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License No. 26NO07947600 FINAL ORDER

OF DISCIPLINE
TO PRACTICE NURSING

IN THE STATE OF NEW JERSEY

This matter was opened to the New Jersey State Board of

Nursing (the "Board") upon receipt of information which the

Board has reviewed and upon which the following findings of fact

and conclusions of law are made:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Mary E. Sprague ("Respondent") is licensed as a

registered professional nurse in the State of New Jersey and has

been a licensee at all relevant times.

2. On or about April 7, 2011, Respondent completed an

online biennial license renewal application which asked "Will you

have completed the required continuing education credits by May.

31, 2011," referring to the thirty hours of continuing education

required during the June 1, 2009 - May 31, 2011 biennial renewal
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period. Respondent answered "yes" and certified that answer to

be true by submitting the online application.

3. On or about March 6, 2013, the Board sent Respondent a

Demand for Written Statement Under oath seeking information,

including all certificates of completion of continuing education

credits earned during the June 1, 2009 to May 31, 2011 biennial

renewal period.

4. Respondent replied and attached certificates of

completion indicating that she had completed 27.92 hours of

continuing education during the June 1, 2011 - May 31, 2013

biennial period, but failed to provide any certificates of

completion for continuing education completed during the

requested period of June 1, 2009 - May 31, 2011. Additionally,

Respondent included some certificates which failed to state that

the classes were approved/accredited as continuing education for

nurses.

5. On or about April 4, 2013, Respondent completed an

online biennial license renewal application which asked "Will you

have completed the required continuing education credits by May

31, 2013," referring to the thirty hours of continuing education

required during the June 1, 2011 - May 31, 2013 biennial renewal

period. Respondent answered "yes" and certified that answer to

be true by submitting the online application.
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3, a nurse shall complete a

minimum of 30 hours of continuing education per biennial period.

Falsification of any information submitted on the renewal

application may result in penalties and/or suspension or

revocation of the license. N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3(a). Additionally,

a registered professional nurse or licensed practical nurse

shall maintain continuing education compliance documentation for

a period of four years after completion of the hours and shall

submit such documentation to the Board upon request. N.J.A.C.

13:37-5.3(f) .

Respondent failed to demonstrate, to the satisfaction of

the Board, that Respondent completed the required continuing

education credits for the June 1, 2009 - May 31, 2011 biennial

renewal period. Respondent's failure to complete 30 hours of

continuing education during the June 1, 2009 - May 31, 2011

biennial period constitutes a violation of N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3,

which the Board deems professional misconduct within the

intendment of N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(e) and also constitutes a

violation or failure to comply with a regulation administered by

the Board within in the intendment of N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(h).

Further, the Board finds that Respondent's submission of her 2011
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renewal, wherein she answered affirmatively that she had

completed, or would complete, the required continuing education,

when she did not complete the required continuing education,

constitutes the use or employment of dishonesty, deception, or

misrepresentation within the intendment of N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(b).

See also N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3.

Based on the foregoing findings and conclusions, a

Provisional Order of Discipline was entered on September 12,

2013, provisionally suspending respondent's nursing license, and

imposing a reprimand and a $250.00 civil penalty. A copy of the

Order was served upon respondent by certified and regular mail

at her address of record. The Provisional Order was subject to

finalization by the Board at 5:00 p.m. on the 30th business day

following entry unless respondent requested a modification or

dismissal of the stated Findings of Fact or Conclusions of Law

by submitting a written request for modification or dismissal

setting forth in writing any and all reasons why said findings

and conclusions should be modified or dismissed and submitting

any and all documents or other written evidence supporting

respondent's request for consideration and reasons therefor.

Ms. Sprague responded to the Provisional Order, furnishing

documentation of having completed sufficient continuing

education to satisfy both the 2009-2011 and 2011-2013 continuing
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education requirements. Accordingly, the Board determined that

suspension of Ms. Sprague's nursing license is no longer

applicable. However, the Board further determined that as

respondent had not documented completion of any contact hours of

continuing education during the 2009-2011 renewal period,

imposition of the reprimand for misrepresentation on her 2011

renewal application and a $250.00 civil penalty for failure to

timely complete continuing education for the 2009-2011 renewal

period was appropriate.

ACCORDINGLY , IT IS on this day of

ORDERED that:

F- i��lta Y 2014,

1. Continuing education completed after May 31, 2013 and

applied to cure any deficiency of previous biennial periods

shall not be used to satisfy the requirements of the current

biennial period.

2. A civil penalty in the amount of two hundred and fifty

dollars ($250) is hereby imposed upon Respondent for failing to

timely complete her continuing education requirements. Payment

shall be made by certified check or money order payable to "State

of New Jersey," delivered to George Hebert, Executive Director,

State of Board of Nursing, P.O. Box 45010, Newark, New Jersey

07101. Payment shall be made no later than fifteen (15) days
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after the entry of this Final Order of Discipline. In the event

Respondent fails to make a timely payment, a certificate of debt

shall be filed in accordance with N.J.S.A. 45:1-24 and the Board

may bring such other proceedings as authorized by law.

3. Respondent is hereby reprimanded for her violation of

N.J.S.A. 45:1-21 (b).

NEW JERSEY STATE BOARD OF NURSING

By:

/ t 2-- � -/- ��' P-/- D /'al x/

Patricia Murphy, PhD, APN

Board President
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