Rule Adoptions

Volume 40, Issue 19

Issue Date: October 6, 2008
Law and Public Safety
Division of Consumer Affairs
BUREAU OF SECURITIES

Readoption with Amendments: N.J.A.C. 13:47A
Adopted New Rules: N.J.A.C. 13:47A-6 and 12.4
Adopted Repeal: N.J.A.C. 13:47A-7.10

Bureau of Securities Rules

Proposed: April 21, 2008 at 40 N.J.R. 2061(a).

Adopted: August 1, 2008 by Vincent J. Oliva, Chief, Bureau of Securities.

Filed:September 12, 2008 as R.2008 d.301,with substantive and technical changes not requiring additional public
notice and comment (see N.J.A.C. 1:30-6.3).

Authority: N.J.S.A. 49:3-47 et seq., specifically N.J.S.A. 49:3-67(a).
Effective Dates: September 12, 2008 , Readoption;

October 6, 2008 , Amendments, New Rules and Repeals.
Expiration Date: September 12, 2013 .

Federal Standards Statement

A Federal standards analysis is not required because the readopted rules and adopted amendments and new rules do
not exceed Federal standards. The rules are consistent with the applicable Federal standards in the National Securities
Markets Improvement Act of 1996 (NSMIA) (P.L. 104-290) (1996), the Securities Act of 1933, (15 U.S.C. 8877a et
seq.), the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, (15 U.S.C. 8878a et seq.), the Investment Advisers Act of 1940, (15 U.S.C.
8880b-1 et seq.), the Investment Company Act of 1940, (15 U.S.C. 8880a-1 et seq.) and in the applicable regulations,
the Securities Act of 1933 Rules, (17 CFR 230 et seq.), the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 Rules, (17 CFR 240 et
seq.), the Investment Advisers Act of 1940 Rules, (17 CFR 270 et seq.), and the Investment Company Act of 1940
Rules, (17 CFR 275 et seq.).

Full text of the readopted rules can be found in the New Jersey Administrative Code at N.J.A.C. 13:47A.

Full text of the adopted amendments and new rules follows (additions to proposal indicated in boldface with asterisks
*thus*; deletions from proposal indicated in brackets with asterisks *[thus]*):

SUBCHAPTER 1. BROKER-DEALERS
13:47A-1.1 Application for registration for FINRA members

(@) Any person who is a member of the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA), desiring to transact business
in the State of New Jersey as a broker-dealer shall file an application with the Bureau of Securities (the Bureau) by
filing the application with the Central Registration Depository ( CRD ) on the form designated as Form BD, Uniform
Application for Broker-Dealer Registration, or any successor form to the Form BD prescribed by the CRD for filing a
broker-dealer application. The requisite registration fee shall be submitted with the application filed with the CRD in
the amount of $ 300.00 for a one-year registration term. Failure to pay the registration fee as above, within the billing
time limits established by the Bureau or by the CRD , shall be a ground for immediate revocation of the registration.
The applicant shall supplement the application filed with the CRD by directly filing with the Bureau the Broker-Dealer
Supplement and any additional information that the Chief of the Bureau of Securities of the State of New Jersey (the
Bureau Chief) requires. The 30-day time period for review of an application will not commence until the applicant
files all documents or material facts specified and required. The following additional information shall be filed with



the Bureau for all broker-dealer applications and no application shall be deemed complete until all of the following are
properly submitted, unless the requirements are waived by the Bureau Chief:

1. (No change.)

2. A consent to service of process executed by each officer, director, general partner or limited partner of the applicant
who is to act as an agent in the State of New Jersey , as set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:47A-7.1. A fully completed and
executed Form U-2, Uniform Consent to Service of Process, for each person, or a fully completed and executed page 1
of Form U4, Uniform Application for Securities Industry Registration or Transfer, or a successor form, shall satisfy
this requirement;

3.-4. (No change.)

(b) The applicant shall submit to the Bureau as part of the application an identification photograph of each partner,
officer or director, unless the applicant is a member of FINRA or is a member of and has current photographs on file
with the New York Stock Exchange, American Stock Exchange, or another *[major stock]* *national securities*
exchange *registered pursuant to Section 6 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (15 U.S.C. §78f)*, and has
granted written permission to the Bureau Chief, or his or her duly designated representative, to examine without notice
any filings made by the applicant with such exchange or association.

