JOHN J. HOFFMAN

ACTING ATTORNEY GENERAL OF NEW JERSEY
Division of Law

124 Halsey Street, 5% Floor

P.O. Box 45029

Newark, New Jersey 07101

By: Bindi Merchant
Deputy Attorney General Effective Date: November 1, 2015
(973) 648-7454
Attorney ID. 023302007

STATE OF NEW JERSEY

DEPARTMENT OF LAW & PUBLIC SAFETY
DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS
STATE BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS

IN THE MATTER OF THE
SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION :
OF THE LICENSE OF : ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION

John Vitali, M.D.

ON
LICENSE NO. 25MA05814000 CONSENT ORDER

TO PRACTICE MEDICINE AND
SURGERY IN THE STATE OF NEW
JERSEY

This matter was opened to the State Board of Medical
Examiners (“Board”) upon receipt of information that on November
21, 2013, Respondent John Vitali, M.D. pled guilty to an
Information charging him with the acceptance of bribes, contrary
to N.J.S.A. § 2C:21-10, in violation of Title 18, United States
Code, Section 1952(a) (3) in the U.S. District Court for the
District of New Jersey.

Respondent admitted that between in or about May 2012 and
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Bpril 2013, he accepted bribes inducing him to refer blood
specimens of his patient to Biodiagnostic Laboratory Services,
LLC (“BLS”), for testing and related services. Respondent
further admitted to receiving bribes of approximately $3,000 per
month for those blood specimen referrals. Respondent consented
to a forfeiture money judgment in the amount of $33,000.

The parties being desirous of resolving this matter, and
the Board, being satisfied that entry of the within Order
obviates the need for formal proceedings, and being further
satisfied that good cause exists to support entry of the within
Order,

IT IS, therefore, on this _l:Zééday ofhﬂum&f(ZOlS,

ORDERED and AGREED that:

1. The license of John Vitali, M.D. is hereby revoked.
Respondent shall be ineligible to apply for or obtain a license
to practice medicine and surgery in the State of New Jersey for
a period of three (3) years. Notwithstanding the term of
ineligibility set forth herein, in no instance shall Respondent
be granted a license during any period of incarceration or any
period that Respondent is under the conditions of a criminal
sentence such as probation, supervised release, and/or a fine
payment plan. Additionally, the period of ineligibility will be
tolled for any length of time that Respondent practices in

another jurisdiction.



2. Respondent shall immediately return his original New
Jersey medical license and CDS registration to the New Jersey
State Board of Medical Examiners, P.0O. Box 183, Trenton, New
Jersey 08625-0183.

3. Respondent shall comply with the attached "“Directives
Applicable to Any Medical Board Licensee Who 1is Disciplined or
Whose Surrender of Licensure Has Been Accepted,” which are
incorporated herein by reference.

4, Failure to comply with any provision of this Order will
result in subsequent disciplinary proceedings for failure to comply
with an Order of the Board.

5. The parties hereby stipulate that entry of this Order
is without prejudice to further action, investigation or
restrictions upon reinstatement, by this Board, the Attorney
General, the Drug Control Unit, the Director of the Division of
Consumer Affairs or other law enforcement entities resulting
from Respondents’ conduct prior to entry of this Order.

NEW JERSEY STATE
BOARLIH CAL, EXAMINERS

By: % ‘
Karen Criss, CNM
Vice President
I have read and understood Consent is hereby given
the within Order and agree to as to the form/and/entry

bi:?gggdﬁby—éts—terms. of

Jobw Vitali, M.D.

H u.

qgr}ejl, Esq.
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Respondent



DIRECTIVES APPLICABLE TO ANY MEDICAL BOARD LICENSEE
WHO IS DISCIPLINED OR WHOSE SURRENDER OF LICENSURE
OR CESSATION OF PRACTICE HAS BEEN ORDERED OR AGREED UPON

APPROVED BY THE BOARD ON AUGUST 12, 2015

All licensees who are the subject of a disciplinary order or
surrender or cessation order (herein after, “Order”) of the Board
shall provide the information required on the addendum to these
directives. Failure to provide the information required may result
in further disciplinary action for failing to cooperate with the
Board, as required by N.J.A.C. 13:45C-1 et seq: Paragraphs 1
through 4 below shall apply when a licensee is suspended, revoked,
has surrendered his or her license, or entered into an agreement to
cease practice, with or without prejudice, whether on an interim or
final basis. Paragraph 5 applies to licensees who are the subject
of an order which, while permitting continued practice, contains
probationary terms or monitoring requirement.

