PROVISIONAL
ORDER OF DISCIPLINE

FILED
DEC 23 2015

N.J. BOARD OF NURSING

FINAL
R OF DISCIPUNE

FILED
JOHN J. HOFFMAN

ACTING ATTORNEY GENERAIL OF NEW JERSEY MAY 17 ZMG
Division of Law

124 Halsey Street, 5" Floor
P.O. Box 45029

N.J. BOARD OF NURSING

Newark, New Jersey 07101
Attorney for the State Board of Nursing

By: Barbara J.K. Lopez
Deputy Attorney General
(973) 648-7454

STATE OF NEW JERSEY

DEPARTMENT OF LAW & PUBLIC SAFETY
DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS
BOARD OF NURSING

IN THE MATTER OF THE LICENSE OF : Administrative Action

E(PROVISIONAL ORDER

: OF DISCIPLINE
LINA ARANDA, R.N.: : .
F

License # 26NR06346200 INAL ORDER
OF DISCIPLINE
: ﬁlzed default
TO PRACTICE NURSING IN THE : on% l&/}l f

STATE OF NEW JERSEY

This matter was opened to the New Jersey State Board of
Nursing (“Board”) upon receipt of information which the Board
has reviewed and upon which the following findings of fact and

conclusions of law are made:
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FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Lina Aranda (“Respondent”) is a Registered
Professional Nurse in the State of New Jersey and has been a
licensee at all times relevant hereto. (Exhibit A).

2. On or about April 4, 2014, Respondent completed and
submitted an online biennial renewal application which asked

whether Respondent would have “completed the required continuing

education credits by May 31, 2014,” referring to the biennial
renewal period of June 1, 2012 - May 31, 2014. Respondent
answered ‘“yesg.” Respondent was also asked whether she had

completed the required continuing education on organ and tissue
donation. Respondent answered “no.” Respondent certified her
answers by submitting the online application. (Exhibit B).

3. On or about May 13, 2015, Respondent was requested to

provide documentation of continuing education that she had

completed within her last renewal period of June 1, 2012 - May
31, 2014. (Exhibit C).

4. Respondent acknowledged that she had not completed 30
hours of continuing education within the June 1, 2012 - May 31,

2014 biennial renewal period. She provided proof of completion
of the following continuing education:
37 hours within 6/1/10 - 5/31/12;

2 hours within 6/1/12 - 5/31/14;

Page 2 of 7



31 hours within 6/1/14 - 5/31/16.
Respondent further failed to provide documentation for the

required continuing education on Organ and Tissue Donation.

(Exhibit D).
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3(b), nurses are required to

complete a minimum of thirty (30) hours of continuing education
during the preceding biehnial period in order to renew their
licenses. Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3(f), nurses are required
to maintain documentation of completion of continuing education
for a period of four years after completion, and shall submit
such documentation to the Board upon request.

Respondent failed to demonstrate, to the satisfaction of
the Board, that Respondent completed the continuing education
credits required for renewal during the biennial period of June
1, 2012 to May 31, 2014. The Boafd therefore finds Respondent in
violation of N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3(b) and 13:37-5.3(f), which in
turn subjects Respondent to sanctions pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-
21(e) and (h).

Respondent’s use of dishonesty and misrepresentation during
the license renewal process in falsifying her continuing
education information constitutes a violation of N.J.S.A. 45:1-

21(b), subjecting Respondent to sanctions.
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Respondent can carry over the 7 excess hours from June 1,
2010 - May 31, 2012, giving her a total of 9 hours for the June
1, 2012 - May 31, 2014 biennial renewal period. Respondent may
apply 21 of the 31 hours recently completed in May 2015 to cure
the deficiency of the June 1, 2012 - May 31, 2014 biennial
perlod and avoid suspension of her llcense on that basis.

ACCORDINGLY, IT IS on this m day o;DQﬂ/@ M\QXL 2015,

ORDERED that upon the filing of a FINAL ORDER OF DISCIPLINE in

this matter:

1. Continuing education hours taken after May 31, 2014
and applied to cure the deficiency from the previous biennial
period shall not be used to satisfy the requirements of the
current  biennial period. Respondent shall complete an
additional 20 hours of continuing education prior to May 31,
2016.

2. A reprimand i1is imposed on Respondent for falsifying
the continuing education information on her license renewal
application.

3. Respondent is assessed a civil penalty in the amount
of two hundred and fifty dollars ($250) for failing to timely
complete required continuing education. Payment shall be made
by certified check, bank cashier check, or money order payable

to “State of New Jersey,” or by wire transfer, direct deposit, or
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credit card payment delivered or mailed to Leslie Burgos, Board
staff, State Board of Nursing, P.0O. Box 45010, Newark, New
Jersey 07101. Any other form of payment will be rejected and
will be returned to the party making the payment. Payment shall
be made no later than fifteen (15) days after the date of filing
of a Final Order of Discipline. In the event Respondent fails
Lo make a timely payment, a certificate of debt shall be filed
in accordance with N.J.S.A. 45:1-24 and the Board may bring such
other proceedings as authorized by law.

4. The within order shall be subject to finalization by

the Board at 5:00 p.m. on the 30th day following entry hereof
unless Respondent requests a modification or dismissal of the
above stated Findings of Fact or Conclusions of Law by:

a) Submitting a written request for modification or
dismissal to Leslie Burgos, Board Staff, State Board of Nursing,
124 Halsey' Street, Sixth Floor, P.0O. Box 45010, Newark, New
Jersey 07101.

b) Setting forth in writing any and all reasons why
said findings and conclusions should be modified or dismissed.

c) Submitting any and all documents or other written
evidence supporting Respondent’s request for consideration and

reasons therefor or offered in mitigation of penalty.
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5. Any submissions will be reviewed by the Board and the
Board will thereafter determine whether further proceedings are
necessary. If no material discrepancies are raised through a
supplemental submission during the thirty-day period, or if the
Board 1is not persuaded that the submitted materials merit
further consideration, a Final Order of Discipline will be
entered.

6. In the event that Respondent’s submissions establish a
need for further proceedings, including, but not limited to an
evidentiary hearing, Réspondent shall bé notified with regard
thereto. In the event that an evidentiary hearing is ordered,
the preliminary findings of fact and conclusions of law
contained herein may serve as notice of the factual and 1egai
allegations in such proceeding. Further, in the event a hearing

is held and upon review of the record, the Board shall not be

limited to the findings, conclusions and sanctions stated
herein. ’
7. In the event that the Board receives no written

submission from Respondent within 30 days following filing of
this Provisional Order of Discipline, without further Board
review, the Provisional Order of Discipline shall automatically
become the Final Order of Discipline. The box for Final Order

of Discipline shall be checked, the Final Order of Discipline

Page & of 7



shall be filed, and copies shall be mailed to Respondent.
Thereafter, Respondent’s failure to comply with any sanction or
penalty imposed by this Order shall be considered a violation of
a Board Order in contravention of N.J.S.A. 45:1-21 (e) and (h)
and N.J.A.C. 13:45C-1.4 and may subject Respondent to additional

sanction and/or penalty.

NEW JERSEY STATE BOARD OF NURSING

By:

R

fPatricia Murphy, Pﬁﬁ,
Board President

Page 7 of 7



