STATE OF NEW JERSEY

DEPARTMENT OF LAW & PUBLIC SAFETY
DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS
STATE BOARD OF NURSING

IN THE MATTER OF THE SUSPENSION OR

REVOCATION OF THE CERTIFICATION OF : ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION
Natasha M. Schenck, C.H.H.A, : FI AL gnéén
Certificata No. 26NH(2958500 ISCIPLINE

SRS

TO PRACTICE AS A :
HOMEMAKER-HOME HEALTH AIDE :
IN THE STATE OF NEW JERSEY :

This matter was opened to the New Jersey State Board of
Nursing (the “Board”) wupon receipt of information which the
Board has reviewed and upon which the following findings of fact

and conclusions of law are made:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Natasha Schenck {*Regspondent”) is a certified
homemaker-home health aide in the State of New Jersey and has
been a licensee at all times relevant hereto.

2. The Board received information indicating that
Respondent was arrested on January 29, 2015 by the Moorestown
Township Police Department for Credit Card Theft, in violation
of N.J.S8.A. 2C:21-6C{(1). It was alleged that Respondent stole a
credit card from the roommate of a patient Respondent was

assigned to care for. Respondent pled guilty and on April 2,
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2015 and was convicted of N.J.S.A. 2C:20-3A and sentenced to one
(1) year probation, restitution of $2606.59 and fifty (50) hours
of community service.

3. Respondent sent the Board a letter dated August 9,
2015, which stated that the incident was a lie and that she pled
not guilty. Respondent also provided the Board with a New
Jersey Bail Recognizance Form.

4, Respondent has been convicted of a crime relating
adversely to the practice of homemaker-home health aide practice
which provides a basis for disciplinary action under N.J.S.A,
45:1-21(f) .

- DISCUSSION

Based on the foregoing findings and conclusions, a
Provisional Order of discipline seeking a five year suspension
and a two thousand five hundred dollar ($2500) ciwvil peﬁalty was
entered on August 25, 2015. A copy was served on Respondent via
regular and certified mail to her last known address of record.
The Provisional Order was subject to finalization by the Board
at 5:00 p.m. on the 30th business day following entry unless
Respondent requested a modification or dismissal of the stated
Findings of Fact or Conclusions of law by submitting a written
request for modification or dismissal setting forth in writing

any and all reasons why said findings and conclusions should be

Page 2 of 5



modified or dismissed and submitting any and all documents or
other written evidence supporting Respondent’s reguest for
consideration and reasons therefore.

Respondent replied to the Provisional Order by providing a
letter to the Board apologizing for her mistake, pleading for
the Board to consider that she does not have a support system
and cannot afford to have her license suspended. She also
related that she loves caring for others. She indicated that
her questionable judgment was due to her failure to take her
medication. Respondent also provided a mental health outpatient
treatment plan that she was undergoing.

The Board reviewed Respondent’s submissions and determined
that further proceedings were not necessary and that no material
discrepancies had been raised. The Board was not persuaded that
the submitted materials merited further consideration, as the
Respondent did not dispute the findings of fact or conclusions
of law. Respondent was convicted of a crime adverse to the

practice of being a certified homemaker-home health aide.

ACCORDINGLY, IT IS on this 64k day of MNJ\ , 2016,

ORDERED that:

1. Regpondent’s certificate to‘puactice as a homemaker-

home health aide is hereby suspended for a period of five (5)
years.

Page 3 of 5



2. Respondent shall refrain from engaging in the practice
as a homemaker-home health aide and shall not represent herself
as a homemaker-home health aide wuntil such time as her
certification is reinstated. Any practice in this State prior
to such reinstatement shall constitute grounds for a charge of
unlicensed practice.

3. Respondent is assessed a civil penalty in the amount
of two thousand five hundred>dollars ($2500) . Payment shall be
made by certified check, bank cashier check, or money order
payable to "State of New Jersey,” or by wire transfer, direct
deposit, or credit card payment delivered or mailed to Twalema
Khonje, State Board of Nursing, P.0. Box 45010, Newark, New
Jersey 07101. Any other form of payment will be rejected and
will be returned to the party making the payment. Payment shall
be made no later than fifteen (15) days after the date of filing
of a FINAL ORDER OF DISCIPLINE. In the event Respondent fails
to make a timely payment, a certificate of debt shall be filed
in accordance with N.J.S.A. 45:1-24 and the Board may bring such
other proceedings as authorized by law.

4, Respondent shall, within 5 (five) days, mail her
certificate, wall and wallet version, to practice as a
homemaker-home health aide to Twalema Khonje, State Board of

Nursing, P.0O. Box 45010, Newark, New Jersey 07101.
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5. Prior to any application for reinstatement, which
shall occur no earlier than five (5) years of the filed date of
this Final Order of Discipline, Respondent shall appear before
the Board and demonstrate, to the satisfaction of the Board,
that she has satisfied all criminal sentencing terms and
penalties and that she is fit and competent and can safely
engage in practice as a homemaker-home health aide.

6, If Respondent’s certification to practice as a
homemaker-home health aide is reinstated, the Board, in its
discretion, may impose any conditions or restrictions on
licensure it deems necessary to protect the public health,

safety and welfare.

7. Any violation of this order by Respondent shall
constitute grounds for such proceedings as are permitted by law.

8. The Board reserves the right to initiate disciplinary

proceedings based upon new information the Board receives.

NEW JERS TATE BOARD OF NURSING
Patricia Murphy, ﬁﬁD, APN
President

By:
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