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STATE OF NEW JERSEY

DEPARTMENT OF LAW & PUBLIC SAFETY
DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS
STATE BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS

IN THE MATTER OF THE
SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION

OF THE LICENSE OF : ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION
SURENDER GORUKANTI, M.D. : INTERIM
LICENSE NO.: 25MA09431000 : CONSENT ORDER

TO PRACTICE MEDICINE AND
SURGERY IN THE STATE OF NEW
JERSEY

This matter was opened to the State Board of Medical
Examiners {(“Board”) upon receipt of information that on March
25, 2014, Respondent Surender Gorukanti, M.D. pled gqguilty to a
one-count Information charging him with using the mail and a
facility in interstate commerce to facilitate the carrying on of
commercial bribery by accepting bribes in connection with
referrals of laboratory testing services in violation of the

Travel Act, Title 18, United States Code, Section 1952(a) (3) in
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the U.S. District Court for the District of New Jersey.

Respondent admitted to receiving $1,000 per month in
exchange for referrals of Medicare patients to Biodiagnostic
Laboratory Services, LLC, for blood specimen testing from
January 2012 to March 2013. Respondent consented to a forfeiture
money judgment in the amount of $14,000.

The parties being desirous of resolving this matter on an
interim basis, and the Board, being satisfied that entry of the
within Order obviates the need for formal proceedings, and being
further satisfied that good cause exists to support entry of the

within Order,

IT IS, therefore, on this 18 day of November , 2014,

ORDERED and AGREED that:

1. The license of Surender Gorukanti, M.D. is hereby is
hereby voluntarily surrendered to be deemed a temporary
suspension pending the final resolution of all criminal charges
against him and further Order of the Board, effective
immediately.

2. Respondent shall immediately return his original New
Jersey medical license and CDS registration to the New Jersey
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State Board of Medical Examiners, P.O. Box 183, Trenton, New

Jersey 08625-0183.

3. Respondent shall comply with the attached “Directives
Applicable to Any Medical Board Licensee Who is Disciplined or
Whose Surrender of Licensure Has Been Accepted,” which are
incorporated herein by reference.

4. Failure to comply with any provision of this Order will
result in subsequent disciplinary proceedings for failure to comply
with an Order of the Board.

5. The parties hereby stipulate that entry of this Order
is without prejudice to further action, investigation or
restrictions upon reinstatement, by this Board, the Attorney
General, the Drug Control Unit, the Director of the Division of
Consumexr Affairs or other law enforcement entities resulting

from Respondents’ conduct prior to entry of this Order.

NEW JERSEY STATE
BOARD OF MEDICAL EX

By:
Sté€whrt A% i p
President
I have read and understood Consent is hereby given
the within Order and agree to as to the form and-entxy.
be boynd by its terms. of this Order. GEEQ
Surender Gorukanti, M.D. Svetlana Ros, Esq.

Attorney for Respondent



DIRECTIVES APPLICABLE TO ANY MEDICAL BOARD LICENSEE
WHO IS DISCIPLINED OR WHOSE SURRENDER OF LICENSURE
HAS BEEN ACCEPTED

APPROVED BY THE BOARD ON MAY 10, 2000

All licensees who are the subject of a disciplinary order of the Board are required to provide
the information required on the Addendum to these Directives. The information provided
will be maintained separately and will not be part of the public document filed with the
Board. Failure to provide the information required may result in further disciplinary action
for failing to cooperate with the Board, as required by N.J.A.C. 13:45C-1 et seq.
Paragraphs 1 through 4 below shall apply when a license is suspended or revoked or
permanently surrendered, with or without prejudice. Paragraph 5 applies to licensees who
are the subject of an order which, while permitting continued practice, contains a probation
or monitoring requirement.

