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STATE OF NEW JERSEY

DEPARTMENT OF LAW AND PUBLIC SAFETY
DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS

BOARD OF DENTISTRY

IN THE MATTER OF THE SUPENSION
OF THE LICENSE OF

Nickolas Romanides, D.M.D. : ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION
License No. 22DI01352200 :
CONSENT ORDER

TO PRACTICE DENTISTRY IN THE
STATE OF NEW JERSEY

The New Jersey State Board of Dentistry (“Board”) received
information that Nickolas Romanides, D.M.D. (“Dr. Romanides” or
“respondent”) had entered a plea of guilty in the United States
District Court for the District of New Jersey to one count of
Submitting False Tax Returns in viclation of 26 U.S.C. §7206(1).
Specifically, for the tax year 2005, respondent falsely stated his
taxable income was $898,730, omitting an additional $199,578 of
business income that had been diverted to his personal account.

On October 29, 2013, respondent was sentenced to a one year

term of probation, a $10,000 fine, and restitution, which had been
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paid at time of sentencing. The U.S. Attorney -recommended the
sentence of probation and a monetary penalty given mitigating
factors, including: 1)} respondent reported and paid taxes on a
significant portion of his income, diverting and omitting payment
of taxes on only a smaller portion; 2) the diverted funds came from
respondent’s orthodontic practice and not another illegitimate or
illegal source; and 3) respondent did not take steps to hide the
income or his failure to pay taxes on it. In the sentencing
recoﬁmendation, the U.5. Attorney also acknowledged that respondent
serves a traditionally under-served or uninsured population. The
Court also considered thirty-four (34) letters from family,
friends, colleagues, and patients atte;ting to respondent’s good
character, charitable works, and dedication to the dental
profession.

On July 11, 2014, the Board, having reviewed the materials
submitted by respondent through his attorney Robert Kipnees, Esqg.,
filed a Provisional Order of Discipline preliminarily finding that
respondenf’s conviction warranted suspension of respondent’s
license for a period of one (1) vear, of which S50 days was to be
served as a period of active suspension, and the remainder to be
stayed and served as a period of probation.

Following receipt of the Provisional Order of Discipline,
respondent, through his counsel, asked the Board to consider the

materials previously presented and reduce the provisional sanction.
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Having reviewed the entire record, including the sentencing
memoranda, letters of reference, and arguments of respondent’s
counsel, it appears to the Board that respondent has produced
sufficient mitigation to warrant a modification to the provisional
sanction. Respondent has demonstrated remorse for the conduct that
resulted in his conviction. Moreover, as an orthodontist, an active
period of suspension affects his patients in a significant way.
Nonetheless, the Board finds that a significant sanction is
warranted based on respondent’s conviction, which provides grounds
for discipline pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21 (£), as the crime was
one of moral turpitude or one that relates adversely to the
practice of dentistry. The Board, therefore, will resolve this
matter by imposing a one year suspension, of which sixty days are
to be served as a périod of active suspension. As regquested by
respondent to ameliorate disruption in his patients’ treatment, the
sixty day active suspension will be served in two thirty day
periods.

It appearing that respondent desires to resolve the
Provisional Order of Discipline through this consent order, without
recourse to formal proceedings, and for good cause shown;

IT IS ON THIS rtb DaY OF DECEMBER, 2014,

HEREBY ORDERED AND AGREED THAT:-:

1. The license of Nickolas Romanides, D.M.D., to practice

dentistry shall be suspended for a period of one (1} year, of which




sixty days is to be served as a period of active suspension, and
the remainder is to be stayed and served as a period of probation.
To accommodate the needs of respondent’s orthodontic patients, the
active period of suspension shall be served in two (2}, thirty day
(30) periods. The first period of active suspension shall run from
December 20, 2014 through January 19, 2015, and the second period
of active suspension shall run from July 1, 2015 through July 30,
2015. Respondent shall comply with the Directives for a licensee
who has been suspended, which Directives are appended to this
consent order.

2. Respondent shall pay a civil penalty of $10,000.00 for
the violations of Board statutes and regulations detailed above.
The penalty shall be paid in two installments with the first
payment of $5,000.00 submitted by March 1, 2015 and the second
payment of §5,000.00 submitted by April 1, 2015. Payment of
$10,000.00 shall be made by credit card, wire transfer, bank check,
money order, or by certified check made payable to the State of New
Jersey and sent to Jonathan Eisenmenger, Executive Director, New
Jersey State Board of Dentistry, Post Office Box 45005, Newark, New
Jersey 07101. Any payment in a form other than those noted above
will be rejected and returned.

3. Failure to comply with any of the terms of this consent
order may result in the activation of the stayed period of

suspension and further disciplinary action.
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4. This consent oxder resolves the Provisional Order of

Discipline entered on July 11, 2014, In the Matter of Nickolas

Romanides, D.M.D.

NEW JERSEY STATE BOARD OF DENTISTRY

e sy fours 0

Shlrley Bi¥énz, R.D.H.
President

I have read and this consent order and

Date S

I consent to the form and entry

of this Consent OrZ;zg;ZYLéanjy

Robert J. Klgpées, E¥q.
Attorney fiﬁt espondent

12/ 57/4

Date
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DIRECTIVES APPLICABLE TO ANY DENTISTRY BOARD LICENSEE
WHO IS SUSPENDED, REVOKED OR WHOSE SURRENDER OF LICENSURE
‘ : HAS BEEN ACCEPTED -

A practitioner whose license is suspended or revoked or whose surrender of license has
been accepted by the Board, shall conduct him/herself as follows:

1. Document Return and Agency Notification

The licensee shall promptly deliver to the Board office at 124 Halsey Street, 6th floor,
Newark, New Jersey 07102, the original license and current biennial registration certificate,
and if authorized to prescribe drugs, the current State and Federal Controlled Dangerous
Substances Registration. With respect to suspensions of a finite term, at the conclusion
of the term, the licensee may contact the Board office for the return of the documents
previously surrendered to the Board.