(c) If the applicant is a natural person and is not *[a member of FINRA, the New York Stock Exchange or the
American Stock Exchange,]* *applying for registration through the CRD ,* he or she shall submit to the Bureau as
part of the application, *[one applicant (noncriminal) fingerprint card with impressions taken by a recognized law
enforcement agency]* *the applicant's fingerprints and written consent for a criminal history record background
check to be performed pursuant to N.J.S.A. 49:3-56(p)*.

(d) If the applicant is a corporation or partnership and is not *[a member of FINRA, the New York Stock Exchange or
the American Stock Exchange,]* *applying for registration through the CRD ,* it shall submit to the Bureau as part
of the application, *[one applicant (noncriminal) fingerprint card for]* *the fingerprints of* each officer, director,
controlling person*, (as defined on the Form BD),* or partner*,* *[with all of the impressions taken by a recognized
law enforcement agency]* *and written consent from each for a criminal history record background check to be
performed pursuant to N.J.S.A. 49:3-56(p)*.

(e) (No change.)
13:47A-1.2 Application for registration for persons not eligible for registration via the CRD

Any person desiring to transact business in the State of New Jersey who is not a member of FINRA or who is not
otherwise eligible to register via the CRD pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:47A-1.1, shall file all of the information required by
N.J.A.C. 13:47A-1.1 and in the same form required by that section directly with the Bureau at its current office
address. The application shall be accompanied by a check or money order payable to the State of New Jersey , Bureau
of Securities, in the amount of $ 300.00.

13:47A-1.3 Financial reports to supplement application

(@) Subject to the limitations of Section 15 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (15 U.S.C. 8§ 780), an application
for registration as a broker-dealer must be supplemented by a concurrent filing directly with the Bureau of a certified
statement of the applicant's financial condition as of a date within 60 days of the application; provided, however, if the
applicant has been engaged in business for one year or more preceding the date of the application, a certified financial
statement as of the end of its last fiscal period, along with an unaudited balance sheet as of a date within 60 days of
the application may be submitted directly to the Bureau concurrently with the filing of the application for registration.
The concurrent filing will be considered to be a necessary part of the registration application, whether the application
is filed via the CRD for FINRA members, or directly with the Bureau for non-FINRA members.

(b) The balance sheet must be signed by a principal or officer of the applicant listed on Schedule A of the Form BD



and must be notarized.
13:47A-1.5 Preparation and contents of financial statements

(@) Subject to the limitations of Section 15 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (15 U.S.C. § 780), financial
statements and reports required of registered broker-dealers under N.J.S.A. 49:3-47 et seq., including the financial
statement filed with the application for initial registration, shall consist of a balance sheet supported by an analysis of
the trading and investment inventories and shall be prepared by a certified public accountant or a public accountant
who shall be in fact independent.

(b) Subject to the limitations of Section 15 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (15 U.S.C. § 780), complete copies
of the Financial and Operational Combined Uniform Single (FOCUS) Report, Form X-17A-5, as filed with the
Securities and Exchange Commission, or copies of the New York Stock Exchange Financial Questionnaire (Form FQ)
may be filed to comply with the requirements of this section.

(c) Subject to the limitations of Section 15 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (15 U.S.C. § 780), the analysis of
the trading and investment inventories required by (a) above shall have attached thereto, and made a part thereof, a
statement under oath by the broker-dealer which shall set forth those securities within said trading and investment
inventories which have not been registered under the Securities Act of 1933 (15 U.S.C. §877a et seq., the "1933 Act"),
or which are not subject to, or are exempted from the registration requirements of the 1933 Act and the rules and
regulations promulgated thereunder other than by reason of section 3(a) of the 1933 Act and the rules and regulations
promulgated under section 3(a) of the 1933 Act.

13:47A-1.6 Minimum net capital

(a) No registration as a broker-dealer shall be issued unless the applicant has a minimum net capital or has posted with
the Bureau a surety bond in the amount of the minimum net capital. The minimum net capital shall be as required by
Section 15 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (15 U.S.C. § 780) and rules promulgated thereunder.

