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This matter was opened to the New Jersey State Board of
Nursing (“Board”) upon receipt of information which the Board has
reviewed and upon which the following findings of fact and
conclusions of law are made:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Scott Steward (“Respondent”) is a licensed practical
nurse in the State of New Jersey, and has been a licensee at all
times relevant hereto.

2. On or about April 15, 2015, a letter of inquiry was sent

to Respondent on behalf of the Board, asking for information and



documentation concerning an arrest on April 15, 2015 on assault-
related charges, and for information relating to his nursing
practice. The documentation requested included documentation, in
the form of certificates of completion, of continuing education
completed within the last three years.

3. The letter of inquiry was sent to Respondent at his
address of record by certified and regular mail. The certified
mailing of the letter was returned, unclaimed. The regular mailing
was not returned. No response has been received to date.

4. Respondent indicated, on his 2014 renewal application,
that he would complete required nursing continuing education for
the 2012-2014 licensing cycle by May 31, 2014.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. Respondent’s failure to respond to a Board inquiry
constitutes a failure to cooperate with a Board investigation in
violation of N.J.A.C. 13:45C-1.2, -1.3, subjecting Respondent to
sanctions pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(e) and (h).

2. Respondent’s failure to document completion of required
nursing continuing education is deemed to constitute a violation of
N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3, subjecting Respondent to sanctions pursuant to
N.J.5.A. 45:1-21(e) and (h).

3. Respondent’s indication on his 2014 renewal application

that he would complete all required nursing continuing education



for the 2012-2014 licensing cycle by May 31, 2014 is deemed to

constitute misrepresentation in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(b).

DISCUSSION

Based on the foregoing findings and conclusions, a Provisional
Order of Discipline seeking a suspension of Respondent’s nursing
license, a reprimand, and seven hundred fifty dollars ($750) in
aggregate civil penalties was entered on August 20, 2015. The
Provisional Order was subject to finalization by the Board at 5:00
p.m. on the 30" business day following entry unless Respondent
requested a modification or dismissal of the stated Findings of
Fact or Conclusions of Law.

In response to the Provisional Order, Respondent provided the
information and documentation that the Board had originally
requested in April 2015. Respondent had not received the original
letter of inquiry because he had failed to timely notify the Board
of his change of address. Regarding the criminal matter,
Respondent explained that it pertained to a domestic incident with
his then wife and that the charges were dismissed.

Regarding continuing education, Respondent provided proof of
completion of the following hours of continuing education:

0 hours within the June 1, 2012 - May 31, 2014 period;

30 hours within the June 1, 2014 - May 31, 2016 period.



Resgpondent acknowledged that he had not timely completed the
required continuing education within the June 1, 2012 - May 31,
2014 biennial period, but he completed 30 hours in November 2015 to
cure that deficiency.

The Board reviewed Respondent’s submissions and determined
that further proceedings were not necessary and that no material
discrepancies had been raised. The Board was not persuaded that
the submitted materials merited further congideration, as
Respondent did not dispute the findings of fact or conclusions of
law. Inasmuch as Respondent provided the information originally
requested, the Board determined that suspension was no longer
warranted. However, the Board determined that Respondent’s failure
to respond to the original inquiry, thereby necessitating the
filing of the Provisional Order of Discipline, and review of
Respondent’s subsequent reply months later, warrants imposition of
a five hundred dollar ($500) civil penalty. Additionally,
Respondent’s failure to timely complete required continuing
education within the June 1, 2012 - May 31, 2014 biennial period
warrants a two hundred and fifty dollar ($250) civil penalty. A
reprimand is warranted for Respondent’s answer whereby he certified
that he had timely completed the required continuing education when

he had not.
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ACCORDINGLY, IT IS on this é day of .gzkﬁ%tﬂtt%J;T*ZOIS,
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ORDERED that:

1. A reprimand is hereby imposed for the violation of
N.J.S5.A. 45:1-21(b).

2. A civil penalty in the total amount of seven hundred and
fifty dollars ($750) is hereby imposed, which includes civil
penalties of five hundred dollars ($500) for Respondent’s failure
to respond to the Board’s inquiry and two hundred and fifty dollars
($250) for Respondent’s failure to timely complete continuing
education. Payment shall be made by certified check, bank cashier
check, or money order payable to “State of New Jersey,” or by wire
transfer, direct deposit, or credit card payment delivered or
mailed to State Board of Nursing, Attention: Leslie Burgos, P.O.
Box 45010, Newark, New Jersey 07101. Any other form of payment
will be rejected and will be returned to the party making the
payment. Payment shall be made no later than twenty-one (21) days
after the date of filing of this Final Order of Discipline. 1In the
event Respondent fails to make a timely payment, a certificate of
debt shall be filed in accordance with N.J.S.A. 45:1-24 and the
Board may bring such other proceedings as authorized by law.

3. Continuing education taken after May 31, 2014 and applied
to cure the deficiency of a previous biennial period shall not also
be used to satisfy the requirements of the current or any other

biennial period. Respondent shall complete 30 hours of continuing



education per biennial period in addition to any hours that were

applied to cure a previous deficiency.

NEW JERSEY STATE BOARD OF NURSING

By :

/s
Patricia Murphy, PhﬂY<APN?’
Board President



