
STATE OF NEW JERSEY
DEPARTMENT OF LAW & PUBLIC SAFETY
DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS
NEW JERSEY BOARD OF REAL

ESTATE APPRAISERS

IN THE MATTER OF THE LICENSE OF

DAVID HOFFER

License # 42R000160300

TO ENGAGE IN THE PRACTICE OF

REAL ESTATE APPRAISING IN

THE STATE OF NEW JERSEY

Administrative Action

FINAL ORDER

OF DISCIPLINE

This matter was opened to the New Jersey Board of Real

Estate Appraisers (the "Board") upon receipt of information

which the Board has reviewed and upon which the following

findings of fact and conclusions of law are made:

1. David Hoffer ("Respondent") is a State Certified

Residential Real Estate Appraiser in the State of New Jersey and

has been a licensee at all times relevant hereto.

2. Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:14F-18 and N.J.A.C. 13:40A-

5.3, all licensed and certified real estate appraisers are

required to complete all continuing education requirements

established by "The Real Property Appraiser Qualification

Criteria and Interpretations of the Criteria" promulgated by the

Appraisal Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation (the

"AQB"). The AQB requirements are incorporated by reference in
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the Board's regulations. For the two year period between

January 1, 2010 and December 31, 2011, the AQB Qualification

Criteria mandated that appraisers complete a minimum of twenty-

eight (28) class hours of approved continuing education.

3. Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:40A-5.4, all licensed and

certified appraisers are required to complete a seven hour

National Update Course on the Uniform Standards of Professional

Appraisal Practice ("USPAP"), or its equivalent, at least once

every 24 months. The AQB Qualification Criteria similarly

mandate that appraisers must successfully complete the seven

hour USPAP Update Course, or its equivalent, every two calendar

years.

4. Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:40A-5.8, licensees or

certificate holders are required to maintain documentation for

at least four years of continuing education hours completed in

order to verify program attendance and/or activity completion.

5. On or about November 23, 2011, Respondent completed

and submitted an online biennial license renewal form, for the

period January 1, 2012 through December 31, 2013, and

Respondent's license was then renewed through December 31, 2013.

6. Respondent was asked on the biennial renewal

application whether Respondent "completed the continuing
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education requirement during the past two years," referring to

the biennial renewal period of January 1, 2010 through December

31, 2011. The renewal application included specific

instructions regarding this question, which read:

As a condition of renewal, licensees are required to
obtain at least 28 credit hours of approved continuing
education for each biennial renewal period subsequent
to licensure/certification or 14 hours of continuing
education if initially licensed or certified in the
first six months of the second year. If initially
licensed or certified during the last six months of
the second year, no continuing education is required.
If you are exempt from this requirement for this
renewal period only, please answer "yes" to this
question. Credits may not be carried over to another

renewal period.

Respondent answered "yes" to the question.

7. Respondent was asked on the biennial renewal form

whether Respondent successfully completed the seven hour

National USPAP Update Course, or its equivalent, during the past

two years, referring to the biennial period of January 1, 2010

through December 31, 2011. The renewal application included

specific instructions regarding this question, which read:

As a condition of renewal, licensees must successfully

complete the seven-hour National USPAP Update Course,
or its equivalent, at a minimum of every two years.
Equivalency shall be determined through the AQB Course
Approval Program or by an alternate method established

by the AQB.

Respondent answered "yes" to this question.
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8. Respondent certified, when submitting the renewal

application, that all of the information on the renewal form was

true and complete to the best of Respondent's knowledge, and

acknowledged awareness that if any of the information submitted

was willfully false, Respondent would be subject to punishment

and/or disciplinary sanction to include license suspension or

revocation or the imposition of civil penalties as provided by

law.

9. After January 1, 2012, the Board commenced a continuing

education audit, asking a random sampling of its licensees to

submit documentation to verify completion of required continuing

education. Respondent was selected for inclusion within the

continuing education audit.

10. On or about February 22, 2012, all licensees selected

for inclusion in the audit were sent a notice, by regular mail,

addressed to the address of record that the licensee maintained

with the Board, advising of the need to supply copies of

documentation maintained to verify continuing education hours

claimed.

11. In response to the audit, Respondent supplied

documentation verifying Respondent's completion of seven (7)

hours of approved continuing education, including completion of
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a seven hour USPAP Update Course, or its equivalent. In

addition, Respondent certified on the continuing education

listing form that he completed an additional thirty-five (35)

hours of continuing education. Respondent provided some

documentation (emails and registration confirmation) pertaining

to training courses that he listed on the continuing education

form. However, the Board cannot determine from the documents

provided whether the courses listed were approved as continuing

education, whether Respondent completed the courses, the date of

completion, or the amount of hours awarded as continuing

education credit.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Respondent failed to demonstrate, to the satisfaction of

the Board, completion of the required twenty-eight (28) hours of

approved continuing education for the two year period between

January 1, 2010 and December 31, 2011. While Respondent was

able to verify seven (7) hours of approved continuing education,

Respondent failed to demonstrate completion of twenty-one (21)

hours of required continuing education. The Board therefore

found Respondent in violation of N.J.A.C. 13:40A-5.3, which in

turn subjected Respondent to sanctions pursuant to N.J.S.A.

