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This matter was opened to the New Jersey State Board of

Nursing ("Board") upon receipt of information which the Board has

reviewed and upon which the following findings of fact and

conclusions of law are made:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Rebecca Neequaye ("Respondent") is a licensed practical

nurse in the State of New Jersey, and has been a licensee at all

times relevant hereto.

2. On or about March 21, 2014, the Board wrote to Respondent

and asked, among other things, for documentation of completion, in

the form of certificates of completion, of required nursing

continuing education for the June 1, 2010 - May 31, 2012 licensing

cycle.
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3. Respondent's reply to the communication consisted of

documentation of completion of sixty (60) contact hours of

qualifying continuing education completed on March 31, 2014 and May

30, 2014.

4. Respondent was again contacted by certified and regular

mail at her address of record on behalf of the Board, and advised

that she had not provided documentation indicating that she had

completed any nursing continuing education during the June 1, 2010

- May 31, 2012 licensing cycle. The certified mailing was returned,

unclaimed. The regular mailing was not returned. No response was

received which included documentation of any continuing education

completed during the June 1, 2010 - May 31, 2012 licensing cycle.

5. Respondent indicated on her 2012 renewal application that

all required continuing education for the June 1, 2010 - May 31,

2012 cycle would be completed by May 31, 2012. She also indicated

in her initial response to the Board's inquiry that she had

completed required continuing education for the June 1, 2010 - May

31, 2012 licensing cycle.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3, all licensees are required to

complete thirty (30) contact hours of qualifying continuing

education by May 31 of the year in which renewal of license takes

place. Although Respondent sent in documentation of completion of

sixty (60) contact hours of continuing education completed in March
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and May of 2014, and may apply thirty (30) of those hours to cure

the deficiency of her June 1, 2010 - May 31, 2012 obligation, she

failed to timely complete her obligation for June 1, 2010 - May 31,

2012 in violation of N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3.

Respondent's indication on her 2012 renewal application that

she would complete all required continuing education by May 31,

2012 for the June 1, 2010 - May 31, 2012 licensing cycle

constitutes misrepresentation in violation of N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(b).

DISCUSSION

Based on the foregoing findings and conclusions, a Provisional

Order of Discipline seeking a reprimand and a two hundred fifty

dollar ($250) civil penalty was entered on December 23, 2015. The

Provisional Order was subject to finalization by the Board at 5:00

p.m. on the 30th business day following entry unless Respondent

requested a modification or dismissal of the stated Findings of

Fact or Conclusions of Law.

Respondent replied to the Provisional Order by providing

documentation of thirty seven (37) contact hours of qualifying

continuing education completed in January 2016. As such,

Respondent has provided documentation of completion of the

following continuing education:

0 hours within the June 1, 2010 - May 31, 2012 period;

60 hours within the June 1, 2012 - May 31, 2014 period; and

37 hours within the June 1, 2014 - May 31, 2016 period.
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The Board reviewed Respondent's submissions and determined

that further proceedings were not necessary and that no material

discrepancies had been raised. The Board was not persuaded that

the submitted materials merited further consideration, as

Respondent did not dispute the findings of fact or conclusions of

law. Respondent did not timely complete her continuing education

requirement for the June 1, 2010 - May 31, 2012, licensing cycle.

As a result, both the reprimand and two hundred fifty dollar ($250)

civil penalty are warranted.

ACCORDINGLY , IT IS on this ( day of 2016,

ORDERED that:

1. A reprimand is hereby imposed for, the violation of

N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(b).

2. A two hundred fifty dollar ($250) civil penalty is hereby

imposed for the violation of N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3. Payment shall be

made by certified check, bank cashier check, or money order payable

to "State of New Jersey," or by wire transfer, direct deposit, or

credit card payment delivered or mailed to State Board of Nursing,

Attention: Leslie Burgos, P.O. Box 45010, Newark, New Jersey 07101.

Any other form of payment will be rejected and will be returned to

the party making the payment. Payment shall be made no later than

twenty-one (21) days after the date of filing of this Final Order

of Discipline. In the event Respondent fails to make a timely

payment, a certificate of debt shall be filed in accordance with
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N.J.S.A. 45:1-24 and the Board may bring such other proceedings as

authorized by law.

By:
Patricia Murphy, PhD, APN

Board President
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