1. Document Return and Agency Notification

The licensee shall promptly forward to the Board office at Post Office Box 183, 140 East
Front Street, 2nd floor, Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0183, the original license, current
biennial registration and, if applicable, the original CDS registration. In addition, if the
licensee holds a Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) registration, he or she shall promptly
advise the DEA of the licensure action. (With respect to suspensions of a finite term, at
the conclusion of the term, the licensee may contact the Board office for the return of the
documents previously surrendered to the Board. In addition, at the conclusion of the term,
the licensee should contact the DEA to advise of the resumption of practice and to
ascertain the impact of that change upon his/her DEA registration.)

2. Practice Cessation

The licensee shall cease and desist from engaging in the practice of medicine in this State.
This prohibition not only bars a licensee from rendering professional services, but also from
providing an opinion as to professional practice or its application, or representing
him/herself as being eligible to practice. (Although the licensee need not affirmatively
advise patients or others of the revocation, suspension or surrender, the licensee must
truthfully disclose his/her licensure status in response to inquiry.) The disciplined licensee
is also prohibited from occupying, sharing or using office space in which another licensee
provides health care services. The disciplined licensee may contract for, accept payment
from another licensee for or rent at fair market value office premises and/or equipment.

In no case may the disciplined licensee authorize, allow or condone the use of his/her
provider number by any health care practice or any other licensee or health care provider.

(In situations where the licensee has been suspended for less than one year, the licensee
may accept payment from another professional who is using his/her office during the
period that the licensee is suspended, for the payment of salaries for office staff employed
at the time of the Board action.)



A licensee whose license has been revoked, suspended for one (1) year or more or
permanently surrendered must remove signs and take affirmative action to stop
advertisements by which his/her eligibility to practice is represented. The licensee must
also take steps to remove his/her name from professional listings, telephone directories,
professional stationery, or billings. If the licensee's name is utilized in a group practice

title, it shall be deleted. Prescription pads bearing the licensee's name shall be destroyed.

A destruction report form obtained from the Office of Drug Control (973-504-6558) must
be filed. If no other licensee is providing services at the location, all medications must be
removed and returned to the manufacturer, if possible, destroyed or safeguarded. (In
situations where a license has been suspended for less than one year, prescription pads
and medications need not be destroyed but must be secured in a locked place for
safekeeping.)

3. Practice Income Prohibitions/Divestiture of Equity Interest in Professional
Service Corporations and Limited Liability Companies

A licensee shall not charge, receive or share in any fee for professional services rendered
by him/herself or others while barred from engaging in the professional practice. The
licensee may be compensated for the reasonable value of services lawfully rendered and
disbursements incurred on a patient's behalf prior to the effective date of the Board action.

A licensee who is a shareholder in a professional service corporation organized to engage
in the professional practice, whose license is revoked, surrendered or suspended for a
term of one (1) year or more shall be deemed to be disqualified from the practice within the
meaning of the Professional Service Corporation Act. (N.J.S.A. 14A:17-11). Adisqualified
licensee shall divest him/herself of all financial interest in the professional service
corporation pursuant to N.J.S.A. 14A:17-13(c). A licensee who is a member of a limited
liability company organized pursuant to N.J.S.A. 42:1-44, shall divest him/herself of all
financial interest. Such divestiture shall occur within 90 days following the the entry of the
Order rendering the licensee disqualified to participate in the applicable form of ownership.
Upon divestiture, a licensee shall forward to the Board a copy of documentation forwarded
to the Secretary of State, Commercial Reporting Division, demonstrating that the interest
has been terminated. If the licensee is the sole shareholder in a professional service
corporation, the corporation must be dissolved within 90 days of the licensee's
disqualification.

4, Medical Records

If, as a result of the Board's action, a practice is closed or transferred to another location,
the licensee shall ensure that during the three (3) month period following the effective date
of the disciplinary order, a message will be delivered to patients calling the former office
premises, advising where records may be obtained. The message should inform patients
of the names and telephone numbers of the licensee (or his/her attorney) assuming
custody of the records. The same information shall also be disseminated by means of a
notice to be published at least once per month for three (3) months in a newspaper of



general circulation in the geographic vicinity in which the practice was conducted. At the
end of the three month period, the licensee shall file with the Board the name and
telephone number of the contact person who will have access to medical records of former
patients. Any change in that individual or his/her telephone number shall be promptly
reported to the Board. When a patient or his/her representative requests a copy of his/her
medical record or asks that record be forwarded to another health care provider, the
licensee shall promptly provide the record without charge to the patient.

