
STATE OF NEW JERSEY

DEPARTMENT OF LAW & PUBLIC SAFETY

DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS
NEW JERSEY BOARD OF REAL

ESTATE APPRAISERS

IN THE MATTER OF THE LICENSE OF

Administrative Action
THOMAS N. ALTIERI

License # 42RA00401500

TO ENGAGE IN THE PRACTICE OF

REAL ESTATE APPRAISING IN

THE STATE OF NEW JERSEY

FINAL ORDER

OF DISCIPLINE

This matter was opened to the New Jersey Board of Real

Estate Appraisers (the "Board") upon receipt of information

which the Board has reviewed and upon which the following

findings of fact and conclusions of law are made:

1. Thomas N. Altieri ("Respondent") is a State Licensed

Real Estate Appraiser in the State of New Jersey and has been a

licensee at all times relevant hereto.

2. Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:14F-18 and N.J.A.C. 13:40A-

5.3, all licensed and certified real estate appraisers are

required to complete all continuing education requirements

established by "The Real Property Appraiser Qualification

Criteria and Interpretations of the Criteria" promulgated by the

Appraisal Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation (the

"AQB") . The AQB requirements are incorporated by reference in
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the Board's regulations. For the two year period between

January 1, 2010 and December 31, 2011, the AQB Qualification

Criteria mandated that appraisers complete a minimum of twenty-

eight (28) class hours of approved continuing education.

3. Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:40A-5.4, all licensed and

certified appraisers are required to complete a seven hour

National Update Course on the Uniform Standards of Professional

Appraisal Practice ("USPAP"), or its equivalent, at least once

every 24 months. The AQB Qualification Criteria similarly

mandate that appraisers must successfully complete the seven

hour USPAP Update Course, or its equivalent, every two calendar

years.

4. Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:40A-5.8, licensees or

certificate holders are required to maintain documentation for

at least four years of continuing education hours completed in

order to verify program attendance and/or activity completion.

5. On or about January 30, 2012, Respondent completed and

submitted an online biennial license renewal form, for the

period January 1, 2012 through December 31, 2013, and

Respondent's license was then renewed through December 31, 2013.

6. Respondent was asked on the biennial renewal

application whether Respondent "completed the continuing
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education requirement during the past two years," referring to

the biennial renewal period of January 1, 2010 through December

31, 2011. The renewal application included specific

instructions regarding this question, which read:

As a condition of renewal, licensees are required to
obtain at least 28 credit hours of approved continuing
education for each biennial renewal period subsequent
to licensure/certification or 14 hours of continuing
education if initially licensed or certified in the
first six months of the second year. If initially
licensed or certified during the last six months of
the second year, no continuing education is required.
If you are exempt from this requirement for this
renewal period only, please answer "yes" to this
question. Credits may not be carried over to another
renewal period.

Respondent answered " yes " to the question.

7. Respondent was asked on the biennial renewal form

whether Respondent successfully completed the seven hour

National USPAP Update Course, or its equivalent, during the past

two years, referring to the biennial period of January 1, 2010

through December 31, 2011. The renewal application included

specific instructions regarding this question, which read:

As a condition of renewal, licensees must successfully
complete the seven-hour National USPAP Update Course,
or its equivalent, at a minimum of every two years.
Equivalency shall be determined through the AQB Course
Approval Program or by an alternate method established
by the AQB.

Respondent answered "ri mes" to this question.
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S. Respondent certified, when submitting the renewal

application, that all of the information on the renewal form was

true and complete to the best of Respondent's knowledge, and

acknowledged awareness that if any of the information submitted

was willfully false, Respondent would be subject to punishment

and/or disciplinary sanction to include license suspension or

revocation or the imposition of civil penalties as provided by

law.

9. After January 1, 2012, the Board commenced a continuing

education audit, asking a random sampling of its licensees to

submit documentation to verify completion of required continuing

education. Respondent was selected for inclusion within the

continuing education audit.

10. On or about February 22, 2012, all licensees selected

for inclusion in the audit were sent a notice, by regular mail,

addressed to the address of record that the licensee maintained

with the Board, advising of the need to supply copies of

documentation maintained to verify continuing education hours

claimed.

11. On or about May 25, 2012, those licensees who failed

to respond to the first notice were sent a second notice by the

Board detailing the need to supply documentation to verify
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continuing education claims. The second notice was sent both

certified and regular mail. Although the certified mail was

returned as "unclaimed," the regular mail was not returned.

12. Respondent failed to reply to any of the notices that

were forwarded regarding the need to supply documentation

verifying completion of continuing education.

13. In or about January 2012, the Board received

information indicating that Respondent may have violated various

USPAP standards in his appraisal report concerning property

located at 155 North 10th Street, Paterson City, New Jersey

(report date 2/15/07; effective date of appraisal update

5/23/07) ("Paterson report"). On or about January 18, 2012, the

Board sent Respondent a letter to his address of record in Toms

River, via certified and regular mail, seeking information about

the Paterson report. The certified mail was returned as

unclaimed. The regular mail was not returned. The Board

received no reply.

14. On or about April 17, 2012, the Board sent Respondent

a second notice requesting information about the Paterson

report. The second notice was sent certified mail and regular

mail. The Board received a signed receipt confirming delivery

of the certified mail. The regular mail was not returned.
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Respondent failed to reply.

15. On or about July 9, 2012, the Board sent Respondent a

third notice requesting information about the Paterson report.

