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Dear Francis Givnish:

The New Jersey State Board of Mortuary Science (the “Board™) has had an opportunity to
teview your continuing education credits for the period of March 1, 2013 through February 28,
2015. Please be advised, that for the 2013- 2015 licensing period you were required to obtain
10 credits hours of continuing education in courses or programs approved by the Board,
which shall consist of twa credits in preneed, three credits in funeral directing ethics and in
New Jersey laws and rules relating to the practice of Mortuary Science. Pursuant to
N.J.A.C.13:36-10.3 the regulation also states that the credits in preneed and ethics/laws and
rules shall require in-person attendance. The Board has preliminarily determined that:

1. You sitbmitted a renewal application for the current biennial period in which you
indicated that you wanted your license placed on “active” status. You provided a payment of
$250.00, the appropriate fee for an “active” license. Accordingly, you were issued an “active”
license for the biennial period.

2. On the renewal application, you answered “YES” to question number 1, in which
states: “Will you have completed the required continuing education credits by February 28,
2015". On or about July 15,2015, you were directed by a letter sent via regular mail by the
~ Board, to submit proof that you have completed these credits.
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3. Upon review of your matter, it appears that you failed to complete the minimum credit
hours for the 2013-2015 biennial license renewal as defined in N.J.A.C.13:36-10.3, more
specifically, you failed to obtain two credits in preneed, failed to obtain 1 credit in ethics/law,
applied the same course (“Crematory Due Diligence”) twice during the reporting period and
applied “Better informed, Better Able to Serve” towards credits for this reporting period although
it was completed June 16, 2015. Finally, it appears that you took two additional courses
“Concrete Burial Vault Construction...... and Unlocking the Value of the Funeral.....” that are not
Board-approved courses. Since you failed to obtain the required 10 continuing education credits
during the appropriate time period for the renewal of your license, you are in violation of
N.J.S.A.45:7-72.1 and N.J.A.C.13:36-10.3 et. seq., which is grounds for disciplinary action
pursuant to N.J S.A.45:1-21(h). :

4. By failing to complete the required continuing education credits after submitting a
renewal application in which you indicated that you will have completed the required continuing
education credits by February 28, 2015, you have failed to comply with the provision outlined in

N.J.A.C.13:36-10.3, which is grounds for disciplinary action pursuant to [N.J S.A45:0-
21(k). ' .

You are hereby offered the opportunity to settle this matter and avoid the initiation of formal
disciplinary proceedings by signing the enclosed certification and agreeing to one of the
following options:

A) Pay the penalty in the amount of $600.00 by certified check or money order, made
payable to the State of New Jersey within fifteen (15) days of receipt of this letter to maintain
an active Heense. The penalty must be accompanied by the enclosed certification and mailed to
the State Board of Mortuary Science, P.O. Box 45009, Newark, New Jersey, 07101, You must
also complete six (6) credit hours of continuing education in a Board-approved course as
defined in N.J.A.C.13:36-10.3, within 6 months from the date of this letter, more specifically,
out of the 6 six required credit hours, at least 2 credit hours must be in preneed (in person
attendance), and at least 1 credit hour must be in ethics/NJ laws (in person attendance). Please
be advised, that no credit shall be received for viewing exhibits at professional and/or technical
meeting and conferences. You should be aware that the make up credit may not be applied
towards the current or any other licensing period.

B) Submit a written explanation along with sufficient proof to the Board and waive
your rights to & hearing. The Board will then consider your submission and render a final
decision, which may include any of the terms set forth above. Any disposition by way of a
settlement will be a public record, and will have the same effect as an order of the Board. Any
failure to comply with the terms to which you agree will be deemed a violation.
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C) Finally, if you do not wish to settle this matter, you may request a formal public
administrative hearing. In that event, this letter will serve as notice of the charges against you
and a hearing will be scheduled before the Board. At the hearing, either personally or with the
assistance of an attorney, will have an opportunity to respond to the charges, submit evidence and
present testimony as may be necessary in order for the Board to make a final determination
concerning the charges of unlawful activity. You should be aware that in making its final 7
decision, the Board may, if unlawful activity has been proven, assess civil penalties in an amount
greater than that offered in this letter. Additionally, the Board may, if the facts are found to so
warrant, enter an order requiring you to reimburse certain monies, directing you to cease and
desist from engaging in unlawful acts and/or requiring you to pay costs incurred in the matter.

The enclosed certification should be completed and returned to the Board within fifteen
(15) days following your receipt of this letter. In the event that the Board receives no response
from you within fifteen(15) days, the Board’s settlement offer will be withdrawn, and you will
be deemed in default. The allegations against you will be deemed uncontested. The Board will
then proceed to schedule the matter for final review and will enter an appropriate order. Once an
order has been entered, your failure to pay any penalties may result in further action to suspend or
revoke your practitioners license.

Should you have any questions concerning this letter of the settlement offer herein, I suggest that
you contact Deputy Attomey General Meaghan Goulding, who may be reached at (973) 648-
4741. ‘
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