5. Probation/Monitoring Conditions

With respect to any licensee who is the subject of any Order imposing a probation or
monitoring requirement or a stay of an active suspension, in whole or in part, which is
conditioned upon compliance with a probation or monitoring requirement, the licensee shall
fully cooperate with the Board and its designated representatives, including the
Enforcement Bureau of the Division of Consumer Affairs, in ongoing monitoring of the
licensee's status and practice. Such monitoring shall be at the expense of the disciplined
practitioner.

(@)  Monitoring of practice conditions may include, but is not limited to, inspection
of the professional premises and equipment, and Inspection and copying of patient records
(confidentiality of patient identity shall be protected by the Board) to verify compliance with
the Board Order and accepted standards of practice.

(b) Monitoring of status conditions for an impaired practitioner may include, but
is not limited to, practitioner cooperation in providing releases permitting unrestricted
access to records and other information to the extent permitted by law from any treatment
facility, other treating practitioner, support group or other individual/facility involved in the
education, treatment, monitoring or oversight of the practitioner, or maintained by a
rehabilitation program for impaired practitioners. If bodily substance monitoring has been
ordered, the practitioner shall fully cooperate by responding to a demand for breath, blood,
urine or other sample in a timely manner and providing the designated sample.



NOTICE OF REPORTING PRACTICES OF BOARD
REGARDING DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS

Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:14B-3(3), all orders of the New Jersey State Board of Medical Examiners are
available for public inspection. Should any inquiry be made concerning the status of a licensee, the
inquirer will be informed of the existence of the order and a copy will be provided if requested. All
evidentiary hearings, proceedings on motions or other applications which are conducted as public
hearings and the record, including the transcript and documents marked in evidence, are available for
public inspection, upon request.

Pursuant to 45 CFR Subtitle A 60.8, the Board is obligated to report to the National Practitioners Data
Bank any action relating to a physician which is based on reasons relating to professional competence
or professional conduct;

(1 Which revokes or suspends (or otherwise restricts) a license,
(2) Which censures, reprimands or places on probation,
3) Under which a license is surrendered.

Pursuant to 45 CFR Section 61.7, the Board is obligated to report to the Healthcare Integrity and
Protection (HIP) Data Bank, any formal or official actions, such as revocation or suspension of a
license(and the length of any such suspension), reprimand, censure or probation or any other loss of
flicense or the right to apply for, or renew, a license of the provider, supplier, or practitioner, whether by
operation of law, voluntary surrender, non-renewability, or otherwise, or any other negative action or
finding by such Federal or State agency that is publicly available information.

Pursuant to N.J.5.A.45:9-19.13, if the Board refuses to issue, suspends, revokes or otherwise places
conditions on a license or permit, it is obligated to notify each licensed health care facility and health
maintenance organization with which a licensee is affiliated and every other board licensee in this state
with whom he or she is directly associated in private medical practice.

In accordance with an agreement with the Federation of State Medical Boards of the United States, a
list of all disciplinary orders are provided to that organization on a monthly basis.

Within the month following entry of an order, a summary of the order will appear on the public agenda
for the next monthly Board meeting and is forwarded to those members of the public requesting a copy.
in addition, the same summary will appear in the minutes of that Board meeting, which are also made
available to those requesting a copy.

Within the month following entry of an order, a summary of the order will appear in a Monthly
Disciplinary Action Listing which is made available to those members of the public requesting a copy.

On a periodic basis the Board disseminates to its licensees a newsletter which includes a brief
description of all of the orders entered by the Board.

From time to time, the Press Office of the Division of Consumer Affairs may issue releases including
the summaries of the content of public orders.

Nothing herein is intended in any way to limit the Board, the Division or the Attorney General from
disclosing any public document.