The third notice was sent certified and regular mail to

Respondent's address of record in Toms River. Although the

certified mail was returned as unclaimed, the regular mail was

not returned. Respondent failed to reply.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Respondent's failures to reply to the notices that were

sent requiring Respondent to supply documentation verifying the

completion of continuing education, as well as the requests for

information concerning the Paterson report, constitute

violations of the Uniform Duty to Cooperate regulation, N.J.A.C.

13:45C-1.2 and 1.3, which in turn subjects Respondent to

sanctions pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(e).

By virtue of having failed to respond to the notice,

Respondent is deemed to have failed to demonstrate, to the

satisfaction of the Board, that Respondent completed any hours

of continuing education and the seven hour USPAP Update course

for the biennial period of January 1, 2010 - December 31, 2011.

The Board therefore finds Respondent in violation of N.J.A.C.

13:40A-5.3 and 5.4, which in turn subjects Respondent to
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sanctions pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(e) and (h).

Respondent failed to demonstrate, to the satisfaction of

the Board, completion of a seven hour USPAP Update Course, or

its equivalent, for the two year period between January 1, 2010

and December 31, 2011. The Board therefore finds Respondent in

violation of N.J.A.C. 13:40A-5.4, which in turn subjects

Respondent to sanctions pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(e) and

45:1-21(h) .

As a license holder, Respondent has the duty to maintain a

current and accurate address with the Board pursuant to N.J.A.C.

13:40A-7.10(a). Service to Respondent's address of record shall

be deemed adequate notice within the intendment of N.J.A.C.

13: 4 OA- 7. 10 (b)

Based on the above findings and conclusions, the Board

further finds that Respondent falsely certified on the renewal

application that all responses to all questions that were asked

on that application were true. By doing so, the Board finds

that Respondent engaged in misrepresentation, and is therefore

subject to sanction pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(b).

Based on the foregoing findings and conclusions, a

Provisional Order of Discipline suspending Respondent's license

to practice and imposing a four thousand five hundred dollar
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($4,500) civil penalty was entered on December 20, 2012 and a

copy was forwarded to Respondent's address of record by means of

both regular and certified mail. The Board received a signed

green receipt confirming delivery of the certified mail. The

regular mail was not returned. The Provisional Order was

subject to finalization by the Board at 5:00 p.m. on the

thirtieth day following entry unless Respondent requested a

modification or dismissal of the stated Findings of Fact or

Conclusions of Law by submitting a written request for

modification or dismissal setting forth in writing any and all

reasons why said findings and conclusions should be modified or

dismissed and submitting any and all documents or other written

evidence supporting Respondent's request for consideration and

reasons therefor.

Although the record reflects that the Provisional Order was

served upon Respondent, no response has been received to date.

Licensees may not evade process by failing to respond.

Accordingly, the Board considered the matter, determined that

further proceedings were not necessary and that the Provisional

Order should be make final.

WHEREFORE , it is on this day of ��YjC uC� , 2013

ORDERED that:
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1. Respondent's license to practice real estate

appraising in the State of New Jersey is suspended until

Respondent provides the information requested concerning the

Paterson report and proof of completion of twenty-eight (28)

hours of continuing education to be applied to the January 1,

2010 - December 31, 2011 biennial period. Continuing education

hours taken currently and applied to cure the deficiency from

the previous biennial period shall not be used to satisfy the

requirements of the current biennial period. Respondent shall

complete an additional twenty-eight (28) hours of continuing

education prior to December 31, 2013 to satisfy the requirements

of the current biennial period.

2. Respondent is hereby assessed a civil penalty in the

amount of four thousand five hundred dollars ($4,500). Said

penalty is an aggregate penalty, which includes a penalty in the

amount of one thousand dollars ($1,000) for violating the

Uniform Duty to Cooperate Regulation with respect to the

Paterson report; one thousand dollars ($1,000) for violating the

Uniform Duty to Cooperate Regulation with respect to the

continuing education audit; one thousand dollars ($1,000) for

having provided false answers to two questions on the biennial

renewal application (that is, falsely claiming completion of
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twenty-eight (28) hours of continuing education credit and

falsely claiming completion of a seven hour USPAP Update Course,

or its equivalent); one thousand dollars ($1,000) for failing to

complete twenty-eight (28) hours of .required continuing

education; and five hundred dollars ($500) for failing to

complete a seven hour USPAP Update Course, or its equivalent.

Payment shall be made by certified check or money order

payable to the State of New Jersey, delivered or mailed to

Charles Kirk, Executive Director, State Board of Real Estate

Appraisers, P.O. Box 45032, Newark, New Jersey 07101. Payment

shall be made no later than 15 days after the date of filing of

any Final Order of Discipline which may be filed subsequent to

this Provisional Order of Discipline. In the event Respondent

fails to make a timely payment, a certificate of debt shall be

filed in accordance with N.J.S.A. 45:1-24 and the Board may

bring such other proceedings as authorized by law.

3. Respondent shall refrain from practicing as a real

estate appraiser and shall not represent himself as a State

licensed or certified real estate appraiser until such time as

Respondent's license is reinstated. Any practice in this State

prior to reinstatement shall constitute grounds for a charge of

unlicensed practice.
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4. The Board reserves the right to take disciplinary

action based upon any facts adduced regarding the Paterson

appraisal listed above or any other new information.

NEW JERSEY STATE REAL

John A. McCann
Board President
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