45:1-21(e) and 45:1-21(h).
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Based on the above findings and conclusions, the Board

further found that Respondent falsely certified on the renewal

application that all responses to all questions that were asked

on that application were true. By doing so, the Board found

that Respondent engaged in misrepresentation, and was therefore

subject to sanction pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(b).

DISCUSSION

Based on the foregoing findings and conclusions, a

Provisional Order of Discipline suspending Respondent's license

and imposing a one thousand five hundred dollar ($1,500) civil

penalty was entered on December 20, 2012. Copies were served

upon Respondent via regular and certified mail. The Provisional

Order was subject to finalization by the Board at 5:00 p.m. on

the thirtieth day following entry unless Respondent requested a

modification or dismissal of the stated findings of fact and

conclusions of law by setting forth in writing any and all

reasons why said findings and conclusions should be modified or

dismissed and submitting any and all documents or other written

evidence supporting respondent's request for consideration and

reasons therefor.

Respondent replied to the Provisional Order by providing

documentation that he registered and attended the same webinar
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"CompCruncher Fast Track Training" twice - once in September

2010 and again in October 2010. Respondent maintained that each

webinar was worth sixteen hours of continuing education, even

though it was the same webinar. Additionally, Respondent

maintained that one of the prerequisites to the webinar

training, a statistics and regression test, was worth three

hours of continuing education. Respondent provided a copy of

the August 2011 CompCruncer Training Guide, which is presumably

a later version of the training guide that was utilized in the

2010 webinars that Respondent attended. Respondent also

provided an email from the provider confirming that Respondent

attended the webinars.

Respondent, however, failed to provide a certificate of

completion indicating that the webinars or the prerequisite

statistics and regression test were approved as continuing

education. A telephone call to the provider on behalf of the

Board revealed that the webinars were not approved as continuing

education, nor was the prerequisite statistics and regression

test. The provider further revealed that attendance at an on-

site live classroom CompCruncher Training would qualify as

sixteen hours of continuing education and that a certificate of

completion would have been issued for classroom attendance.
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The Board reviewed Respondent's submissions and determined

that further proceedings were not necessary. The Board was not

persuaded that the submitted materials qualified as thirty-five

hours of continuing education, as Respondent had certified on

the continuing education listing form. Despite the provider

indicating that the webinars did not qualify as continuing

education, the Board has considered the materials submitted and

determined that the webinar is consistent with the purpose of

continuing education for real estate appraisers. The Board has

therefore decided to award eight hours of continuing education

credit to Respondent. The Board will not, however, award credit

for taking the same webinar twice, one month apart. Nor will

the Board grant separate credit for a prerequisite (the

statistics and regression test) which is considered one of the

required four sections of the training, according to the program

materials submitted by Respondent. As such, Respondent has

demonstrated fifteen hours of continuing education completed

during the January 1, 2010 - December 31, 2011 biennial period:

seven hours for the USPAP Update Course completed on December

28, 2011 and eight hours for the CompCruncher webinar.

WHEREFORE , it is on this day of __`_ 2013

ORDERED that:
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1. Respondent's certification to practice real estate

appraising in the State of New Jersey is hereby suspended until

Respondent provides proof of completion of thirteen (13) hours

of continuing education to be applied to the January 1, 2010 -

December 31, 2011 biennial period. Continuing education hours

taken after December 31, 2011 and applied to cure the deficiency

from the previous biennial period shall not be used to satisfy

the requirements of the current biennial period. Respondent

shall complete an additional twenty-eight (28) hours of

continuing education prior to December 31, 2013 to satisfy the

requirements of the current biennial period.

2. Respondent is hereby assessed a civil penalty in the

amount of one thousand dollars ($1,000). Said penalty is an

aggregate penalty, which includes a penalty in the amount of

five hundred dollars ($500) for having provided a false answer

to one question on the biennial renewal application (that is,

falsely claiming completion of twenty eight (28) hours of

continuing education credit); and five hundred dollars ($500)

for failing to complete thirteen (13) hours of required

continuing education.

Payment shall be made by certified check or money order

payable to the State of New Jersey, delivered or mailed to
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Charles Kirk, Executive Director, State Board of Real Estate

Appraisers, P.O. Box 45032, Newark, New Jersey 07101. Payment

shall be made no later than 15 days after the date of filing of

this Final Order of Discipline. In the event Respondent fails

to make a timely payment, a certificate of debt shall be filed

in accordance with N.J.S.A. 45:1-24 and the Board may bring such

other proceedings as authorized by law.

3. Respondent shall refrain from practicing as a real

estate appraiser and shall not represent himself as a State

licensed or certified real estate appraiser until such time as

Respondent's license is reinstated. Any practice in this State

prior to reinstatement shall constitute grounds for a charge of

unlicensed practice.

NEW JERSEY STATE REAL

TATE APPRAISE

By:
John A. McCann

Board President

lu-
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