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This matter was opened to the New Jersey State Board of Nursing ("the Board")

upon receipt of information which the Board has reviewed and upon which the following

findings of fact and conclusions of law are made:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Jill K. Reed ("Respondent") is a registered professional nurse in the State

of New Jersey, and has been a licensee at all times relevant hereto.

2. On or about May 27, 2011, Respondent completed and submitted an

online biennial license renewal for the period of June 1, 2011 through May 31, 2013.

The online renewal contains a question which asks "Will you have completed the

required continuing education credits by May 31, 2011," referring to the biennial renewal

period of June 1, 2009 through May 31, 2011. Respondent answered "yes" to the

question, and certified that answer to be true by submitting the online application.

3. On or about May 25, 2012, the Board sent Respondent a Demand for

Written Statement Under Oath (Demand) requesting information from Respondent. The
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Demand requested that Respondent provide answers to ten questions, including a

question which asked if she had completed the required continuing education courses,

and requested that she provide proof of successful completion of all credits earned

during the renewal period of June 1, 2009 through May 31, 2011.

4. As to the question concerning continuing education, Respondent attached

a certificate indicating that she was an Oncology Certified Nurse, which does not equate

to continuing education. She also attached proof of having completed one hour of

continuing education during the biennial period of June 1, 2009 - May 31, 2011 and 3.5

hours during the June 1, 2007 - May 31, 2009 biennial cycle. Lastly, Respondent

attached certificates of completion for 1.5 hours of continuing education, but the dates

are incomplete and it is unknown when Respondent actually completed those hours.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3, a nurse shall complete a minimum of 30 hours of

continuing education per biennial period. Falsification of any information submitted on

the renewal application may result in penalties and/or suspension or revocation of the

license. N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3(a). Additionally, a registered professional nurse or licensed

practical nurse shall maintain continuing education compliance documentation for a

period of four years after completion of the hours and shall submit such documentation

to the Board upon request. N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3(f).

Respondent failed to demonstrate, to the satisfaction of the Board, completion of

the required thirty hours of continuing education for the biennial period of June 1, 2009

through May 31, 2011. Respondent failed to demonstrate completion of twenty nine

hours of continuing education during that time frame. The Board therefore finds
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Respondent in violation of N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3(b), which the Board deems professional

misconduct within the intendment of N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(e) and also constitutes a violation

or failure to comply with a regulation administered by the Board within in the intendment

of N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(h).

Further, the Board finds that Respondent's submission of her 2011 renewal,

wherein she answered affirmatively that she had completed, or would complete, the

required continuing education, and subsequent failure to provide documentation of

completion, constitutes the use or employment of dishonesty, deception, or

misrepresentation within the intendment of N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(b). See also N.J.A.C.

13:37-5.3.

Based on the foregoing findings and conclusions, a Provisional Order of

Discipline suspending Respondent's license and imposing a reprimand and a two

hundred fifty dollar ($250) civil penalty was entered on April 17, 2013 and a copy was

forwarded to Respondent's last known address by means of both regular and certified

mail. The Provisional Order was subject to finalization by the Board at 5:00 p.m. on the

thirtieth day following entry unless Respondent requested a modification or dismissal of

the stated Findings of Fact or Conclusions of Law by submitting a written request for

modification or dismissal setting forth in writing any and all reasons why said findings

and conclusions should be modified or dismissed and submitting any and all documents

or other written evidence supporting Respondent's request for consideration and

reasons therefor.

Although the United States Postal Service track and confirm system reflects that

the Provisional Order sent via certified mail was delivered to Respondent on April 20,
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2013, no response has been received to date. Additionally, the regular mailing has not

been returned. The Board deems service effected and has not received any response.

Accordingly, the Board considered the matter, determined that further proceedings were

not necessary and that the Provisional Order should be make final.

ACCORDINGLY, IT IS on this day of , 2013,

ORDERED that:

1. Respondent's license to practice nursing is suspended until she

demonstrates that she is current with all continuing education requirements, including

completion of twenty-nine hours of continuing education to cure the deficiency in her

continuing education requirements for the June 1, 2009 - May 31, 2011 biennial period,

and thirty hours of continuing education for the June 1, 2011 - May 31, 2013 biennial

period. Hours of continuing education taken in the current biennial period may be

retroactively applied to cure the deficiencies of previous periods, but those same credits

may not apply towards satisfaction of the current period.

2. Respondent is reprimanded for her violations ofN.J.S.A. 45:1-21 (b).

3. A civil penalty in the amount of two hundred and fifty dollars ($250) is

imposed upon Respondent for her violation of N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(e) and (h). Payment

shall be made by certified check or money order payable to "State of New Jersey,"

delivered or mailed to George Hebert, Executive Director, State Board of Nursing, P.O.

Box 45010, Newark, New Jersey 07101. Payment shall be made no later than 15 days

after the date of filing of this Final Order of Discipline. In the event Respondent fails to

make a timely payment, a certificate of debt shall be filed in accordance with N.J.S.A.

45:1-24 and the Board may bring such other proceedings as authorized by law.
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4. Respondent shall refrain from practicing as a nurse and shall not

represent herself as a Registered Professional Nurse until such time as her license is

reinstated. Any practice in this State prior to reinstatement shall constitute grounds for

a charge of unlicensed practice.

NEW JERSEY STATE BOARD OF NURSING

Patricia Murphy, PhD, APN
Board President
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