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STATE OF NEW JERSEY

DEPARTMENT OF LAW & PUBLIC SAFETY
N.J. BOARD OF NURSING DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS
BOARD OF NURSING

IN THE MATTER OF THE LICENSE OF 2 Administrative Action

LINSEY T. HOFFMAN, RN 4
License # 26NR13139000 i FINAL ORDER
OF DISCIPLINE

TO PRACTICE NURSING IN THE
STATE OF NEW JERSEY

This matter was opened to the New Jersey State Board of
Nursing (“Board”) upon receipt of infqrmation which the Board
has reviewed and upon which the following findings of fact and
conclusions of law are made:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1s Linsey T. Hoffman (“Respondent”) is a Registered
Professional Nurse in the State of New Jersey and has been a
licensee at all times relevant hereto.

2 Upon receipt of information indicating that Respondent
was arrested on February 13, 2015, by members of the New Jersey
State Police for wviolation of N.J.S.A. 2C:17-3B(2) (Criminal
Mischief Causing Pecuniary Loss That Exceeds $500.00), the Board
sent a letter of inguiry requesting certain information and

documents regarding the criminal matter, Respondent’s nursing
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practice, and continuing education to Respondent’s address of
record in Shamong, New Jersey, via regular and certified mail on
or about March 10, 2015.

3 On or about April 7, 2015, Respondent provided a
partial response along with a copy of the criminal complaint.
However, she failed to provide the police report, a performance
evaluation, as she indicated that she was not working, or proof
of having completed any of her continuing education.

4, On May 23, 2015, Respondent completed and submitted an
online biennial renewal application. Respondent was asked on
the biennial renewal application whether Respondent would have
“completed the required continuing education credits by May 31,
2015,” referring to the biennial renewal period of June 1, 2013
to May 31, 2015. Respondent answered “Yes” and certified that
answer by submitting the online application.

L On or about June 19, 2015, Respondent was arrested for
the second time by members of the State Police for 2C:12-1A(1)
(Simple Assault). On or about this same date, the Board sent a
second letter of inquiry requesting certain information and
documents regarding the criminal matter, Respondent’s nursing
practice, and continuing education to Respondent’s address of

record in Shamong, New Jersey, via regular and certified mail.
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& On or about July 17, 2015, Respondent through her
attorney, John S. Sitzler, responded and provided only a copy of
the criminal complaint. Respondent failed to provide a copy of
the police report or a performance evaluation, and indicated she
would not be providing any statement, written or otherwise of
her version of what had occurred. Furthermore she failed to
provide any proof of having completed the required continuing
education.

SUBSEQUENT PROCEDURAL HISTORY

A Provisional Order of Discipline (“POD”) was filed on
January 12, 2016, based upon failure to adequately respond to
the Board’s letters of inquiry regarding her February 13, 2015
arrest for Criminal Mischief and her June 19, 2015 arrest for
Simple Assault, along with her failure to demonstrate completion
of continuing education. The POD sought a $750 civil penalty, a
reprimand, and a suspension of license until Ms. Hoffman fully
responded to the Board’s letters of inquiry and demonstrated
completion of required continuing education.

Ms. Hoffman responded to the POD. She acknowledged that
she had not provided the information requested in the Board’s
letters Dbecause the «criminal cases against her had been
dismissed and that she assumed her obligation to provide the

Board with the information was fulfilled upon dismissal.

Page 3 of 6



Subsequently, via a second submission, Respondent provided proof
of the dismissal of both criminal cases against her, a narrative
of the conduct which led to her June 2015 arrest, information
about her employment, and a performance evaluation. Respondent
also provided proof of timely completion of the required number
of continuing education credits.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Respondent’s submissions have been reviewed by the Board,
and the Board has determined that further proceedings are not
necessary and that no material discrepancies have been raised
other than proof that Respondent completed sufficient continuing
education. Respondent is deemed to have now fully responded to
and substantially complied with the Board’s original request for
information and documents. Accordingly, the Board finds that
suspension of Respondent’s certification is no longer applicable
and that, because Respondent completed a sufficient number of
continuing education credits during the relevant renewal period,
neither the reprimand nor the $250 fine indicated in the
Provisional Order should be imposed. However, Respondent’s
failure to timely respond to the Board’s initial inquiry
resulted in unnecessary delay and expenditure of Board resources

in addressing this matter, requiring the Board to issue a
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Provisional Order to obtain information which should have been
provided earlier.

Accordingly, the Board finds that Respondent’s conduct does
constitute a failure to cooperate with a Board investigation, in
contravention of N.J.A.C. 13:45C-1.2 and 1.3, which the Board
deems professional misconduct pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(e),
subjecting Respondent to disciplinary action pursuant to
N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(h). The Board finds that imposition of the
$500.00 monetary penalty is appropriate for Respondent’s failure
to cooperate with a Board investiﬁi%ion.

'\day of NNQM}Q-QL, 2016,

ACCORDINGLY, IT IS on this l

ORDERED :

1. Respondent is assessed a civil penalty in the amount
of five hundred dollars ($500) for failure to cooperate with a
Board investigation. Payment shall be made by certified check,
bank cashier check, or money order payable to “State of New
Jersey,” or by wire transfer, direct deposit, or credit card
payment delivered or mailed to Leslie Burgos, Board Staff, State
Board of Nursing, P.0O. Box 45010, Newark, New Jersey 07101. Any
other form of payment will be rejected and will be returned to
the party making the payment. Payment shall be made no later
than fifteen (15) days after the date of filing of this Order.

In the event Respondent fails to make a timely payment, a
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certificate of debt shall be filed in accordance with N.J.S.A.

45:1-24 and the Board may bring such other proceedings as

authorized by law.

NEW JERSEY STATE BOARD OF NURSING

Patricia Murphy, PhD, XPN U/
Board President
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