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N.J. BOARD OF NURSING

IN THE MATTER OF THE LICENSE OF

STATE OF NEW JERSEY

DEPARTMENT OF LAW & PUBLIC SAFETY

DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS

STATE BOARD OF NURSING

Administrative Action

SHERRELL TAYLOR, L.P.N.
License No . 26NP04910400 FINAL ORDER

OF DISCIPLINE
TO PRACTICE NURSING

IN THE STATE OF NEW JERSEY

This matter was opened to the New Jersey State Board of

Nursing (the "Board") upon receipt of information which the Board

has reviewed and upon which the following findings of fact and

conclusions of law are made :

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Sherrell Taylor ("Respondent") is licensed as a licensed

practical nurse in the State of New Jersey and has been a licensee

at all relevant times.

2. On or around May 2, 2013, Respondent completed an online

biennial license renewal application which asked "Will you have

completed the required continuing education credits by May 31,

2013," referring to the thirty hours of continuing education

required during the June 1, 2011 - May 31, 2013 biennial period.
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Respondent answered "yes" and certified that answer to be true by

submitting the online application.

4. On or around September 9, 2013, the Board sent Respondent

a demand for written statement requesting certain information from

Respondent including certificates of completion of all credits

earned during the previous three years.

5. Respondent replied, but failed to include any

certificates of completion of continuing education.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3, a nurse shall complete a

minimum of 30 hours of continuing education per biennial period.

Falsification of any information submitted on the renewal

application may result in penalties and/or suspension or revocation

of the license. N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3(a). Additionally, a registered

professional nurse or licensed practical nurse shall maintain

continuing education compliance documentation for a period of four

years after completion of the hours and shall submit such

documentation to the Board upon request. N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3(f).

Respondent failed to demonstrate, to the satisfaction of the

Board, that Respondent completed any continuing education required

for the June 1, 2011 - May 31, 2013 biennial renewal period.

Respondent's failure to complete 30 hours of continuing education
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during the June 1, 2011 - May 31, 2013 biennial period constitutes

a violation of N.J .A.C. 13:37-5.3, which the Board deems

professional misconduct within the intendment of N.J.S.A. 45:1-

21(e) and also constitutes a violation or failure to comply with a

regulation administered by the Board within in the intendment of

N.J.S .A. 45:1-21(h).

Further, the Board finds that Respondent's submission of her

2013 renewal, wherein she answered affirmatively that she had

completed, or would complete, the required continuing education,

when she did not complete the required continuing education,

constitutes the use or employment of dishonesty, deception, or

misrepresentation within the intendment of N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(b).

Based on the foregoing findings and conclusions, a Provisional

Order of Discipline was entered on March 17, 2014, provisionally

suspending respondent's nursing license, and imposing a reprimand

and a $250.00 civil penalty. A copy of the order was served upon

respondent by certified and regular mail at her address of record.

The Provisional Order was subject to finalization by the Board at

5:00 p.m. on the 30th business day following entry unless respondent

requested a modification or dismissal of the stated Findings of

Fact or Conclusions of Law by submitting a written request for

modification or dismissal setting forth in writing any and all
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reasons why said findings and conclusions should be modified or

dismissed and submitting any and all documents or other written

evidence supporting respondent's request for consideration and

reasons therefor.

Respondent replied to the Provisional Order, and submitted

documentation of 30 contact hours of valid nursing continuing

education, all belatedly completed on March 21, 2014. Accordingly,

the Board determined that suspension was no longer applicable.

However, as this continuing education was submitted to make up for

the obligatory continuing education for the 2011-2013 licensing

cycle, the Board further determined that the civil penalty for

failure to timely complete continuing education, and the reprimand

for misrepresentation as to the completion of required continuing

education on the 2013 renewal application, should be imposed upon

finalization of the Provisional Order.

ACCORDINGLY, IT IS on this day of 06-TUo e Y- , 2014,

ORDERED that:

1. Respondent is hereby reprimanded for her violation of

N.J.S.A. 45:1-21 (b).

2. A civil penalty in the amount of two hundred and fifty

dollars ($250) is hereby imposed upon Respondent for failing to

timely complete her continuing education requirements. Payment
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shall be made by certified check or money order payable to "State

of New Jersey," delivered to George Hebert, Executive Director,

State of Board of Nursing, P.O. Box 45010, Newark, New Jersey

07101. Payment shall be made no later than fifteen (15) days after

the entry this order. In the event Respondent fails to make a

timely payment, a certificate of debt shall be filed in accordance

with N.J. S .A. 45:1-24 and the Board may bring such other

proceedings as authorized by law.

NEW JERSEY STATE BOARD OF NURSING

By: / iii.,
atricia Murphy ,, OhD/jAPN

Board President
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