(b)-(c) (No change.)
13:47A-1.7 Bonds

(@) Subject to the limitations of Section 15 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (15 U.S.C. 8 780) and rules
promulgated thereunder, the bonds required to be filed under N.J.A.C. 13:47A-1.6 (Minimum net capital) shall provide
for suit thereon by third parties for any cause of action under N.J.S.A. 49:3-71, for loss and damages, and shall be on
the Uniform Security Bond, Form U-SB, as set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:47A-11.5. The bond shall be for a term of two
years, but the right to bring an action under the bond for losses sustained while it was in force shall continue for two
years from the date of the sale upon which the action is based.

(b) (No change.)
13:47A-1.9 Change of status; submission of form

(@) A registered broker-dealer who is registered with New Jersey via the CRD shall file an amendment with the CRD
on the amendment form prescribed by the CRD whenever any of the following events occur:

1.-4. (No change.)

5. A partner, officer or director of the registered broker-dealer resigns, retires or otherwise terminates his or her
affiliation with the broker-dealer;

6. The registered broker-dealer terminates the employment of an agent. This amendment shall be filed within 30 days
of the termination; or



7. Any other event has occurred that would require an amendment to the Form BD, Uniform Application for Broker-
Dealer Registration, or its successor form.

(b) A registered broker-dealer that is registered pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:47A-1.2 (registrants not eligible for registration
via the CRD and therefore registered directly with the Bureau) shall file directly with the Bureau at its current office
address, a complete and updated Form BD or the amended pages, if a complete Form BD is already on file at the
Bureau, whenever it changes any of the information set forth in (a) above or (d) or (e) below.

(c) Any amendment shall be filed no later than 30 days after the occurrence named therein. The amendment filed with
the CRD shall be accompanied by the fee, if any, prescribed by the CRD for amendments. There shall be no fee for
those amendments required to be filed directly with the Bureau.

(d) For a registered broker-dealer that has had any changes occur regarding the answers in its original or amended
Form BD application as to arrests, convictions of any crime, disciplinary actions by any administrative body, restraints,
injunctions, suspension, revocations, denials, judgments, as to the registrant or any partner, officer or director shall file
an amendment with the CRD ; or if not a member of FINRA, shall file the amendment directly with the Bureau fully
disclosing the details of the changes within 30 days of the occurrence named in the amendment. Such amendment shall
be accompanied by the fee, if any, prescribed by the CRD or the Bureau for amendments. In the event that the CRD
amendment form does not allow for full detailed disclosure of the details of the changes, as required by the Uniform
Securities Law (1997), N.J.S.A. 49:3-47 et seq., and these rules, the registrant shall make full detailed disclosure of the
changes by a supplemental filing directly to the Bureau at its current office address.

(e) A registered broker-dealer, if a corporation or partnership, shall file with the Bureau or the CRD , whichever is
applicable, *[one applicant (noncriminal) fingerprint card with all of the impressions taken by a recognized law
enforcement agency, for]* *the fingerprints of* each officer, director, controlling person*, (as defined on the Form
BD),* or partner who commences any employment or affiliation with said registered broker-dealer no later than five
days after the commencement of such employment or affiliation*, and written consent from each for a criminal
history record background check to be performed pursuant to N.J.S.A. 49:3-56(p)*. Those persons exempt from
filing a fingerprint card with the Securities and Exchange Commission pursuant to Rule 17f-2 promulgated under the
Securities Exchange Act of 1934 ( 17 CFR 240.17f-2 ) or its successor rule shall be exempt from filing fingerprint*s*
*[cards]* with the Bureau pursuant to this subsection.

13:47A-1.10A Maintenance of sales and advertising material (broker-dealers)

Subject to the limitations of Section 15 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (15 U.S.C. 8§ 780), all broker-dealers
shall keep on file, in each branch and sales office, for a period of three years, copies of any prospectus, circular, form
letter, advertisement, sales script, or prepared text used in that branch or sales office in the course of soliciting
prospective investors, and any other sales or advertising material intended for distribution or communication to
prospective investors by mail, telephone, or any other medium, or for the use or training of persons making such
communications. Any material required to be maintained pursuant to this section may be maintained in electronic
form, either at the branch or sales office or at a central location, provided that such electronically stored material can,
upon demand, be retrieved and provided to the Bureau within two working days.

13:47A-1.11 Withdrawal of broker-dealer registration

(@) A broker-dealer registered in New Jersey via the CRD shall file a Uniform Request for Broker-Dealer Withdrawal,
Form BDW, or any successor form to the Form BDW prescribed by the CRD when it desires to withdraw its
registration as a broker-dealer in the State of New Jersey . Such request for withdrawal will become effective 30 days
after filing with the CRD .

