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N.J. BOARD OF NURSING STATE OF NEW JERSEY

DEPARTMENT OF LAW & PUBLIC SAFETY
DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS
STATE BOARD OF NURSING

IN THE MATTER OF THE LICENSE OF
Administrative Action
RYANN M. FRAME, RN A :
License No. 26NR12137000 : FINAL ORDER
OF DISCIPLINE
TO PRACTICE NURSING
IN THE STATE OF NEW JERSEY

This matter was opened to the New Jersey State Board of
Nursing (the “Board”) upon receipt of information which the
Board has reviewed and upon which the following findings of fact
and conclusions of law are made:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Ryann M. Frame (“Respondent”) is licensed as a
registered professional nurse in the State of New Jersey and has
been a licensee at all relevant times.

2. On or about March 29, 2011, Respondent completed her
biehnial license renewal online for the period of June 1, 2011 -
May 31, 2013. The online renewal contains a gquestion which asks
“Will you have completed the required continuing education
credits by May 31, 2011?"” Respondent answered “yes” and
certified that answer to be true by submitting the online

application.



3. On or about December 7, 2011 the Board sent Respondent
a letter requesting information from Respondent. The letter
requested that Respondent provide certified responses to ten
(10) questions, including question 3 which asks “Have you taken
continuing education courses within the last three (3) years? If
ves, please provide proof of all credits earned during your last
renewal period of 6/1/09 to 5/31/11.”

4. On or about December 27, 2011, the Board received
Respondent’s certified answers to the ten questions. In
response to the Continuing Education question, Respondent
provided a list of her continuing education units from September
8, 2008 through September 2011, with corresponding certificates
of completion. Based upon these submissions, Respondent
completed 21 continuing education units in the 06/01/09 -
05/31/11 biennial period and an additional 15 units towards the
current biennial period of 06/01/11 - 05/31/13. Respondent
maintained that she was required to take continuing education
for her employment, but that the cycles of her employer’s
evaluation and that of her nursing license biennial renewal did
not match up.’ Respondent’s continuing education meets her
employer’s requirements.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3, a nurse shall complete a

minimum of 30 hours of continuing education per biennial period.
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Falsification of any information submitted on the renewal
application may result in penalties and/or suspension or
revocation of the license. N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3(a).

Additionally, a registered professional nurse or licensed
practical nurse shall waintain continuing education compliance
documentation for a period of four years after completion of the
hours and shall submit such documentation to the Board upon
request. N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3(f).

Respondent completed only 21 hours during the appropriate
time frame of 6/1/09 - 5/31/11. Thereafter, however, Respondent
completed an additional 15 hours. Respondent may apply 9 of
those 15 hours toward the deficiency in her last renewal cycle.
The 9 hours applied to the 6/1/09 - 5/31/11 biennial cycle may
not be used to satisfy the requirements of the current biennial
cycle of 6/1/11 - 5/31/13.

Respondent’s failure to complete 30 hours of continuing
education during the 6/1/09 - 5/31/11 biennial period
constitutes a violation of N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3, which the Board
deems professional misconduct within the intendment of N.J.S.A.
45:1-21(e) and also constitutes a violation or failure to comply
with a regulation administered by the Board within in the
intendment of N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(h). Further, the Board finds
that Respondent’s submission of her 2011 renewal, wherein she

answered affirmatively that she had completed, or would



complete, the required continuing education, when she did not
complete the required continuing education, constitutes the use
or employment of dishonesty, deception, or misrepresentation
within the intendment of N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(b). See also,
N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3.

Based on the foregoing findings and conclusions, a Provisional
Order of Discipline was entered on May 15, 2013, provisionally
imposing a public reprimand and a $250.00 civil penalty. A copy of
the Order was served upon respondent by certified and regular mail
at her address of record. The Provisional Order was subject to
finalization by the Board at 5:00 p.m. on the 30" business day
following entry unless respondent requested a modification or
dismissal of the stated Findings of Fact or Conclusions of Law by
submitting a written request for modification or dismissal setting
forth in writihg any and all reasons why said findings and
conclusions should be modified or dismissed and submitting any and
all documents or other written evidence supporting respondent’s
request for consideration and reasons therefor

Respondent replied to the Provisional Order, via her attorney,
who maintained that respondent had earned excess continuing
education credits during the 2007-2009 licensing cycle, making her
eligible for carryover credits. Ms. Frame’s counsel also maintained
that respondent relied upon her employer to keep track of her

continuing education credits, and therefore reasonably believed
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that she had completed all required continuing education credits
when she renewed her nursing license in 2011. However, resgpondent
was unable to document any excess continuing education for the
2007-2009 renewal period, since she was only able to document
15.25 hours for that time frame. The Board found that respondent
knew or should have known, when she checked “yes” in response to
the question on her 2011 renewal application as to whether she
would have timely completed continuing education for the 2009-2011
licensing period, that she was not providing accurate information:
the guestion should have prompted Ms. Frame to review the relevant
documentation, which would have revealed to her that she had not
satisfied the requirements of N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3. Accordingly, the
Board determined that additional proceedings were not necessary,

and the Provisional Order should be made final.

ACCORDINGLY, IT IS on this 7' day of September, 2013,

ORDERED that:

1. A civil penalty in the amount of two hundred fifty
dollars ($250.00) is hereby imposed upon Respondent for the
violation of N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3. Payment shall be made by
certified check or money order payable to State of New Jersey,
delivered to George Hebert, Executive Director, State of Board
of Nursing, P.O. Box 45010, Newark, New Jersey 07101. Payment
shall be made no later than fifteen (15) days after the entry of

any Final Order of Discipline in this matter. In the event



Respondent fails to make a timely payment, a certificate of debt
shall be filed in accordance with N.J.S.A. 45:1-24 and the Board
may bring such other proceedings as authorized by law.
2. Respondent is hereby reprimanded for her violations of
N.J.8.A. 45:1-21 (b), (e), and (h).
NEW JERSEY STATE BOARD OF NURSING

By: @M QD/W//

Patricia Murpﬁﬁ{ PhD, APN
Board President




