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This matter was opened to the New Jersey State Board of Nursing ("the Board")

upon receipt of information which the Board has reviewed and upon which the following

findings of fact and conclusions of law are made:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Lillian T. Ellis (Respondent) is a licensed practical nurse in the State of

New Jersey, and has been a licensee at all times relevant hereto.

2. On or about July 25, 3013, a letter of inquiry was sent to Respondent's

address of record with the Board, asking Respondent to supply certificates of

completion for all continuing education completed in the last three years.

3. Respondent documented completion of 30 contact hours of continuing

education, all completed on November 25, 2013.

4. Respondent indicated on her renewal application submitted on May 29,

2012 that she would have timely completed all required continuing education required

for the June 1, 2010 - May 31, 2012 biennial period by May 31, 2012.



CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Respondent's failure to timely complete required continuing education for the

June 1, 20-10 - May 31, 2012 biennial period constitutes a violation ofN.J.A.C. 13:37-

5.3, subjecting respondent to sanctions pursuant toN.J.S.A. 45:1-21(h) (violation of a

regulation administered by the Board).

Respondent's indication on her 2012 renewal application that she would have

timely completed all required continuing education for the June 1, 2010 - May 31, 2012

biennial period by May 31, 2012 constitutes misrepresentation within the intendment of

N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(b).

Based on the foregoing findings and conclusions, a Provisional Order of

Discipline was entered on April 7, 2014 seeking a two hundred and fifty dollar ($250)

civil penalty and a reprimand. Copies were served upon Respondent via regular and

certified mail. The Provisional Order was subject to-finalization by the Board at 5:00

p.m. on the thirtieth day following entry unless Respondent requested a modification or

dismissal of the stated findings of fact and conclusions of law by setting forth in writing

any and all reasons why said findings and conclusions should be modified or dismissed

and submitting any and all documents or other written evidence supporting respondent's

request for consideration and reasons therefor.

Respondent timely replied to the Provisional Order of Discipline. Respondent

maintained that in 2012, she worked for a facility that offered monthly classes and she

thought that her continuing education was "accounted for" by taking those classes.

Respondent maintains that she was confused, but has learned that she needs to

complete thirty hours of continuing education (as opposed to in-service training classes)
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within each biennial period and that she needs to maintain documentation of completion

for four years so that she can show proof when needed.

The Board- reviewed Respondent's submissions and determined that further

proceedings were not necessary and that no material discrepancies had been raised.

The Board was not persuaded that the submitted materials merited further

consideration, as Respondent did not dispute the findings of fact or conclusions of law.

1hhACCORDINGLY, IT IS on this __U_ day of , 2014,

ORDERED that:

1. A public reprimand is hereby imposed upon Respondent for the violation

of N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(b).

2. A two hundred and fifty dollar ($250) civil- penalty is hereby imposed upon

Respondent for the violation of N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3, failure to timely complete required

continuing education. Payment shall be made by certified check or money order

payable to "State of New Jersey," delivered or mailed to George Hebert, Executive

Director, State Board of Nursing, P.O. Box 45010, Newark, New Jersey 07101.

Payment shall be made no later than 15 days after the date of filing of this Final Order

of Discipline. In the event Respondent fails to make a timely payment, a certificate of

debt shall be filed in accordance withN.J.S.A. 45:1-24 and the Board may bring such

other proceedings as authorized by law.

3. Respondent may not utilize the continuing education completed on

November 25, 2013 in satisfaction of her June 1, 2012 - May 31, 2014 continuing

education obligation, as it has already been attributed to her June 1, 2010 - May 31,

2012 continuing education obligation. Besides the 30 hours of continuing education
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completed in November 2013, Respondent shall be prepared to demonstrate

completion of an additional 30 hours to satisfy the June 1, 2012 - May 31, 2014 period

and an additiona-!-30 hours to satisfy the June 1, 2014 -- May 31, 2016 period.

NEW JERSEY STATE BOARD OF NURSING

By:
PatriciaAnn MurOy"PhD, APN
Board President
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