(b) A broker-dealer registered in New Jersey by direct filing with the Bureau because it is not eligible for registration
via the CRD shall file directly with the Bureau a Form BDW, when it desires to withdraw its registration as a broker-
dealer in the State of New Jersey . Such request will become effective 30 days after filing with the Bureau.

SUBCHAPTER 2. INVESTMENT ADVISERS



13:47A-2.1 Application for investment adviser registration

(a) Any person desiring to act as an investment adviser, as defined in N.J.S.A. 49:3-49(g), within or from the State of
New Jersey, shall file an application with the Bureau on the Form ADV, Uniform Application for Investment Adviser
Registration, together with all relevant schedules, unless that person is registered as an investment adviser under
Section 203 of the Investment Advisers Act of 1940 (15 U.S.C. 8§80b-3), as amended, or is not so registered because
that person is excepted from the definition of investment adviser under Section 202(a)(11) (15 U.S.C. 880b-2(a)(11)).
The Form ADV may be filed with the Bureau by filing it with the Investment Adviser Registration Depository (IARD)
or its successor and by designating in the Form ADV that the applicant intends to apply for registration in New Jersey .
The Form ADV shall contain an original notarized signature, unless the Form ADV is filed with the Bureau by
electronically filing it with the IARD. If the Form ADV is filed with the Bureau by electronically filing it with the
IARD, the signature requirements required by the Bureau shall conform to the electronic signature requirements in
place for filing with the IARD.

(b) Such Form ADV shall be accompanied by:
1.-4. (No change.)

5. The Notice of Withdrawal from Registration as an Investment Adviser, Form ADV-W, as filed with the U.S.
Securities and Exchange Commission, if the investment adviser has withdrawn or is withdrawing from SEC
registration;

6. *[A]* *The requisite registration fee in the amount of $ 200.00 shall be submitted with the application filed
with the IARD for electronic filers or to the Bureau in a* check or money order payable to the State of New Jersey,
Bureau of Securities, *[in the amount of $ 200.00]**for paper filers*; and

7. (No change.)
13:47A-2.2 Capital requirements

Subject to the limitations of Section 222 of the Investment Advisers Act of 1940 (15 U.S.C. § 80b-18a), no registration
as an investment adviser shall be granted to a person who has custody of clients’ funds or securities unless the
applicant has a minimum capital of $ 25,000 or has posted a surety bond in the amount of $ 25,000.

13:47A-2.3 Bonds

(@) Subject to the limitations of Section 222 of the Investment Advisers Act of 1940 (15 U.S.C. 8 80b-18a), the bond
required to be filed under N.J.A.C. 13:47A-2.2 (Capital requirements) shall provide for suit thereon by third parties for
damage sustained as a result of misuse or misapplication of clients' funds or securities and shall be in the Uniform
Surety Bond, Form U-SB, as set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:47A-11.5. The bond shall be for a term of two years, but the right
to file claims thereunder for losses sustained while it was in force shall continue for two years from the time the
aggrieved party knew or should have known of the existence of his or her cause of action.

(b)-(c) (No change.)
13:47A-2.4 Cash or securities in lieu of bond

(@) Subject to the limitations of Section 222 of the Investment Advisers Act of 1940 (15 U.S.C. § 80b-18a), in lieu of
the bond required by N.J.A.C. 13:47A-2.2 (Capital requirements), the applicant may deposit cash or securities with the
Bureau Chief, and the amount thereof shall be determined by the Bureau Chief having due regard for the amount of the
bond required and the nature of the securities furnished.

(b) No securities other than those listed on the New York Stock Exchange or the American Stock Exchange or
designated or approved for designation upon notice of issuance as a NASDAQ Global Select Market security will be



accepted, except that mutual funds may be accepted in certain cases, in the discretion of the Bureau Chief.
13:47A-2.5 Change of status; submission of form

(@) A registered investment adviser *who is registered with New Jersey via the IARD* shall file *an amendment
with the IARD on the amendment form prescribed by the IARD, or for hardship cases, shall file directly* with
the Bureau a revised and updated Form ADV, so as to have a complete and current Form ADV on file with the
Bureau, whenever *[it changes]**any of the following events occur*. No filing fee is required for these amendments,
unless the *[ CRD ]**IARD* prescribes otherwise:

1.-3. (No change.)
(b) Such form shall be filed no later than 30 days after the occurrence named therein.

