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BOARD OF NURSING

IN THE MATTER OF THE LICENSE OF : Administrative Action

E/PROVISIONAL ORDER
. OF DISCIPLINE
CARLTON SOTILLEO, R.N, :
License # 26N010363200 : M/FINAL ORDER
OF DISCIPLINE

jiblzed by default

TO PRACTICE NURSING IN THE “ﬁ )

STATE OF NEW JERSEY

This matter was opened to the New Jersey State Board of
Nursing (“Board”) upon receipt of information which the Board
has reviewed and upon which the following findings of fact and

conclusions of law are made:
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FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Carlton Sotilleo (“Respondent”) is a Registered
Profesgsgional Nurse in the State of New Jersey and has been a
licensee at all times relevant hereto. (Exhibit A).

2. On or about April 6, 2014, Respondent completed and
submitted an online biennial renewal application which asked
whether Respondent would have “completed the required continuing
education c¢redits by May 31, 2014” referring to the biennial
renewal period of June 1, 2012 - May 31, 2014. Respondent
answered “yes” and certified the answer by submitting the online
application. (Exhibit B).

3. By letter dated October 21, 2014, the Board asked
Respondent to provide proof of having completed required
continuing education during his last biennial renewal period of
June 1, 2012 - May 31, 2014. (Exhibit C).

4. Respondent replied and provided proof of completion of
the following continuing education:

6 hours within the 6/1/10 - 5/31/12 biennial period;

11.75 hours within the 6/1/12 - 5/31/14 biennial period; and
4 .25 hours within the 6/1/14 - 5/31/16 biennial period.
Respondent believed that he had timely completed all required
continuing education, but acknowledged that he had not kept

copies of his certificates of completion. He indicated that he
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would send additional documentation if he was able to obtain it.
The Board received no further response regarding continuing
education. (Exhibit D).

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 132:37-5.3(b), nurses are required to
complete a minimum of thirty (30) hours of continuing education
during the preceding biennial period in order to renew their
licenses. Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3(f), nurses are
required to maintain documentation of completion of continuing
education for a period of four years after completion, and shall
submit such documentation to the Board upon request.

Respondent failed to demonstrate, to the satisfaction of
the Board, that Respondent completed the continuing education
credits required for renewal during the biennial period of June
1, 2012 - May 31, 2014. The Board therefore finds Respondent in
violation of N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3(b) and 13:37-5.3(f), which in
turn subjects Respondent to sanctions pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-
21(e) and (h).

Respondént’s use of dishonesty and misrepresentation during
the license renewal process in falsifying his continuing
education information constitutes a violation of N.J.S.A. 45:1-

21 (b), subjecting Respondent to sanctions.

ACCORDINGLY, IT IS on this 3 day of be&f , 2015,
V
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ORDERED that upon the filing of a FINAL ORDER OF DISCIPLINE in
this matter:

1. Respondent’s license to practice nursing is suspended
until such time as Respondent provides proof of completion of
thirty hours of continuing education for each biennial renewal
period from June 1, 2012 until the time of reinstatement (an
additional 18.25% hours for the June 1, 2012 - May 31, 2015
biennial period; plus any hours towards the current biennial
period of June 1, 2014 - May 31, 2016).

2. Continuing education hours taken currently and applied
to cure the deficiency from the previous biennial period shall
not also be used to satisfy the requirements of the current
biennial period.

3. A reprimand is imposed on Respondent for falsifying the
continuing education information on his license renewal
application.

4. Respondent is assessed a civil penalty in the amount
of two hundred fifty dollars ($250) for failing to timely
complete required continuing education. Payment shall be made
by certified check, bank cashier check, or money order payable

3

to “State of New Jersey,” or by wire transfer, direct deposit, or
credit card payment delivered or mailed to Leslie Burgos, Board

Staff, 8tate Board of Nursing, P.O. Box 45010, Newark, New
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Jersey 07101. Any other form of payment will be rejected and
will be returned to the party making the payment. Payment shall
be made no later than fifteen (15) days after the date of filing
of a Final Order of Discipline. In the event Regpondent fails
to make a timely payment, a certificate of debt shall be filed
in accordance with N.J.S.A. 45:1-24 and the Board may bring such
other proceedings as authorized by law.

5. Respondent shall refrain from practicing as a nurse
and shall not represent himself as a Registered Professional
Nurse until such time as his license 1s reinstated. Any
practice in this State prior to reinstatement shall constitute
grounds for a charge of unlicensed practice.

6. The within order shall be subject to finalization by

the Board at 5:00 p.m. on the 3o0th day following entry hereof
unless Respondent requests a modification or dismissal of the
above stated Findings of Fact or Conclusions of Law by:

a) Submitting a written request for modification or
dismissal to Leslie Burgos, Board Staff, State Board of Nursing,
124 Halsey Street, Sixth Floor, P.0O. Box 45010, Newark, New
Jersey 07101.

b) Setting forth in writing any and all reasons why

said findings and conclusions should be modified or dismissed.
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<) Submitting any and all documents or other written
evidence supporting Respondent’s request for consideration and
reasons therefor or offered in mitigation of penalty.

7. Any submissions will be reviewed by the Board and the
Board will thereafter determine whether further proceedings are
necessary. If no material discrepancies are raised through a
supplemental submission during the thirty-day period, or if the
Board 1is not persuaded that the gsubmitted wmaterials merit
further consideration, a Final Order of Discipline will be
entered.,

8. In the event that Resgpondent’s submissions establish a
need for further proceedings, including, but not limited to an
evidentiary hearing, Respondent shéll be notified with regard
thereto. In the event that an evidentiary hearing is ordered,
the preliminary findings of fact and conclusions of law
contained herein may serve as notice of the factual and legal
allegations in such proceeding. Further, in the event a hearing

is held and upon review of the record, the Board shall not be

limited to the findings, conclusions and sanctions stated
herein.
9. In the event that the Board receives no written

submission from Respondent within 30 days following filing of

this Provisional Order of Discipline, without further Board
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review, the Provisional Order of Discipline shall automatically
become the Final Order of Discipline. The box for Final Order
of Discipline shall be checked, the Final Order of Discipline
shall be filed, and copies shall be mailed to Respondent.
Thereafter, Respondent’s failure to comply with any sanction or
penalty imposed by this Order shall be considered a violation of
a Board Order in contravention of N.J.S.A. 45:1-21 (e) and (h)
and N.J.A.C. 13:45C-1.4 and may subject Respondent to additional

sanction and/or penalty.

NEW JERSEY STATE BOARD OF NURSING

By:

Patricia Murphy, PhDﬂVAPNC?'
Board President -
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