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Badges and Notice Statement; Duty to Update Information; Refusal to Issue, 
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Adopted: November 14, 2016, by Steve C. Lee, Director, Division of Consumer Affairs. 
  
Filed: November 23, 2016, as R.2016 d.188, without change. 
  
Authority: N.J.S.A. 56:8-138.1. 
  
Effective Date: December 19, 2016. 
  
Expiration Date: December 14, 2018. 
  
Summary of Public Comment and Agency Response: 
 
The official comment period closed on April 1, 2016. In order to ensure compliance with the 
Administrative Procedures Act and the rules promulgated by the Office of Administrative 
Law, the comment period was extended through November 12, 2016. The Division received 
four comments on the notice of proposal from the following: 
 
1. Jody B. Shilan, MLA, Executive Director, New Jersey Landscape Contractors Association; 
 
2. Gail E. Woolcott, Director of Operations, New Jersey Landscape Contractors Association; 
 
3. John Perna, General Sales Manager, Hamilton Building Supply; and 
 
4. James W. Stopa, Stopa Carpentry & General Contracting, LLC. 
 
1. Jody Shilan, on behalf of the New Jersey Landscape Contractors Association (NJLCA) 
expressed understanding for the proposal, but noted that badges will cause consumer 
confusion. Specifically, the commenter believes that a badge will lead a homeowner to think 
it is the same as having a license when, in fact, the badge only represents registration with 
the State. As the commenter points out, a badge means the contractor has "a Federal Tax 
ID Number, a checking account, $ 500,000 of insurance," and has paid $ 110.00 for the 
registration. The NJLCA worries that this proposal will "reinforce the misconception" that the 



registration is the same as the license and give more credibility to "inexperienced and 
unprofessional contractors." The NJLCA believes that this proposal will damage the 
reputations of their members. Unprofessional home improvement contractor (HIC) 
registrants will be mistaken for licensed individuals and the industry will suffer if consumers 
deem home improvement a profession consisting of unprofessional, yet licensed, 
practitioners. 
 
RESPONSE: The requirement that home improvement contractors must display a State-
issued identification badge is imposed pursuant to statute, P.L. 2013, c. 144. The Division's 
proposed amendments and new rule are intended to implement that statutory requirement. 
Although the Division appreciates the commenter's concerns about potential confusion for 
consumers, the Division notes that the badges that will be issued will not connote that the 
holder is licensed by the Division. Rather, the Division believes that the proposed 
amendments and new rule are consistent with the Legislature's intent to protect consumers 
from individuals fraudulently representing themselves as home improvement contractors 
when they are not properly registered. 
 
2. Gail E. Woolcott, on behalf of the NJLCA, inquired whether HIC registration costs will 
spike because of the proposed amendments. The commenter also inquired what the cost for 
the ID badges will be, and on the date a final rule will be implemented. 
 
RESPONSE: As noted in the notice of proposal, the proposed amendments and new rule will 
have an economic impact on home improvement contractors that will be required to pay 
badge fees for the issuance of the identification badges for all its salespersons. There will be 
no increase in the registration fees imposed by the Division on home improvement 
contractors as a result of the new identification badge requirement. The actual fee for the 
issuance of the badges will be set by the vendor chosen by the State through the State's 
procurement process. The amount of the fee is not known at this time because the 
procurement process has not been completed, and a contract has not been awarded. The 
requirement to obtain and wear an identification badge will become effective six months 
following the award of the State contract for the badge creation, as provided in N.J.A.C. 
13:45A-17.5A(a). The Division will notify home improvement contractors when the contract 
for the badge creation is awarded, so contractors will know that within six months of that 
notification, identification badges must be obtained and displayed consistent with the 
requirements set forth in the proposed amendments and new rule. 
 
3. John Perna, General Sales Manager at Hamilton Building Supply, noted that the badges 
will assist in confirming an HIC's credibility, but expressed serious concern regarding the 
confusion that the badges will generate for consumers. The commenter noted that an HIC 
gets documentation from the State confirming registration, which he believes should be 
enough to prove the contractor's credibility. The commenter suggested that this 
documentation should be presented to the consumer when signing a contract with an HIC. 
Mr. Perna also noted that other trades do not have the badge requirement, and that HICs 
should not be treated differently. He also argues that badges are redundant to the 
documentation from the State and believes the use of badges will open the industry up to 
frivolous lawsuits. 
 