(c) A registered investment adviser shall file with the *IARD or directly with the* Bureau amended pages of the
Form ADV together with an amended Schedule D to Form ADV on such person to update its Form ADV on file with
the Bureau whenever there is a change to the information reported on Schedule A, B, or C to Form ADV, as
applicable. The form shall be filed no later than 30 days after the occurrence named therein.

(d) A registered investment adviser shall file with the *IARD or directly with the* Bureau amended pages of the
Form ADV together with an amended Schedule D or E, as applicable to update its Form ADV on file with the Bureau
whenever any changes occur regarding the answers on its investment adviser application to the Disciplinary questions
in Item 11 of Form ADV or its successor, within 30 days of the occurrence named therein.

(e) A registered investment adviser shall file with the *IARD or directly with the* Bureau amended pages of the
Form ADV to update its Form ADV on file with the Bureau, whenever any changes occur as to the resignation,
retirement or termination of the affiliation of any partner, officer or director, within 30 days of the occurrence named
therein.

*[(f) All investment advisers registered in this State shall have a complete updated Form ADV, Uniform Application
for Investment Adviser Registration, on file with the Bureau. If a Form ADV is already on file with the Bureau, the
applicant shall only be required to file a copy of any amendments to Form ADV that have not been previously filed
with the Bureau together with the investment adviser's Form ADV-T or Schedule I, as applicable.]*

13:47A-2.6 Maintenance of books and records

*[All]* *Subject to the limitations of Section 222 of the Investment Advisers Act of 1940 (15 U.S.C. 880b-18a),
all* investment advisers shall keep at their principal place of business, open to inspection for the Bureau of Securities
of the State of New Jersey, all books and records, as set forth in Rule 204-2 (17 CFR 275.204-2 ) under the
Investment Advisers Act of 1940, 15 U.S.C. §880b-1 et seq.

13:47A-2.6A Maintenance of sales and advertising material (investment advisers)

Subject to the limitations of Section 222 of the Investment Advisers Act of 1940 (15 U.S.C. § 80b-18a), all investment
advisers shall keep on file, in each branch and sales office, for a period of three years, copies of any prospectus,
circular, form letter, advertisement, sales script, or prepared text used in the course of soliciting prospective investors,
and any other sales or advertising material intended for distribution or communication to prospective investors by mail,
telephone or any other medium, or for the use or training of persons making such communications. Any material
required to be maintained pursuant to this section may be maintained in electronic form, either at the branch or sales
office or at a central location, provided that such electronically stored material can, upon demand, be retrieved and
provided to the Bureau within two working days.

13:47A-2.7 Withdrawal of investment adviser registration

A registered investment adviser shall file with the *IARD or the* Bureau a Form ADV-W, Notice of Withdrawal



from Registration as Investment Adviser, as set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:47A-11.9, when it desires to withdraw its
registration as an investment adviser in the State of New Jersey. Such request for withdrawal will become effective 30
days after filing with the Bureau.

13:47A-2.8 Application for successor

A registered investment adviser may file an application with the Bureau on the Uniform Application for Investment
Adviser Registration, Form ADV, as set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:47A-11.2, for the registration of a successor. Such
application shall be marked "SUCCESSOR APPLICATION" in the upper right-hand corner by the registrant *for
paper filings only*. There is no filing fee for the successor application.

13:47A-2.9 "Investment advisory services" defined

"Investment advisory services™ is defined as the giving of continuous advice to clients as to the investment of funds on
the basis of individual needs of each client, as distinguished from continuous advice of any nature which is not based
on consideration of all relevant factors; for example, the nature and amount of other assets, investment and insurance,
and the nature and extent of the personal and family obligations of each client. For interpretive purposes, the Bureau
follows SEC Release No. IA-770 and SEC Release No. 1A-1092.

13:47A-2.10 Performance fee compensation

(@) The provisions of N.J.S.A. 49:3-53(b)(1) shall not prohibit any investment adviser registered as an investment
adviser pursuant to N.J.S.A. 49:3-56(a) from entering into, performing, renewing or extending an investment advisory
contract which provides for compensation to the investment adviser on the basis of a share of the capital gains upon, or
the capital appreciation of, the funds or any portion of the funds of a client, provided that the conditions of this section
are met and all conditions of Rule 205-3 ( 17 CFR 275.205-3 ) under the Investment Advisers Act of 1940, 15 U.S.C.
8880b-1 et seq., which are not in conflict with the conditions set forth in this section are satisfied.

