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STATE OF NEW JERSEY

DEPARTMENT OF LAW & PUBLIC SAFETY
&JBOAMDQFNUR&NG DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS
BOARD COF NURSING

IN THE MATTER OF THE LICENSE OF
ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION

SHARON E. VERNON, RN : FINAL ORDER
License # 26NR11824700 : OF DISCIPLINE

TO PRACTICE NURSING IN THE
STATE OF NEW JERSEY

This matter was opened to the New Jersey State Board of
Nursing (“Board”) upon receipt of information which the Board has
reviewed and upon which the following findings of fact and
conclusions of law are made:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Sharon E. Vernon (“Respondent”) 1s a Registered
Professional Nurse in the State of New Jersey and has been a
licensee at all times relevant hereto.

2. In a case brought by the Insurance Fraud Prosecutor,
Respondent was indicted on December 4, 2013, for one count of
Alteration of Record Relating to Care of Medical Patient.

3. Respondent was admitted to Pre-Trial Intervention, which

included an additional condition that Respondent’s nursing license
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would be suspended for 90 days separate and apart from any action
taken by the New Jersey Board of Nursing.

4. Respondent provided testimony at a first deposition
denying that her handwriting appeared on an October 10, 2007
incident report involving a particular patient. At a second
deposition, she identified her handwriting on multiple patient
records and provided a handwriting sample. At a third deposition,
she recanted her testimony and admitted that while working as the
Director of Nursing for a nursing and rehabilitation center, she
rewrote the incident report which contained different information
than had been initially reported by another nurse. Respondent
maintained that she rewrote the report after a surveyor appeared at
the facility unannounced and she believed the initial report would
have resulted in a deficiency for the facility if it was presented
to the surveyor.

5. During deposition testimony, Respondent admitted that she
filled in blank spaces on Medication Administration Records (MAR)
and Treatment Administration Records (TAR) but later maintained
that she would notice mistakes such as missing signatures or dates
in the MAR and TAR and would have the nurse who administered the
medication or treatment correct them.

6. On or about April 23, 2012, Respondent completed and

submitted an online biennial renewal application. Respondent was
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asked whether she would have “completed the required continuing
education credits by May 31, 2012,” referring to the biennial
renewal period of June 1, 2010 - May 31, 2012. Respondent answered
“ves” and certified that answer by submitting the online
application.

7. On or about June 23, 2014, Respondent completed and
submitted an online biennial renewal application. Respondent was
asked whether she would have “completed the required continuing
education credits by May 31, 2014,” referring to the biennial
renewal period of June 1, 2012 - May 31, 2014. Respondent answered
“ves” and certified that answer by submitting the online
application. Respondent was also asked whether she would have
“completed the 1 hour continuing education course on Organ and
Tissue Donation by May 31, 2014.” Respondent answered “no” and
certified that answer by submitting the online application.

8. Respondent did not provide evidence of having completed
any hours of continuing education within the June 1, 2010 - May 31,
2012 biennial period. Respondent provided certificates which
indicated that she completed 34 hours of continuing education
within the June 1, 2012 - May 31, 2014 biennial period, but
admitted she did not complete the one hour course on Organ and

Tissue Donation.
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SUBSEQUENT PROCEDURAL HISTORY

Based on the Findings of Fact above and the Conclusions of Law
below, a Provisional Order of Discipline (“POD”) seeking a 90-day
suspension; imposition of a reprimand; a two thousand seven hundred
and fifty dollar ($2,750) civil penalty; and a requirement that
Respondent take an ethics course, was entered on November 18, 2015.
The c¢ivil penalty was to be an aggregate penalty, which was to
include a penalty in the amount of two thousand five hundred
dollars ($2,500) for the conduct involving alteration and
falsification of reports and records, and two hundred and fifty
dollars ($250) for failing to timely complete required continuing
education. Copies were forwarded to Respondent in Somerset, New
Jersey at her last known address on file with the Board. The POD
was subject to finalization by the Board at 5:00 p.m. on the 30%
day following entry unless Respondent requested a modification or
dismissal of the stated Findings of Fact or Conclusions of Law by
submitting a written request for modification or dismissal setting
forth in writing any and all reasons why said findings and
conclusions should be modified or dismissed and submitting any and
all documents or other written evidence supporting Respondent’s
request for consideration and reasons therefore.

