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N.J. BOARD OF NURSING
STATE OF NEW JERSEY
DEPARTMENT OF LAW & PUBLIC SAFETY

DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS

BOARD OF NURSING

IN THE MATTER OF THE LICENSE OF Administrative Action

FINAL ORDER

OF DISCIPLINE
MARISA DEANNE CAPOBIANCO, R.N.
License # 26NO09356400

TO PRACTICE NURSING IN THE

STATE OF NEW JERSEY

This matter was opened to the New Jersey State Board of

Nursing ("Board") upon receipt of information which the Board

has reviewed and upon which the following findings of fact and

conclusions of law are made:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Marisa Deanne Capobianco ("Respondent") is a

Registered Professional Nurse in the State of New Jersey and has

been a licensee at all times relevant hereto.

2. On or about April 9, 2012, Respondent completed and

submitted an online biennial renewal application which asked

whether Respondent would have "completed the required continuing
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education credits by May 31, 2012," referring to the biennial

renewal period of June 1, 2010 - May 31, 2012. Respondent

answered "yes" and certified that answer by submitting the

online application.

3. On or about February 10, 2014, the Board sent a letter

of inquiry to Respondent's mailing address in Belamar, New

Jersey, via regular and certified mail, requesting certain

documents, including proof of having completed the required

continuing education.

4. In response to the letter of inquiry, Respondent

provided documentation of completion of the following continuing

education:

38.75 hours within 6/1/08 - 5/31/10;

6 hours within 6/1/10 - 5/31/12; and

50 hours within 6/1/12 - 5/31/14.

5. On or about April 9, 2014, Respondent, completed and

submitted an online biennial renewal application which asked

whether Respondent would have "completed the required continuing

education credits by May 31, 2014," referring to the biennial

renewal period of June 1, 2012 - May 31, 2014. Respondent

answered "yes" and certified that answer by submitting the

online application.
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Pursuant to N. J.A.C. 13:37-5.3(b), nurses are required to

complete a minimum of thirty (30) hours of continuing education

during the preceding biennial period in order to renew their

licenses. Pursuant to N.J.A .C. 13:37-5.3(f), nurses are

required to maintain documentation of completion of continuing

education for a period of four years after completion, and shall

submit such documentation to the Board upon request.

Respondent failed to demonstrate, to the satisfaction of

the Board, that Respondent completed the continuing education

credits required for renewal during the biennial period of June

1, 2010 - May 31, 2012. Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3(c),

Respondent may carry over the 8.75 surplus hours from the June

1, 2008 - May 31, 2010 biennial period into the June 1, 2010 -

May 31, 2012 biennial period giving her a total of 14.75 hours

for the June 1, 2010 - May 31, 2012 biennial period. The Board

therefore finds Respondent in violation of N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3(b)

and 13:37-5.3(f), which in turn subjects Respondent to sanctions

pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(e) and (h).

Respondent completed 20 extra hours of continuing

education in the June 1, 2012 - May 31, 2014 biennial period,

she may apply 15.25 hours to cure the deficiency of the June 1,
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2010 - May 31, 2012 biennial period and avoid suspension of her

license.

Respondent's use of dishonesty and misrepresentation during

the 2012 license renewal process in falsifying her continuing

education information constitutes a violation of N.J.S.A . 45:1-

21(b), subjecting Respondent to sanctions.

Based on the foregoing findings and conclusions, a

Provisional Order of Discipline was entered on June 15, 2015,

provisionally imposing a reprimand and a $250 civil penalty. A

copy of the Order was served upon respondent by certified and

regular mail at her address of record. The Provisional Order was

subject to finalization by the Board at 5:00 p.m. on the 30th day

following entry unless respondent requested a modification or

dismissal of the stated Findings of Fact or Conclusions of Law

by submitting a written request for modification or dismissal

setting forth in writing any and all reasons why said findings

and conclusions should be modified or dismissed and submitting

any and all documents or other written evidence supporting

respondent's request for consideration and reasons therefor.

Respondent replied to the Provisional Order, asking for

consideration. Respondent maintains that she timely completed

the required continuing education but was unable to document all

of the continuing education she completed for the 2010-2012
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licensing cycle. She asked for leniency, and claimed that she

did not engage in dishonesty or misrepresentation on the 2012

renewal application. The Board considered this submission, but

determined that without documentation, the findings in the

Provisional order of a violation of N .J.A.C. 13:37-5.3 and

N.J. S.A . 45:1-21(b) did not warrant modification.

rIACCORDINGLY, IT IS on this G-� day of 2015,

ORDERED that:

1. A reprimand is imposed on Respondent for

misrepresentation of the continuing education information on her

2012 license renewal application.

2. Respondent is assessed a civil penalty in the amount

of two hundred and fifty dollars ($250) for failing to timely

complete required continuing education. Payment shall be made

by certified check, bank cashier check, or money order payable

to "State of New Jersey," or by wire transfer, direct deposit, or

credit card payment delivered or mailed to State Board of

Nursing, Attention: Leslie Burgos, P.O. Box 45010, Newark, New

Jersey 07101. Any other form of payment will be rejected and

will be returned to the party making the payment. Payment shall

be made no later than fifteen (15) days after the date of filing

of this order. In the event Respondent fails to make a timely

payment, a certificate of debt shall be filed in accordance with
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N.J. S.A. 45:1-24 and the Board may bring such other proceedings

as authorized by law.

NEW JERSEY STATE BOARD OF NURSING

By:
Patricia Murphy,
Board President

PhD, APN
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