RESPONSE: As noted above in the Response to Comment 1, the requirement that home 
improvement contractors must display a State-issued identification badge is imposed 
pursuant to statute, P.L. 2013, c. 144, and the Division's proposed amendments and new 
rule are intended to implement that statutory requirement. The Division notes that 
Legislature did not impose the identification badge requirement on trades other than home 
improvement contractors. 



 
4. James W. Stopa, of Stopa Carpentry & General Contracting, LLC, questioned whether 
people carrying out the work of a project need badges even if they did not participate in the 
sale of the contracting services. He objects to the use of badges and believes that the State 
should go after fraudulent or criminal HICs and not punish the entire industry. The 
commenter notes that he ponders the thought of leaving the State for other regions where 
the badge requirement does not exist. 
 
RESPONSE: As noted above in the Response to Comment 1, the Division has proposed 
these amendments and new rule in order to implement the statutory requirement set forth 
in P.L. 2013, c. 144, that home improvement contractors wear identification badges. 
Consistent with proposed new N.J.A.C. 13:45A-17.5A(a), only those individuals performing, 
engaging, or attempting to engage in the sale of home improvements are required to wear 
the badge. The "sale of home improvements" is defined in the amendments to N.J.A.C. 
13:45A-17.2 to mean any action taken by or on behalf of an entity with the goal of entering 
into a contract with a consumer for the performance of home improvements. Therefore, 
individuals performing the actual home improvements are not required to wear the 
identification badge. 
  
[page=2825] Federal Standards Statement 
 
A Federal standards analysis is not required because the adopted amendments and new rule 
are governed by N.J.S.A. 45:12-1 et seq., and are not subject to any Federal requirements 
or standards. 
  
Full text of the adopted amendments and new rule follows: 
  
SUBCHAPTER 17.     HOME IMPROVEMENT CONTRACTOR REGISTRATION 
  
13:45A-17.2   Definitions 
  
The following words and terms, as used in this subchapter, shall have the following 
meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 
  
. . . 
  
"Badge declaration" means the electronic form that a registered entity must complete, as 
set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:45A-17.5A(b), which identifies individuals performing, engaging, or 
attempting to engage in the sale of home improvements. 
  
. . . 
  
"Entity" means the business registered or to be registered as a home improvement 
contractor. 
  
. . . 
  
"Sale of home improvements" means any action taken by or on behalf of an entity with the 
goal of entering into a contract with a consumer for the performance of a home 
improvement or home improvements, including, but not limited to: initial contact with the 
consumer; taking measurements; presenting estimates for the cost of home improvements; 
and entering into the contract with the consumer for the completion of home improvements. 
  



"State-authorized vendor or vendors" means the business or businesses with which the 
State has contracted to act on behalf of the Director for the issuance and management of 
home improvement and home elevation contractor identification badges. 
  
13:45A-17.5A    Identification badges 
  
(a) On or after six months after the award of the contract for badge creation and other 
ancillary services related to the badges, each individual performing, engaging, or attempting 
to engage in the sale of home improvements, shall wear an identification badge on the 
upper left corner of the individual's torso in a plainly visible fashion. An individual shall not 
engage in the sale of home improvements until the individual has obtained and is wearing a 
valid identification badge. 
  
(b) For the purpose of identifying those individuals who are required to obtain and wear an 
identification badge, each entity shall, upon registration, complete a badge declaration 
setting forth the name and address of residence of each individual who will perform, 
engage, or attempt to engage in the sales of home improvements on behalf of the entity. 
Access to the electronic form shall be available by logging on to the Division website. The 
name, address, and contact information for the State-authorized vendor or vendors issuing 
identification badges shall be posted on the Division website. 
  
(c) An individual shall not be issued a badge unless: 
  
1. The registration of the entity with which the individual is associated is in good standing; 
  
2. The individual is listed on the entity's badge declaration, as supplemented and amended 
from time to time; 
  
3. The badge fee has been paid by the entity to the vendor; and 
  
4. The individual presents to the State-authorized vendor a form of government-issued 
photo identification containing the individual's current address of residence, which shall 
match the address listed on the entity's badge declaration. 
  
