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This matter was opened to the New Jersey State Board of

Nursing (the "Board") upon receipt of information which the

Board has reviewed and upon which the following findings of fact

and conclusions of law are made:

FINDINGS OF FACT

Page 1 of 7



1. Jean Rene Desamours ("Respondent") is a Licensed

Practical Nurse in the State of New Jersey and has been a

licensee at all times relevant hereto. (Exhibit A).

2. On or about April 11, 2013, Respondent completed and

submitted an online biennial renewal for the period of June 1,

2013 to May 31, 2015. (Exhibit B).

3. Respondent was asked on the biennial renewal

application whether Respondent would have "completed the

required continuing education credits by May 31, 2013,"

referring to the biennial renewal period of June 1, 2011 to May

31, 2013. Respondent answered "Yes" and certified that answer

by submitting the online application. (Exhibit B).

4. On or about September 12, 2013, the Board sent a

letter of inquiry requesting certain information and proof of

completion of continuing education to Respondent's address of

record in Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey, via regular and

certified mail. (Exhibit C).

5. Regarding continuing education, Respondent replied

that he had taken 4 continuing education courses and attached

four certificates. The certificates, however, do not include

any notation of contact hours and do not indicate that the

courses were approved or accredited as continuing education for

nurses. (Exhibit D).
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6. After being called and advised that the courses did

not count as continuing education, Respondent sent in another

reply which included certificates of completion of thirty hours

of continuing education completed in October 2013. (Exhibit E).

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Pursuant to N .J.A.C. 13:37-5.3(b), licensees are required

to complete a minimum of thirty (30) hours of continuing

education during the preceding biennial period in order to renew

their licenses. Pursuant to N. J.A.C. 13:37-5.3(f), licensees

are required to maintain documentation of completion of

continuing education for a period of four years after

completion, and shall submit such documentation to the Board

upon request.

Respondent failed to demonstrate, to the satisfaction of

the Board, that he completed the required continuing education

credits within the biennial renewal period of June 01, 2011 to

May 31, 2013. The Board therefore finds Respondent in violation

of N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3(b) and 13:37-5.3(f), which in turn

subjects Respondent to sanctions pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(e)

and (h) .

Respondent's use of dishonesty and misrepresentation during

the license renewal process in falsifying his continuing
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education information constitutes a violation of N.J.S.A. 45:1-

21(b), subjecting Respondent to sanctions.

Respondent may apply the 30 hours of continuing education

completed in October 2013 to cure the deficiency of the previous

biennial period, but those same hours may not be applied to

satisfy the requirements of the current biennial period.
ACCORDINGLY , IT IS on this 2 , 11 day of Auw bft-� , 2014,

ORDERED that upon the filing of a FINAL ORDER OF DISCIPLINE in

this matter:

1. A reprimand is imposed on Respondent for falsifying

the continuing education information on his license renewal

application.

2. Respondent is assessed a civil penalty in the amount

of two hundred and fifty dollars ($ 250) for failing to timely

complete required continuing education . Payment shall be made by

certified check, bank cashier check, or money order payable to

"State of New Jersey ," or by wire transfer, direct deposit, or

credit card payment delivered or mailed to George Hebert,

Executive Director , State Board of Nursing, P.O. Box 45010,

Newark, New Jersey 07101. Any other form of payment will be

rejected and will be returned to the party making the payment.

Payment shall be made no later than fifteen (15) days after the

date of filing of a Final Order of Discipline . In the event
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Respondent fails to make a timely payment, a certificate of debt

shall be filed in accordance with N.J.S.A. 45:1-24 and the Board

may bring such other proceedings as authorized by law.

3. Continuing education hours taken currently and applied

to cure the deficiency from a previous biennial period shall not

be used to satisfy the requirements of the current biennial

period. Besides the thirty hours completed in October 2013,

Respondent shall complete another thirty (30) hours of

continuing education credits prior to May 31, 2015 to satisfy

the requirements of the current biennial renewal period of June

01, 2013 to May 31, 2015.

4. The within order shall be subject to finalization by

the Board at 5:00 p.m. on the 30th day following entry hereof

unless Respondent requests a modification or dismissal of the

above stated Findings of Fact or Conclusions of Law by:

a) Submitting a written request for modification or

dismissal to George Hebert, Executive Director, State Board of

Nursing, 124 Halsey Street, Sixth Floor, P.O. Box 45010, Newark,

New Jersey 07101.

b) Setting forth in writing any and all reasons why

said findings and conclusions should be modified or dismissed.

c) Submitting any and all documents or other written

evidence supporting Respondent's request for consideration and
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reasons therefor or offered in mitigation of penalty.

5. Any submissions will be reviewed by the Board and the

Board will thereafter determine whether further proceedings are

necessary. If no material discrepancies are raised through a

supplemental submission during the thirty-day period, or if the

Board is not persuaded that the submitted materials merit

further consideration, a Final Order of Discipline will be

entered, and

6. In the event that Respondent's submissions establish a

need for further proceedings, including, but not limited to an

evidentiary hearing, Respondent shall be notified with regard

thereto. In the event that an evidentiary hearing is ordered,

the preliminary findings of fact and conclusions of law

contained herein may serve as notice of the factual and legal

allegations in such proceeding. Further, in the event a hearing

is held and upon review of the record, the Board shall not be

limited to the findings, conclusions and sanctions stated

herein.

7. In the event that the Board receives no written

submission from Respondent within 30 days following filing of

this Provisional Order of Discipline , without further Board

review, the Provisional Order of Discipline shall automatically

become the Final Order of Discipline. The box for Final Order
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of Discipline shall be checked, the Final Order of Discipline

shall be filed, and copies shall be mailed to Respondent.

Thereafter, Respondent's failure to comply with any sanction or

penalty imposed by this Order shall be considered a violation of

a Board order in contravention of N.J.S.A. 45:1-21 (e) and (h)

and N.J.A.C. 13:45C-1.4 and may subject Respondent to additional

sanction and/or penalty.

NEW JERSEY STATE BOARD OF NURSING

By:
__ __Pa icla Murphy,

President
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