: ;
\ Denise M. SZegel
Board President



