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This matter was opened to the New Jersey State Board of Nursing ("the Board")
upon receipt of information which the Board has reviewed and on which the following
findings of fact and conclusions of law are made:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Lisa M. Cardon (“Respondent”) is a Licensed Practical Nurse (LP‘N) in the
State of New Jersey, and has been a licensee at all times relevant hereto.

2. On or about July 17, 2014, a letter of inquiry issued to Respondent at her
address of record on behaif of the Board, asking for information and documents 'relating
to an arrest on June 12, 2014 on charges of criminal mischief with damage, and also
asking for documentation, in the form of certificates of completion, of all nursing
continuing education completed in the last three years. The receipt of the certified
mailing was signed upon dlelivery. The regular mailing was not returned. No response

was received.



3. Respondent indicated on her 2014 renewal application that she would
have completed all required continuing education for the June 1, 2012 — May 31, 2014
licensing cycle by May 31, 2014,

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Respondent’s failure to respond to the Board's inquiry constitutes a failure to
cooperate with a Board investigation in violation of N.J A.C. 13:45C-1.2 and 1.3,
subjecting Respondent to sanctions pursuantto N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(e).

Respondent’s failure to demonstrate timely completion of nursing continuing
education requirements for the June 1, 2012 — May 31, 2014 licensing cycle is deemed
to constitute a violation of N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3. subjecting Respondent to sanctions
pursuantto N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(e) and (h).

Respondent’s indication on her 2014 renewal application that she would
complete all required continuing education for the June 1,2012 — May 31, 2014
licensing cycle by May 31, 2014, is deemed to constitute misrepresentation in violation
of N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(b).

Based on the foregoing findings and conclusions, a Provisional Order of
Discipline seeking a suspension, reprimand, and seven hundred and fifty dollars ($750)
in civil penalties was entered on December 30, 2014. Copies were served upon
Respondent via regular and certified mail. The Provisional Order was subject to
finalization by the Board at 5:00 p.m. on the thirtieth day following entry unless
Respondent requested a modification or dismissal of the stated findings of fact and
conclusions of law by setting forth in writing any and all reasons why said findings and

conclusions should be modified or dismissed and submitting any and all documents or



other written evidence supporting Respondent’s request for consideration and reasons
therefor.

Respondent timely replied to the Provisional Order of Discipline by providing
some of the information requested in the Board's letter of inquiry. After being further
prompted, Respondent provided the remainder of the information. Respondent
maintained that the criminal charge stemmed from a domestic violence incident and that
the charges were dismissed. Respondent further asserted that she is unemployed and
that she was unable to complete the required continuing education for the June 1, 2012
~May 31, 2014 biennial period due to personal hardship, financial difficulties, and a
medical condition. Respondent provided evidence of completing the following
continuing education:

0 hours within the June 1, 2012 — May 31, 2014 biennial period; and

30 hours within the June 1, 2014 — May 31, 2016 biennial period.

Respondent may apply the 30 hours recently completed (on January 5, 2015) to cure
the deficiency of the previous biennial period, but those same 30 hours may not also be
used to satisfy the requirements of the current biennial period. Respondent shall
complete another 30 hours of continuing education prior to May 31, 2016, with one
course being the required Organ and Tissue Donation. On her 2014 renewal
application, Respondent answered that she had completed the required one hour
course on Organ and Tissue Donation, but has not provided any documentation of
doing so.

The Board reviewed Respondent’s submissions and determined that further

proceedings were not necessary and that no material discrepancies had been raised.



The Board was not persuaded that the submitted materials merited further
consideration, as Respondent did not dispute the findings of fact or conclusions of law.
Inasmuch as Respondent provided the information originally requested and cured the
deficiency in her continuing education, the Board determined that suspension was no
longer warranted. However, the Board determined that Respondent’s failure to respond
to the original inquiry, thereby necessitating the filing of the Provisional Order of
Discipline, and review of Respondent's subsequent reply months later, warrants
imposition of a five hundred dollar ($500) civil penalty. Likewise, Respondent’s failure
to timely complete continuing education within the June 1, 2012 — May 31, 2014 biennial
period warrants imposition of a two hundred and fifty dollar ($250) civil penalty.
Respondent’s answers on the 2014 renewal whereby she certified that she had
completed the required 30 hours of continuing education and the one hour course on

Organ and Tissue Donation, when she had not done so, warrants a reprimand.

ACCORDINGLY, IT IS on this A X day of __+1f N , 2015,

ORDERED that:

1. A reprimand is hereby imposed for Respondent’s violation of N.J.S.A.
45:1-21(b).

2. A five hundred dollar ($500) civil penalty is hereby imposed for the
violation of N.J.A.C. 13:45C-1.2 and 1.3, as well as a two hundred and fifty dollar ($250)
civil penalty for the violation of N.J.A.C.13:37-5.3, for a total penalty amount of seven
hundred and fifty dollars ($750). Payment shall be made by certified check, bank
cashier check, or money order payable to “State of New Jersey,” or by wire transfer,

direct deposit, or credit card payment delivered or mailed to George Hebert, Executive



Director, State Board of Nursing, P.O. Box 45010, Newark, New Jersey 07101. Any
other form of payment will be rejected and will be returned to the party making the
payment. Payment shall be made no later than twenty-one (21) days after the date of
filing of this Final Order of Discipline. In the event Respondent fails to make a timely
payment, a certificate of debt shall be filed in accordance with N.J.S.A. 45:1-24 and the
Board may bring such other proceedings as authorized by law.

3. Continuing education completed after May 31, 2014 and applied to cure
the deficiency of the previous biennial period (the 30 hours completed on January 5,
2015) shall not also be used to satisfy the requirements of the current biennial period.
Respondent shall complete an additional 30 hours of continuing education, including the
one hour course on Organ and Tissue Donation, prior to May 31, 2016 to satisfy the

requirements of the current biennial period of June 1, 2014 — May 31, 2016.
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