Respondent replied to the POD via multiple written submissions

and provided proof of acceptance into the Somerset County Pretrial
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Intervention Program (“PTI”), and completion of certain continuing
education hours and an ethics course. Notably, the PTI Order,
which stipulated that Respondent’s nursing license was to be
suspended for 90 days, also stated that Respondent would be subject
to any additional discipline the Board imposed. In her
submissions, Respondent noted that subsequent to entering into PTI,
and pursuant to the PTI Order, Respondent took a 90-day hiatus from
her job as the Director of Nursing for a nursing and rehabilitation
center and from the practice of nursing in the State of New Jersey.
Respondent requested that the 90-day suspension sought in the POD
be considered retroactively served by the 90-day hiatus Respondent
took from her job and from her practice as a nurse in this State.
Respondent maintained that because she is the sole supporter of her
family, including extended family members, any further time away
from her job would constitute an undue hardship. Respondent also
indicated via submission of continuing education certificates that
she completed a two-hour course in nursing ethics.

The Attorney General replied to Respondent’s submission,
recommending that the POD be finalized as drafted except that
Respondent should be given credit for proof of completion of the
following continuing education:

0 hours within June 1, 2010 - May 31, 2012;

34 hours within June 1, 2012 - May 31, 2014;

31 hours within June 1, 2014 - May 31, 2016, including the one
hour course on organ and tissue donation.
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Specifically, the Attorney General noted that Regpondent could
apply 30 hours completed during the June 1, 2014 - May 31, 2016
biennial period to cure the deficiency of the June 1, 2010 - May
31, 2012, biennial period. The excess 4 hours from the 2012 -
2014 period plus the excess 1 hour from the current period total
5 hours, which can be applied toward the requirement for the
current period. The Attorney General noted that Respondent must
therefore complete an additional 25 hours of continuing
education prior to May 31, 2016, to satisfy the requirements of
the current biennial period.

Respondent’s and the Attorney General’s submissions were
reviewed by the Board, and the Board has determined that further
proceedings are not necessary and that no material factual
discrepancies have been raised.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The Board finds that by rewriting and recreating the incident
report, and in consideration of Respondent’s involvement with
filling in blank spaces on, or altering, the MAR and TAR,
Respondent has engaged in: acts constituting a crime or offense
relating adversely to the practice of nursing thereby subjecting
her to discipline within the intendment of N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(f); the

use or employment of fraud, deception, and misrepresentation
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subjecting her to discipline pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(b); and
professional misconduct thereby subjecting her to discipline
pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(e).

Regarding continuing education, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:37-
5.3(b), nurses are required to complete a minimum of thirty‘(BO)
hours of continuing education during the preceding biennial period
in order to renew their licenses. Since Respondent has cured the
continuing education deficiency by application of subsequently-
taken continuing education credits to a prior biennial renewal
period, suspension and imposition of a fine on that basis are no
longer warranted. Additionally, the Board deems Respondent to have
completed an ethics course by way of her completion of two hours of
continuing education entitled Nursing Ethics on or about January
25, 2016. Finally, the Board deems Respondent to have served a 90-

day suspension provided in the Provisional Order of Discipline by

way of the 90-day hiatus Respondent took from her job and from the

practice of nursing in this State.gr i
ACCORDINGLY, IT IS on this ‘ day of"h&b\\i& , 2016,

ORDERED that:

1. A reprimand is imposed on Respondent for her violations
of N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(b), (e), and (f).

2. Respondent’s license to practice nursing in the State of
New Jersey is hereby suspended for ninety (90) days. Respondent
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shall receive credit on the suspension, which is deemed served via
Respondent’s 90-day hiatus from her job and from the practice of
nursing in this State between on or about April 17, 2014 and August
11, 2014.

3. Respondent must provide the Board within fifteen (15)
days of the date of this Order with proof of completion of twenty-
five (25) hours of continuing education credits completed between
June 1, 2014 - May 31, 2016 to satisfy the continuing education
requirements of the current biennial period. Continuing education
hours taken currently and applied to cure the deficiency from a
previous biennial period shall not be used to satisfy the
requirements of the current biennial period.

4. Respondent shall complete a course in ethics. Such
requirement is to be applied retroactively and is hereby deemed
served by Respondent’s completion of a two-hour course entitled
Nursing Ethics completed by Respondent on or about January 25,
2016. These credit hours shall not count towards, and shall be in
addition to, the continuing education requirements addressed in
paragraph 3, directly above.

5. Respondent is assessed a civil penalty in the amount of
two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) for the aforementioned
conduct involving the report and records. Payment shall be made by

certified check, bank cashier check, or money order payable to
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“State of New Jersey,” or by wire transfer, direct deposit, or
credit card payment delivered or mailed to Leslie Burgos, State
Board of Nursing, P.O. Box 45010, Newark, New Jersey 07101, Any
other form of payment will be rejected and will be returned to the
party making the payment. Payment shall be made no later than
fifteen (15) days after the date of filing of this Order. In the
event Respondent fails to make a timely payment, a certificate of
debt shall be filed in accordance with N.J.S.A. 45:1—24 and the

Board may bring such other proceedings as authorized by law.

NEW JERSE

D OF NURSING

By:

174

Patricia Murphy, PhD, APN
Board President
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