FILED

APR Co LU STATE OF NEW JERSEY
DEPARTMENT OF LAW & PUBLIC SAFETY
N.J. BOARD OF NURSING DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS

BOARD OF NURSING

IN THE MATTER OF THE LICENSE OF : Administrative Action

FINAL ORDER

: WITHDRAWING
JENNIFER LYNN ROMALIN, A.P.N. R.N. : PROVISIONAL
APN # 26NJ00345000 : ORDER OF
RN # 26NR11625600 : DISCIPLINE

TO PRACTICE NURSING IN THE
STATE OF NEW JERSEY

This matter was opened to the New Jersey State Board of
Nursing (“Board”) upon receipt of information which the Board
has reviewed and upon which the following findings of fact and
conclusions of law are made:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Jennifer Lynn Romalin (“Respondent”) i1s an Advanced
Practice Nurse and a Registered Professional Nurse in the State
of New Jersey and has been a licensee at all times relevant
hereto.

2. On or about May 22, 2014, Respondent completed and
submitted an online biénnial renewal application which asked
whether Respondent would have “completed the required continuing
education credits by May 31, 2014,” referring to the biennial

renewal period of June 1, 2012 - May 31, 2014. Respondent
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answered ‘“yes” and certified that answer by submitting the
online application.

3. By letter dated April 14, 2015, the Board requested
Respondent to provide documentation of continuing education that
she had completed during her last biennial period of June 1,
2012 - May 31, 2014.

4. Respondent provided documentation of completing the
following continuing education:

11 hours within the 6/1/10-5/31/12 biennial period; and

14 hours within the 6/1/12-5/31/14 biennial period.

Respondent also provided a list of an additional 2.25 hours, but
the list did not contain sufficient information (the dates that
the courses were completed) to constitute proof of completion.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3(b), nurses are required to
complete a minimum of thirty (30) hours of continuing education
during the preceding biennial period in order to renew their
licenses. Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3(f), nurses are required
to maintain documentation of completion of continuing education
for a period of four years after completion, and shall submit
such documentation to the Board upon request.

Respondent failed to demonstrate, to the satisfaction of

the Board, that Respondent completed the continuing education
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credits required for renewal during the biennial periods of June
1, 2012 to May 31, 2014. The Board therefore finds Respondent in
violation of N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3(b) and 13:37-5.3(f), which in
turn subjects Respondent to sanctions pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-
21(e) and (h).

Respondent’s use of dishonesty and misrepresentation during
the 1license renewal process in falsifying her continuing
education information constitutes a violation of N.J.S.A. 45:1-
21(b), subjecting Respondent to sanctions.

DISCUSSION

Based on the foregoing findings and conclusions, a
Provisional Order of Discipline seeking a suspension, reprimand,
and a two hundred and fifty dollar ($250) civil penalty was
entered on December 29, 2015. Copies were served upon
Respondent via regular and certified mail. The Provisional
Order was subject to finalization by the Board at 5:00 p.m. on
the thirtieth day following entry unless Respondent requested a
modification or dismissal of the stated findings of fact and
conclusions of law by setting forth in writing any and all
reasons why said findings and conclusions should be modified or
dismissed and submitting any and all documents or other written
evidence supporting Respondent’s request for consideration and

reasons therefore.
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Regspondent replied to the Provisional Order of Digcipline
and provided acceptable documentation of timely completion of
all required continuing education in the June 1, 2008 - May Bi,
2010, June 1, 2010 - May 31, 2012, June 1, 2012 - May 31, 2014,
and June 1, 2014 - May 31, 2016 biennial renewal periods.

The Board reviewed Respondent’s submissions and determined
that further proceedings were not necessary. Respondent
demonstrated, to the satisfaction of the Board, that she had
completed sufficient continuing education, including the one
hour course on Organ and Tissue Dogg&fon.

day of?Aﬁjzhl‘/’ , 2016,

ACCORDINGLY, IT IS on this

ORDERED that:
1. The Provisional Order of Discipline filed on December

29, 2015, is hereby withdrawn in its entirety.

NEW JERSEY STATE BOARD OF NURSING

By:
Patricia Murphy,
Board Pregident
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