(d) The Division, through the State-authorized vendor or vendors, shall issue an 
identification badge that shall be unalterable and shall include the following information: 
  
1. The name, color photograph, and signature of the individual to whom the badge has been 
issued; 
  
2. The business name and registration number of the entity; 
  
3. The badge's expiration date; and 
  
4. A clear and visible statement that the badge is not for an electrical contractor, plumbing 
contractor, or HVACR contractor. 
  
(e) The badge shall be valid for two years. Each entity on whose behalf a badge has been 
issued shall apply for renewal of the badge at least 45 days prior to its expiration date, at 
which time the entity shall pay the badge renewal fee and shall obtain from the State-
authorized vendor a new badge showing an updated photo and expiration date. An entity 
that permits an individual required to have a badge to work without a valid badge shall be 
deemed to be in violation of this subchapter within the meaning of N.J.A.C. 13:45A-17.9 



and shall also be subject to the penalty provisions of N.J.S.A. 56:8-143. 
  
(f) Identification badges are not transferable. Upon termination of an association between 
an entity and an individual to whom an identification badge was issued, the entity shall: 
  
1. Inform the Division within three business days of the date of termination by logging on to 
the Division's website and amending the badge declaration; and 
  
2. Collect the individual's identification badge and surrender it to the State-authorized 
vendor for destruction within three business days of the date of termination. The address for 
surrender shall be set forth on the Division's website. 
  
i. Failure of an entity to collect and timely surrender an identification badge shall be deemed 
to be a violation within the meaning of N.J.A.C. 13:45A-17.9. 
  
(g) If an individual's badge is lost or stolen, or a badge holder has legally changed his or her 
name through marriage or court order, the entity with which the individual is associated 
shall, within three business days of the event, report the event to the Division by logging on 
to the Division's website and: 
  
1. In the case of a name change, amend the badge declaration; or 
  
2. In the case of a lost or stolen badge, report the loss or theft. 
  
i. In the case of a lost or stolen badge, the individual shall not perform, engage or attempt 
to engage in the sales of home improvements until the individual obtains and is wearing a 
new badge. 
  
(h) An entity whose registration has been suspended or revoked, or has not been renewed 
shall, within three business days of that suspension, revocation, or nonrenewal, surrender 
all identification badges issued under the registration number of the entity to the State-
authorized vendor. The address for surrender shall be set forth on the Division's website. All 
surrendered badges shall be destroyed. Any subsequent reinstatement of registration shall 
require the issuance of a new badge. 
  
13:45A-17.7   Duty to update information 
  
(a)-(b) (No change.) 
  
(c) Whenever there is a deletion or addition to the list of individuals required to wear 
identification badges pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:45A-17.5A, the entity shall inform the Division 
within three business days of the deletion or addition by logging on to the Division's website 
and amending the badge declaration. Any additions to the list shall be accompanied by the 
badge fee. Any individual added to the entity's list of individuals required to wear a badge 
shall not perform, engage, or attempt to engage in the sales of home improvements on 
behalf of the entity until the individual has obtained and is wearing a badge. 
  
13:45A-17.9   Refusal to issue; suspension or revocation of registration; hearing; other 
sanctions 
  
(a) The Director may refuse to issue or renew, or may suspend or revoke any registration 
issued by the Division upon proof that an applicant or registrant or any of its officers, 
directors, principals, or persons with an ownership interest of 10 percent or more in the 



home improvement contractor business: 
  
1.-8. (No change.) 
  
9. Has failed to comply with the badge requirements set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:45A-17.5A. It 
shall be an affirmative defense to a charge of failing to return a badge to the State-
authorized vendor that the entity used its best efforts to collect and surrender the badge; 
  
Recodify existing 9.-10. as 10.-11. (No change in text.) 
  
(b) (No change.) 
  
(c) Except as provided in (b) above, prior to refusing to issue or renew or suspending or 
revoking a home improvement contractor registration or assessing a penalty or other 
sanction, the Director shall notify the applicant or registrant and provide an opportunity to 
be heard. 
  
[page=2826] (d)-(e) (No change.) 
  
13:45A-17.10   Reinstatement of suspended registration 
  
A registration that is suspended by the Director may be reinstated upon the contractor 
satisfying the conditions for reinstatement as determined by the Director and paying all 
outstanding fees, fines, penalties, and restitution, including the payment of the 
reinstatement fee specified in N.J.A.C. 13:45A-17.14. If a suspended registration is 
reinstated, all individuals associated with the reinstated entity required to wear badges 
pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:45A-17.5A shall obtain new badges.  
 