1. Document Return and Agency Notification

The licensee shall promptly forward to the Board office at Post
Office Box 183, 140 East Front Street, 2nd floor, Trenton, New
Jersey 08625-0183, the original 1license, current biennial
registration and, if applicable, the original CDS registration. In
addition, if the licensee holds a Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA)
registration, he or she shall promptly advise the DEA of the
licensure action. (With respect to suspensions of a finite term, at
the conclusion of the term, the licensee may contact the Board
office for the return of the documents previously surrendered to
the Board. Prior to the resumption of any prescribing of
controlled dangerous substances, the licensee shall petition the
Director of Consumer Affairs for a return of the CDS registration
if the basis for discipline involved CDS misconduct. In addition,
at the conclusion of the term, the licensee should contact the DEA
to advise of the resumption of practice and to ascertain the impact
of that change upon his/her DEA registration.)

2. Practice Cessation

The licensee shall cease and desist from engaging in the practice
of medicine in this State. This prohibition not only bars a
licensee from rendering professional services, but also from
providing an opinion as to professional practice or its
application, or representing him/herself as being eligible to
practice. (Although the licensee need not affirmatively advise
patients or others of the revocation, suspension, surrender oOr
cessation, the licensee must truthfully disclose his/her licensure
status in response to inquiry.) The licensee subject to the order



is also prohibited from occupying, sharing or using office space in
which another licensee provides health care services. The licensee
subject to the order may contract for, accept payment from another
licensee for rent at fair market value for office premises and/or
equipment. In no case may the licensee subject to the order
authorize, allow or condone the use of his/her provider number by
any health care practice or any other licensee or health care
provider. In situations where the licensee has been subject to the
order for less than one year, the licensee may accept payment from
another professional who is using his/her office during the period
that the licensee is (suspended), subject to the order for the
payment of salaries for office staff employed at the time of the
Board action.

A licensee whose license has been revoked, suspended or subject to
a surrender or cessation order for one (l) year or more must
immediately take steps to remove signs and take affirmative action
to stop advertisements by which his/her eligibility to practice is
represented. The licensee must also take steps to remove his/her
name from professional listings, telephone directories,
professional stationery, or billings. If the licensee's name is
utilized in a group practice title, it shall Dbe deleted.
Prescription pads bearing the licensee's name shall be destroyed. A
destruction report form obtained from the Office of Drug Control
(973-504-6558) must be filed. If no other licensee is providing
services at the location, all medications must be removed and
returned to the manufacturer, if possible, destroyed or
safeguarded. (In situations where a license has been suspended for
less than one year, prescription pads and medications need not be
destroyed but must be secured in a locked place for safekeeping.)

3. Practice Income Prohibitions/Divestiture of Equity Interest in
Professional Service Corporations and Limited Liability
Companies

A licensee subject to the order shall not charge, receive or share
in any fee for professional services rendered by him/herself or
others while barred from engaging in the professional practice.!l
The licensee may be compensated for the reasonable value of
services lawfully rendered and disbursements incurred on a
patient's behalf prior to the effective date of the Board order.

IThis bar on the receipt of any fee for professional services is
not applicable to cease and desist orders where there are no
findings that would be a basis for Board action, such as those
entered adjourning a hearing.



A licensee who is a shareholder in a professional service
corporation organized to engage in the professional practice, whose
license is revoked, surrendered or suspended or who is ordered to
cease practice for a term of one (1) year or more shall be deemed
to be disqualified from the practice within the meaning of the
Professional Service Corporation Act. (N.J.S.A. 14a:17-11). 2
disqualified licensee shall divest him/herself of all financial
interest in the professional service corporation pursuant to
N.J.S.A. 14A:17-13(c). A disqualified licensee who is a member of a
limited liability company organized pursuant to N.J.S.A. 42:1-44,
shall also divest him/herself of all financial interest. Such
divestiture of the licensee’s interest in the limited liability
company or professional service corporation shall occur within 90
days following the entry of the order rendering the licensee
disqualified to participate in the applicable form of ownership.
Upon divestiture, a licensee shall forward to the Board a copy of
documentation forwarded to the Division of Revenue and Enterprise
Services demonstrating that the interest has been terminated. If
the licensee is the sole shareholder in a professional service
corporation or sole member of the limited liability company, the
corporation must be dissolved within 90 days of the licensee's
disqualification wunless it is lawfully transferred to another
licensee and documentation of the valuation process and
consideration paid is also provided to the Board.

4. Medical Records

If, as a result of the Board's action, a practice is closed or
transferred to another location, the licensee shall ensure that
(during the three (3) month period) immediately following the
effective date of the disciplinary order, a message will be
delivered to patients calling the former office premises, advising
where records may be obtained. The message should inform patients
of the names and telephone numbers of the licensee (or his/her
attorney) assuming custody of the records. The same information
shall also be disseminated by means of a notice to be published at
least once per month for three (3) months in a newspaper of general
circulation in the geographic vicinity in which the practice was
conducted. If the licensee has a website, a notice shall be posted
on the website as well.

