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This matter was openedto the New Jersey State Board of Nursing ("the Board")

upon receipt of informationwhich the Board has reviewed andupon which the following

findings of fact and conclusions of law are made:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Respondent is a registered professional nurse in theState of New Jersey,

and has been a licensee at all times relevant hereto.

2. On or about December1, 2011, Respondent was asked to provide

documentation of continuing education completed during the renewal period of June 1,

2009 to May 31, 2011.

3. Respondent indicated that she was unable to provide documentation of

continuing education, althoughN.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3 obligates Respondent to complete a

minimum of thirty(30) contact hours of continuing education in order to renew her

nursing license, and to retain documentation of the continuing education for a minimum

of four years.
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3. Respondent certified when she renewed her nursing license on April 25,

2011 that she would have completed the required continuing education credits for the

June 1, 2009 - May 31, 2011 renewal period by May 31, 2011.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Respondent's failure to demonstrate timely completion of the continuing

education obligation for the June 1, 2009 - May 31, 2011 renewal cycle constitutes a

violation of N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3, and subjects respondent to sanctions pursuant to

N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(h).

Respondent's certification that she completed, or would complete, the required

continuing education by May 31, 2011 constitutes misrepresentation or deception within

the intendment of N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(b).

Based on the foregoing findings and conclusions, a Provisional Order of

Discipline suspending Respondent's license and imposing a reprimand and a two

hundred and fifty dollar ($250) civil penalty was entered on January 10, 2013.Copies

were served upon Respondent via regular and certified mail. The Provisional Order

was subject to finalization by the Board at 5:00 p.m. on the thirtieth day following entry

unless Respondent requested a modification or dismissal of the stated findings of fact

and conclusions of law by setting forth in writing any and all reasons why said findings

and conclusions should be modified or dismissed and submitting any and all documents

or other written evidence supporting respondent's request for consideration and reasons

therefor.

Respondent timely replied to the Provisional Order of Discipline by providing

certificates of completion of 14.2 hours of continuing education completed in the June 1,
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2007 - May 31, 2009 biennial renewal period; 19 hours of continuing education

completed in the June 1, 2009 - May 31, 2011 biennial renewal period; and 32 hours

completed in the current biennial renewal period of June 1, 2011- May 31, 2013. For

the biennial period of June 1, 2009 - May 31, 2011 which is at issue, Respondent also

provided certificates of completion for five "in-service" courses, a copy of her Basic Life

Support (BLS) card, and a certificate indicating that she was Orthopaedic Nurse

Certified. While these latter documents do not provide evidence of continuing education

pursuant to the Board's regulations found atN.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3, the Board finds that

Respondent could have reasonably believed that she had satisfied the requirements

when she renewed her license and answered that she had completed the required

continuing education.

.The Board reviewed Respondent's submissions and determined that further

proceedings were not necessary. The Board was not persuaded that the submitted

materials merited further consideration. Inasmuch as Respondent cured the eleven

hour deficiency in her continuing education for the June 1, 2009 - May 31, 2011

biennial period, the Board determined that suspension was no longer warranted. The

Board further decided to dismiss the reprimand for engaging in misrepresentation or

deception on her renewal application. However, the Board determined that Respondent

failed to demonstrate, to the satisfaction of the Board, completion of thirty hours of

continuing education within the June 1, 2009- May 31, 2011 biennial period. As such,

the Board determined that a two hundred and fifty ($250) civil penalty was warranted.

ACCORDINGLY, IT IS on this day of

ORDERED that:
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1. A two hundred and fitly dollar ($250) civil penalty is hereby imposed for

the failure to comply with N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3. Payment shall be made by certified check

or money order payable to "State of New Jersey," delivered or mailed to George Hebert,

Executive Director, State Board of Nursing, P.O. Box 45010, Newark, New Jersey

07101. Payment shall be made no later than 15 days after the date of filing of this Final

Order of Discipline. In the event Respondent fails to make a timely payment, a

certificate of debt shall be filed in accordance withN.J.S.A. 45:1-24 and the Board may

bring such other proceedings as authorized by law.

2. Eleven of the thirty-two hours of continuing education completed by

Respondent after May 31, 2011 shall be applied to cure the deficiency of the previous

biennial renewal period and shall not be used to satisfy the requirements of the current

biennial renewal period. Respondent shall complete an additional nine hours of

continuing education prior to May 31, 2013 to satisfy the requirements of the current

biennial renewal period.

NEW JERSEY STATE BOARD OF NURSING

By:
Patricia Ann Murphy, PhD, APN
Board Presid ent
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