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STATE OF NEW JERSEY

DEPARTMENT OF LAW & PUBLIC SAFETY

DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS

BOARD OF NURSING

IN THE MATTER OF THE LICENSE OF Administrative Action

FINAL ORDER
DORIS ASIRIFI, RN OF DISCIPLINE
License # 26NR12779900

TO PRACTICE NURSING IN THE

STATE OF NEW JERSEY

This matter was opened to the New Jersey State Board of

Nursing ("Board") upon receipt of information which the Board

has reviewed and upon which the following findings of fact and

conclusions of law are made:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Doris Asirifi ("Respondent") is a Registered

Professional Nurse in the State of New Jersey and has been a

licensee at all times relevant hereto.
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2. On or about April 10, 2014, Respondent completed and

submitted an online biennial renewal application. Respondent

was asked on the biennial renewal application whether Respondent

would have "completed the required continuing education credits

by May 31, 2014," referring to the biennial renewal period of

June 1, 2012 to May 31, 2014. Respondent answered "Yes" and

certified that answer by submitting the online application.

Respondent also answered "Yes" to the question which asked

whether Respondent completed the required one hour course on

Organ and Tissue Donation.

3. The Board sent a letter of inquiry requesting, in

part, documentation of completed continuing education to

Respondent's address of record in Union, New Jersey, via regular

and certified mail on or about May 21, 2015. (Exhibit C).

4. Respondent provided 60.5 hours of continuing

documentation of continuing education that were completed in

July 2015, after the May 31, 2014 deadline.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3(b), nurses are required to

complete a minimum of thirty (30) hours of continuing education

during the preceding biennial period in order to renew their

licenses. By February 7, 2014, every Registered Professional

Nurse was required to complete a one hour course on organ and
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tissue donation in accordance with N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3(j).

Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3(f), nurses are required to

maintain documentation of completion of continuing education for

a period of four years after completion, and shall submit such

documentation to the Board upon request.

Respondent failed to demonstrate, to the satisfaction of

the Board, that Respondent completed the continuing education

credits required for renewal during the biennial period of June

1, 2013 to May 31, 2015. The Board therefore finds Respondent

in violation of N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3(b) and 13:37-5.3(f), which in

turn subjects Respondent to sanctions pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-

21(e) and (h) .

Respondent's use of dishonesty and misrepresentation during

the license renewal process in falsifying the continuing

education information constitutes a violation of N.J.S.A . 45:1-

21(b), subjecting Respondent to sanctions.

ACCORDINGLY , IT IS on this day of 2016,

ORDERED that:

1. A reprimand is imposed on Respondent for misrepresenting

the continuing education information on the license renewal

application.

2. Respondent is assessed a civil penalty in the amount

of two hundred and fifty dollars ($250) for failing to timely
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complete required continuing education. Payment shall be made

by certified check, bank cashier check, or money order payable

to "State of New Jersey," or by wire transfer, direct deposit, or

credit card payment delivered or mailed to: Marc De Carlo, State

Board of Nursing, P . O. Box 45010 , Newark, New Jersey 07101. Any

other form of payment will be rejected and will be returned to

the party making the payment. Payment shall be made no later

than fifteen (15) days after the date of filing of a Final Order

of Discipline . In the event Respondent fails to make a timely

payment, a certificate of debt shall be filed in accordance with

N.J.S.A. 45:124 and the Board may bring such other proceedings

as authorized by law.

3. The within order shall be subject to finalization by

the Board at 5:00 p.m. on the 30th day following entry hereof

unless Respondent requests a modification or dismissal of the

above stated Findings of Fact or Conclusions of Law by:

a) Submitting a written request for modification or

dismissal to: Marc De Carlo, State Board of Nursing, 124 Halsey

Street, Sixth Floor, P.O. Box 45010, Newark, New Jersey 07101.

b) Setting forth in writing any and all reasons why

said findings and conclusions should be modified or dismissed.
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C) Submitting any and all documents or other written

evidence supporting Respondent's request for consideration and

reasons therefor or offered in mitigation of penalty.

4. Any submissions will be reviewed by the Board and the

Board will thereafter determine whether further proceedings are

necessary. If no material discrepancies are raised through a

supplemental submission during the thirty-day period, or if the

Board is not persuaded that the submitted materials merit

further consideration, a Final Order of Discipline will be

entered.

5. In the event that Respondent's submissions establish a

need for further proceedings, including, but not limited to an

evidentiary hearing, Respondent shall be notified with regard

thereto. In the event that an evidentiary hearing is ordered,

the preliminary findings of fact and conclusions of law

contained herein may serve as notice of the factual and legal

allegations in such proceeding. Further, in the event a hearing

is held and upon review of the record, the Board shall not be

limited to the findings, conclusions and sanctions stated

herein.

6. In the event that the Board receives no written

submission from Respondent within 30 days following filing of

this Provisional Order of Discipline, without further Board
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review, the Provisional Order of Discipline shall automatically

become the Final Order of Discipline . The box for Final Order

of Discipline shall be checked , the Final Order of Discipline

shall be filed, and copies shall be mailed to Respondent.

Thereafter , Respondent ' s failure to comply with any

sanction or penalty imposed by this Order shall be considered a

violation of a Board Order in contravention of N.J . S.A. 45:1-21

(e) and (h) and N.J.A . C. 13:45C-1.4 and may subject Respondent

to additional sanction and/or penalty.

By:
Patricia Murphy, PhD vAP

Board President
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