(b) The client entering into the contract subject to this regulation must be a natural person or a company as defined in
Rule 205-3, who the registered investment adviser (and any person acting on the investment adviser's behalf) entering
into the contract reasonably believes, immediately prior to entering into the contract, is a natural person or a company
as defined in Rule 205-3, whose net worth at the time the contract is entered into exceed $ 1,500,000. The net worth of
a natural person shall be as defined by Rule 205-3 of the Investment Advisers Act of 1940.

(c) Nothing in this section shall prevent the renegotiation, for the purposes of changing the method of compensation in
compliance with this section, of an investment advisory contract between a registered investment adviser and the
client of such investment adviser provided both parties agree to the new or additional terms.

(d) (No change.)

(e) For purposes of this section, a business development company, as defined by section 2(a)(48) of the Investment
Company Act of 1940 (15 U.S.C. § 80a-2(a)(48)), shall not be prohibited by N.J.S.A. 49:3-53(b)(1) or by this section
from paying or receiving performance based fee compensation, provided the business development company is allowed
to pay or receive performance based fee compensation pursuant to Federal law and SEC regulations.

13:47A-2.11 Notice filing of Federally registered investment advisers

(@) Any person doing business in New Jersey who is registered or required to be registered as an investment adviser
under Section 203 of the Investment Advisers Act of 1940 (15 U.S.C. 8§ 80b-3), as amended, or is not exempted from
making a notice filing by N.J.S.A. 49:3-56(g), shall file the following items with the Bureau, unless such person is not
within the State definition of "investment adviser" set forth in N.J.S.A. 49:3-49(Q):

1. In connection with an initial notice filing with the Bureau by the applicant, the applicant shall make a written notice
filing in the form of the current Form ADV, as filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission, and file with the
Bureau a check made payable to the State of New Jersey, Bureau of Securities in the amount of $ 200.00;



2.-3. (No change.)

4. All filings required by this section shall be filed with the Bureau electronically through the IARD, unless the
applicant has been granted a hardship exemption by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, in which case, the
filings shall be made directly to the Bureau.

SUBCHAPTER 3. AGENTS
13:47A-3.1 Agents of broker-dealers

(@) Any person desiring to act in the State of New Jersey as an agent of a non-FINRA member broker-dealer
registered in New Jersey directly with the Bureau or as an agent of an issuer shall file a complete and accurate
application with the Bureau on the Uniform Application for Securities Industry Registration or Transfer, Form U4, as
set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:47A-11.3. Such application shall be accompanied by:

1. A consent to service of process executed by the applicant. A fully executed page one of Form U4, Uniform
Application for Securities Industry Registration or Transfer, will satisfy this requirement;

*[2. One applicant noncriminal fingerprint card with impressions taken by a recognized law enforcement agency;
and]*

*2. The applicant’s fingerprints and written consent for a criminal history record background check to be
performed pursuant to N.J.S.A. 49:3-56(p); and*

3. A check or money order made payable to the State of New Jersey , Bureau of Securities, in the amount of *[$
70.00]* *$ 60.00*. Issuers of securities under N.J.S.A. 49:3-50(b) need not register as agents or qualify as issuers.
However, a pattern of N.J.S.A. 49:3-50(b)(12) offerings by the same person or group of persons may raise a
presumption that the person or persons are acting as an unregistered broker-dealer requiring broker-dealer registration
of the issuer and its agents.

(b) Any person desiring to act in the State of New Jersey as an agent of a broker-dealer registered in New Jersey via
the CRD shall file an application for registration as an agent with the CRD on the Form U4, Uniform Application for
Securities Industry Registration or Transfer, or its successor agent application form prescribed by the CRD . The agent
application shall be accompanied by a consent to service of process executed by the applicant; fingerprint cards as
required by the CRD ; and payment in the form prescribed by the CRD of *[$ 70.00]* *$ 60.00* for each year of the
registration period. In accordance with N.J.S.A. 49:3-58(a)(2)(i), an application is incomplete unless and until the
applicant pays the registration fees as provided above within the billing time limits established by the Bureau or by the
CRD.

1. Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 49:3-57(a), the Bureau Chief may require that any applicant provide any of the following
information, upon request:

i. An agent narrative which includes the facts and circumstances surrounding any item reported to the Bureau;

ii. Copies of the agent's complaint file containing documentation of verbal customer complaints, the written customer
complaints, or legally prepared complaints, as it exists from either the current or previous employers;

iii. Copies of arbitration documents, including but not limited to, the statement of claim, answer, award, exhibits, and
settlement documents;

iv. Copies of arrest reports, indictments, police reports, judgments, sentence documents, and criminal charge
documents;

v. Any and all documents pertaining to civil or regulatory actions, including but not limited to, pleadings, complaints,
orders, Acceptance Waivers and Consents ( AWC ), and judgments;



vi. Copies of State registration agreements;

vii. An employer letter confirming agent's physical location of office of employment;
viii. An employer letter granting permission for outside business;

ix. Fingerprint card processing pursuant to N.J.S.A. 49:3-56(p);

X. Written justification of qualifications for examination waiver processing;

Xi. The applicant's clearing firm trading records; or

xii. A fully executed Supervisory Agreement.

2. Upon request, the applicant may be required to participate in an in-person interview conducted by the Bureau in
order to complete the application process. The applicant shall supplement the application filed with the CRD by filing
any additional information requested directly with the Bureau. The 30-day time period for review of an application
will not commence until the application is complete.

(c) At any time during the pendency of the application, the applicant may be subject to action by the Bureau Chief
pursuant to N.J.S.A. 49:3-58. Nevertheless, the Bureau may notify the applicant of the incomplete status of the
application by letter, which notification shall not affect any action taken by the Bureau Chief before or after the letter
is issued. The issuance by the Bureau of a notification letter may allow the applicant to supplement or amend the
information previously submitted in an attempt to cure the incomplete status of the application, or to withdraw the
application, within 21 days after receipt of the notification letter.

1. If, during the pendency of the application, it appears to the Bureau that the application contains a misrepresentation,
omits a required document or material fact, or contains any statement which may be, at the time and in the light of the
circumstances under which it is made, false or misleading in any material respect, the Bureau Chief may deny the
application.

(d) (No change in text.)
13:47A-3.2 Change of status; agents; submission of form

(@) A registered agent shall file an amendment with the CRD , by filing or updating a Form U4, Uniform Application
for Securities Industry Registration or Transfer, or its successor form, along with the fee, if any, prescribed by the
CRD , whenever the agent changes his or her name or home address, and whenever a change in the answers on his or
her original application for registration occurs, as to arrests, convictions of any crime, disciplinary actions by any
administrative body, restraints, injunctions, suspensions, revocations, denials, or judgments, or to any other information
contained in answers to Item 14 and the Disclosure Reporting Page of the Form U4. The amendment(s) must be filed
within 30 days of the occurrence identified therein. Whenever an agent commences employment with a broker-dealer
or issuer, the agent must file the amendment within five days of the commencement of employment. For agents of
non-FINRA member broker-dealers, the amendments shall be filed directly with the Bureau.

(b) Whenever an agent terminates employment with a broker-dealer registered in New Jersey via the CRD , the broker-
dealer shall file with the CRD or Bureau, as appropriate, the Form U5, Uniform Termination Notice for Securities
Industries Registration, within 30 days of the termination. For agents of non-FINRA member broker-dealers, the Form
U5, Uniform Termination Notice for Securities Industries Registration, shall be filed directly with the Bureau.

SUBCHAPTER 3A. INVESTMENT ADVISER REPRESENTATIVES
13:47A-3A.1 Registration of State registered investment adviser representatives

(@) Subject to the provisions of Section 203A of the Investment Advisers Act of 1940 (15 U.S.C. § 80b-3a), any



person, who has a place of business located in this State, who desires to act in the State of New Jersey as an
investment adviser representative of an investment adviser registered in New Jersey with the Bureau or registered with
the Securities and Exchange Commission, and any person doing business in this State who desires to act in the State of
New Jersey as an investment adviser representative of an investment adviser registered in New Jersey with the Bureau,
shall file an application with an original signature, with the Bureau on the Uniform Application for Securities Industry
Registration or Transfer, Form U4, as set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:47A-11.3. The Form U4 may be filed with the Bureau
by filing the Form U4 electronically with the CRD and designating in the Form U4 that the applicant intends to apply
for registration in New Jersey . For a Form U4 filed electronically with the Bureau via the CRD such Form U4 shall
have the requisite electronic signatures as required by the CRD . An application shall be accompanied by:

1. *[One applicant non-criminal fingerprint card with impressions taken by a recognized law enforcement agency.]*
*The applicant’s fingerprints and written consent for a criminal history record background check to be
performed pursuant to N.J.S.A. 49:3-56(p).* (Applicants registered through the CRD need not supply fingerprint*s*
*[cards]* directly to the Bureau if they have been supplied to FINRA as part of the applicant's filing with the CRD .);
and

2. A fee of $ 50.00 shall be assessed for each initial application. The fee may be paid to the Bureau electronically
through the CRD , or it may be paid by check or money order made payable to the State of New Jersey, Bureau of
Securities if the application was filed directly with the Bureau. In accordance with N.J.S.A. 49:3-58(a)(2)(i), an
application is incomplete unless and until the applicant pays the registration fee as provided above within the billing
time limits established by the Bureau or by the CRD .

(b) Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 49:3-57(a), the Bureau Chief may require that any applicant provide any of the following
information, upon request:

1. An investment adviser representative narrative which includes the facts and circumstances surrounding any item
reported to the Bureau;

2. Copies of the investment adviser representative's complaint file containing documentation of verbal customer
complaints, the written customer complaints, or legally prepared complaints, as it exists from either the current or
previous employers;

3. Copies of arbitration documents, including but not limited to, the statement of claim, answer, award, exhibits, and
settlement documents;

4. Copies of arrest reports, indictments, police reports, judgments, sentence documents, and criminal charge
documents;

5. Any and all documents pertaining to civil or regulatory actions, including but not limited to, pleadings, complaints,
orders, Acceptance Waivers and Consents ( AWC ), and judgments;

6. Copies of State registration agreements;

7. An employer letter confirming investment adviser representative's physical location of office of employment;
8. An employer letter granting permission for outside business;

9. Fingerprint card processing pursuant to N.J.S.A. 49:3-56(p);

10. Written justification of qualifications for examination waiver processing;

11. An applicant's clearing firm trading records; or

12. A fully executed Supervisory Agreement.



(c) Upon request, the applicant may be required to participate in an in-person interview conducted by the Bureau in
order to complete the application process. The applicant shall supplement the application filed with the CRD by filing
any additional information requested directly with the Bureau. The 30-day time period for review of an application
will not commence until the application is complete.

(d) At any time during the pendency of the application, the applicant may be subject to action by the Bureau Chief
pursuant to N.J.S.A. 49:3-58. Nevertheless, the Bureau may notify the applicant of the incomplete status of the
application by letter, which notification shall not affect any action taken by the Bureau Chief before or after the letter
is issued. The issuance by the Bureau of a notification letter may allow the applicant to supplement or amend the
information previously submitted in an attempt to cure the incomplete status of the application, or to withdraw the
application, within 21 days after receipt of the notification letter.

1. If, during the pendency of the application, it appears to the Bureau that the application contains a misrepresentation,
omits a required document or material fact, or contains any statement which may be, at the time and in the light of the
circumstances under which it is made, false or misleading in any material respect, the Bureau Chief may deny the
application.

(e) The Bureau may require an investment adviser representative to enter into an agreement requiring heightened
supervision and other restrictive conditions as a condition of granting that investment adviser representative's
application for registration.

(f) (No change in text.)
13:47A-3A.2 Change of status; submission of form

(a) A registered investment adviser representative shall file with the Bureau an amendment to Form U4 within 30 days,
whenever there is any change to the information previously reported on the Form U4,

(b) Whenever a registered investment adviser representative terminates employment with an investment adviser
registered in New Jersey , or with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission if the investment adviser has a place
of business in this State, the investment adviser shall file with the Bureau Form U5, Uniform Termination Notice for
Securities Industries Registration, within 30 days of the termination.

(c) A Form U4 or Form U5, or amendments thereto, may be filed with the Bureau by electronically filing them with
the CRD , as applicable.

SUBCHAPTER 4. EXAMINATIONS
13:47A-4.1 Examinations for broker-dealers and investment advisers

No officer, director, partner or individual affiliated with a broker-dealer or investment adviser applying for registration
in this State who will participate in management either as investment advi