3

New j’erséy Office of the Attorney General
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CHRIS CHRISTIE State Board of Mortuary Science of New Jersey ROBERT LOuGY
Governor 124 Halsey Street, 8" Floor, Newark, NJ 07102 Acting Atforney General
K GUADAGHO STEVE C. LEE
Lt. Governor March 18, 2016 | | Acting Director
PMaiiing Address:

P.0. Box 45009
Newark, NJ 07101
{973) 504-6425

By Certified and Regular Mail

Crystal Muckelston
1119 Long Beach Boulevard
Ship Bottom NJ 08008

Re: Uniform Penalty Letter in Lieu of Formal Disciplinary Complaint
Our File #16-15, 23JP00495700

Dear Crystal Muckelston:

The New Jersey State Board of Mortuary Science (the “Board™) has had an opportunity to
review your continuing education credits for the period of March 1, 2013 through February 28,
2015. Please be advised that for the 2013 through 2015 period you were required to
complete at least one, but no more than three credits in Occupational Safety and Health
Admiristration (“OSHA”) laws and regulations in each biennial licensing period. (See
N.J.A.C.13:36-10.3). The Board has preliminarily determined that:

1. You submitted a renewal application for the current biennial period in which you

$250.00, the appropriate fee for an “active” license. Accordingly, you were issued an “active”
license for the biennial period.

2. On the renewal application, you answered “YES” 10 question number 1, in which
states: “Will you have completed the required continuing education credits by February 28,
2015". On or about July 15, 2015, you were directed by a letter sent via regular mail by the
Board, to submit proof that you have completed these credits.
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3. Upon review of your matter, it appears that since you completed more than the maximum
of three (3) credits in Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), you failed to obtain
the required 10 continuing education credits, during the appropriate time period for the renewal of

- your license, in violation of N.J.S.A.45:7-72.1 and N.J.A.C.13:36-10.3 et. seq., which is grounds
for disciplinary action pursuant-to N.J.S.A.45:1-21(h).

4. By failing to complete the required continuing education credits after submitting a
renewal application in which you indicated that you will have completed the required continuing
‘education credits by February 28, 2015, you have failed to comply with the provision outlined in

N.J.A.C.13:36-10.3, which is grounds for disciplinary action pursuant to N.J.S.A.45:1-21(h).

You are hereby offered the opportunity to settle this matter and avoid the initiation of formal
disciplinary proceedings by signing the enclosed certification and agreeing to one of the following
options: '

A) Pay the penalty in the amount of $100.00 within fifteen (15) days of receipt of this
letter to maintain an active license. You must also complete one (1) eredit hour of continuing
education in a Board- approved course, outside of OSHA within 6 months from the date of this
letter. Please be advised, that no credit shall be received for viewing exhibits at professional
and/or technical meeting and conferences. You should be aware that the make up credit may not be
applied towards the current or any other licensing period.

B) Submit a written explanation along with sufficient proof to the Board and waive your
rights to a hearing. The Board will then consider your submission and render a final decision,
which may include any of the terms set forth above. Any disposition by way of a settlement will
be a public record, and will have the same effect as an order of the Board. Any failure to comply
with the terms to which you agree will be deemed a violation.

C) Finally, if you do not wish to settle this matter, you may request a formal public
administrative hearing. In that event, this letter will serve as notice of the charges against you
and a hearing will be scheduled before the Board. At the hearing, either personally or with the
assistance of an attorney, will have an opportunity to respond to the charges, submit evidence and
present testimony as may be necessary in order for the Board to make a final determination
concerning the charges of unlawful activity. You should be aware that in making its final decision,
the Board may, if unlawful activity has been proven, assess civil penalties in an amount greater
than that offered in this letter. Additionally, the Board may, if the facts are found to so warrant,
enter an order requiring you to reimburse certain monies, directing you to cease and desist from
engaging in unlawful acts and/or requiring vou to pay costs incurred in the matter.
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" The enclosed certification should be completed and returned to the Board within fifieen
(15) days following your receipt of this letter. In the event that the Board receives no response
from you within fifteen (15) days, the Board’s settlement offer will be withdrawn, and you will be
deemed in default. The allegations against you will be deemed yncontested. The Board will then
proceed to schedule the matter for final review and will enter an appropriate order. Once an order
has been entered, your failure to pay any penalties may result in further action to suspend or revoke
your practitioners license.

Should you have any questions concerning this letter of the settlement offer herein, I suggest that |
you contact Deputy Attorney General Meaghan Goulding, who may be reached at (973) 648-4741.

NEW JERSEY STATE
BOARD OF MORTUARY SCIENCE

\
By: é‘ 7 /}\KJLEA
Quin Archer
Executive Director