2. Practice Cessation

The licensee shall cease and desist from engaging inthe practice of dentistry in this State.
This prohibition notonly bars a licensee from rendering professional services, but also from
providing an opinion as to professional practice or its application, or representing
him/herself as being eligible to practice. Although the licensee need not affirmatively
advise patients or others of the revocation, suspension or surrender, the licensee must
truthfully disclose his/her licensure status in response to inquiry. The disciplined licensee
is also prohibited from occupying, sharing or using office space in which another licensee
of this Board provides health care services. Unless otherwise ordered by the Board, the
disciplined licensee may contract for, accept payment from another licensee for or rent at
fair market value office premises andfor equipment. In no case may the disciplined
licensee authorize, allow or condone the use of histher provider number by the practice or
any other licensee or health care provider. In situations where the licensee has been
suspended for less than one year, the licensee may accept payment from another
professional who is using hisfher office during the period that the licensee is suspended,
- for the payment of salaries for office staff employed at the time of the Board action.

A licensee whose license has been revoked, suspended for one (1) year or more or
permanently surrendered must remove signs and take affirmative action tfo. stop
- advertisements by which his/her eligibility to practice is represented. The licensee must
also take steps to remove his/her name from all prescription blanks and pads, professional
listings, telephone directories, professional stationery, or billings. If the licensee's name

Dentisiry. Board Orders.
Directives (Rev. 12/6/00)
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is utilized in a group practice title, it shall be deleted.

Prescription pads bearing the licensee’s name shall be destroyed.. A destruction report
form shall be obtained from the Office of Drug Control (973-504-6558) and filed with that
office. If no other licensee is providing services at the practice location, all medications
must be removed and returned to the manufacturer (if possible), or destroyed or
safeguarded. In situations where the licensee has been suspended for a period of less
than one year, prescription pads and medications must be secured in a locked place for
safekeeping.

3. Practice Income Prohibitions/Divestiture of Equity Interest
" in Professional Service Corporations

* Alicensee shall not charge, receive or share in any fee for professional services rendered
by him/herself or others while barred from engaging in the professional practice. The
licensee may be compensated for the reasonable value of services lawfully rendered and
disbursements incurred on a patient's behalf prior to the effective date of the Board action.

Alicensee whose license is revoked, surrendered or suspended for a term of one (1) year
or more shall be deemed to be disqualified from the practice, and shall be required to
comply with the requirements to divest him/herself of all financial interest in the
professional practice pursuant to Board regulations contained in N.J.A.C. 13:30-8.21.
Such divestiture shall occur within 90 days following the entry of the Board Order. Upon
divestiture, a ticensee shall forward to the Board a copy of documentation forwarded to the
New Jersey Department of Treasury, Commercial Reporting Division, demonstrating that
the interest has been terminated. Ifthe licensee is the sole shareholder in a professional
service corporation, the corporation must be dissolved within 90 days of the licensee's
disqualification.

4, Patient Records .

If, as a result of the Board's action, a practice is closed or transferred to another location,
the licensee shall ensure that during the three (3) month period foliowing the effective date
of the disciplinary order, a message will be delivered to patients calling the former office
premises, advising where records may be obtained. The message should inform patients
of the names and telephone numbers of the licensee (or his/her attorney) assuming
custody of the records. The same information shall also be disseminated by means of a
notice to-be published at feast once per month for three (3) months in a newspaper of
general circulation in the geographic vicinity in which the practice was conducted. At the
end of the three month period, the licensee shall file with the Board the name and
telephone number of the contact person who will have access to patient records of former
patients. Any change in that individual or hisfher telephone number shall be promptly
reported to the Board. When a patient or his/her representative requests a copy of histher
- patientl record or asks that the record be forwarded to another health care provider, the
licensee shall promptly provide the record without charge to the patient.
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5. Probation/Monitoring Conditions

A disciplined practitioner whose active suspension of license has been stayed in full orin
part, conditioned upon compliance with a probation or monitoring program, shall fully
-cooperate with the Board or its designated representatives, including the Enforcement
Bureau of the Division of Consumer Affairs, in ongoing monitoring of the licensee’s status
and practice. Such monitoring shall be at the expense of the disciplined practitioner.

(a.) Monitoring of practice conditions may include, but is not limited to, inspection
- of professional premises arid equipment, and inspection and copying of patient
’ records (confidentiality of patient identity shall be protected by the Board) to verify
compliance with Board Order and accepted standards of practice.

(b.) Monitoring of status conditions for an impaired practitioner may include, but is
not limited to, practitioner cooperation in providing releases permitting unrestricted
access to records and other information to the extent permitted by law from any
treatment facility, other treating practitioner, support group or other individual or
facility involved in the education, treatment, monitoring or oversight of the
practitioner, or maintained by the rehabilitation program for impaired practitioners.
if bodily substance monitoring has been ordered, the practitioner shall fully
cooperate by responding to a demand for breath, blood, urine or other samplein a
timely manner and by providing the designated sample.

6. Reports of Reimbursement

A disciplined practitfoner shall promptly report to the Board his/her compliance with each
directive requiring monies to be reimbursed to patients to other parties or third party payors
or to any Court.

7. Report of Changes of Address

A disciplined practitioner shall notify the Board office in writing within ten (10) days of
change of address. ~ : : ,
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