At the end of the three month period, the licensee shall file with
the Board the name and telephone number of the contact person who
will have access to medical records of former patients. Any change
in that individual or his/her telephone number shall be promptly
reported to the Board. When a patient or his/her representative
requests a copy of his/her medical record or asks that record be
forwarded to another health care provider, the licensee shall
promptly provide the record without charge to the patient.



5. Probation/Monitoring Conditions

With respect to any licensee who is the subject of any order
imposing a probation or monitoring requirement or a stay of an
active suspension, in whole or in part, which is conditioned upon
compliance with a probation or monitoring requirement, the licensee
shall fully cooperate with the Board and its designated
representatives, including the Enforcement Bureau of the Division
of Consumer Affairs, in ongoing monitoring of the licensee's status
and practice. Such monitoring shall be at the expense of the
disciplined practitioner.

(a) Monitoring of practice conditions may include, but is not
limited to, inspection of the professional premises and equipment,
and Inspection and copying of patient records (confidentiality of
patient identity shall be protected by the Board) to verify
compliance with the Board Order and accepted standards of practice.

(b) Monitoring of status conditions for an impaired
practitioner may include, but is not limited to, practitioner
cooperation in providing releases permitting unrestricted access to
records and other information to the extent permitted by law from
any treatment facility, other treating practitioner, support group
or other individual/facility involved in the education, treatment,
monitoring or oversight of the practitioner, or maintained by a
rehabilitation program for impaired practitioners. If bodily
substance monitoring has been ordered, the practitioner shall fully
cooperate by responding to a demand for breath, blood, urine or
other sample in a timely manner and providing the designated
sample.

6. Payment of Civil and Criminal Penalties and Costs.

With respect to any licensee who is the subject of any order
imposing a civil penalty and/or costs, the licensee shall satisfy
the payment obligations within the time period ordered by the Board
or be subject to collection efforts or the filing of a certificate
of debt. The Board shall not consider any application for
reinstatement nor shall any appearance before a committee of the
Board seeking reinstatement be scheduled until such time as the
Board ordered payments are satisfied in full. (The Board at its
discretion may grant installment payments for not more than a 24
months period.)

As to the satisfaction of criminal penalties and civil forfeitures,
the Board will consider a reinstatement application so long as the
licensee is current in his or her payment plans.



NOTICE OF REPORTING PRACTICES OF BOARD
REGARDING DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS

Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:14B-3(3), all orders of the New Jersey
State Board of Medical Examiners are available for public
inspection. Should any inquiry be made concerning the status of a
licensee, the inquirer will be informed of the existence of the
order and a copy will be provided if requested. All evidentiary
hearings, proceedings on motions or other applications which are
conducted as public hearings and the record, including the
transcript and documents marked in evidence, are available for
public inspection, upon request.

Pursuant to 45 CFR Subtitle A 60.8, the Board is obligated to
report to the National Practitioners Data Bank any action relating
to a physician which is based on reasons relating to professional
competence or professional conduct:

(1) Which revokes or suspends (or otherwise restricts) a
license,

(2) Which censures, reprimands or places on probation,

(3) Under which a license is surrendered.

Pursuant to 45 CFR Section 61.7, the Board is obligated to report
to the Healthcare Integrity and Protection (HIP) Data Bank, any
formal or official actions, such as revocation or suspension of a
license(and the length of any such suspension), reprimand, censure
or probation or any other loss of license or the right to apply
for, or renew, a license of the provider, supplier, or
practitioner, whether by operation of law, voluntary surrender,
non-renewability, or otherwise, or any other negative action or
finding by such Federal or State agency that is publicly available
information.

Pursuant to N.J.S.A.45:9-19.13, if the Board refuses to issue,
suspends, revokes or otherwise places conditions on a license or
permit, it is obligated to notify each licensed health care
facility and health maintenance organization with which a licensee
is affiliated and every other board licensee in this state with
whom he or she is directly associated in private medical practice.

In accordance with an agreement with the Federation of State
Medical Boards of the United States, a list of all disciplinary
orders are provided to that organization on a monthly basis.

Within the month following entry of an order, a summary of the
order will appear on the public agenda for the next monthly Board
meeting and is forwarded to those members of the public requesting



a copy. In addition, the same summary will appear in the minutes
of that Board meeting, which are also made available to those
requesting a copy.

Within the month following entry of an order, a summary of the
order will appear in a Monthly Disciplinary Action Listing which is
made available to those members of the public requesting a copy.

On a periodic basis the Board disseminates to its licensees a
newsletter which includes a brief description of all of the orders
entered by the Board.

From time to time, the Press Office of the Division of Consumer
Affairs may issue releases including the summaries of the content
of public orders.

Nothing herein is intended in any way to limit the Board, the
Division or the Attorney General from disclosing any public
document.



