Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
Global Navigation
Division of Consumer Affairs
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey NJ Home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions
OAG Home
OAG Contact
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Office of the Attorney General Homepage Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs Highlights
Division of Consumer Affairs Topics in a A-Z List Format
Office of Consumer Protection (OCP)
New Jersey Bureau of Securities
Office of Weights and Measures
Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission
Alternative Dispute Resolution
Professions and Occupations List
Contact the Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs in Spanish
Division of Criminal Justice
Division on Civil Rights
Division of Gaming Enforcement
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Division of Law
Juvenile Justice Commission
NJ Racing Commission
State Athletic Control Board
Division of NJ State Police
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
Subscribe to Buyer Beware Alerts
OPRA - Open Public Records Act
Download Free PDF Reader

OCP Home Lemon Law Home New Car Used Car Motorized Wheelchair

Here is What to Expect on your Road to Relief

  • Your Lemon Law application gets reviewed by a Lemon Law staff member for completeness and to determine whether it meets all of the qualifications for a Lemon Law hearing.
  • The application will then be approved, rejected or sent back to you for edits.
  • Once the application is approved, a $50 fee is requested. (There is no fee for Used Car Lemon Law cases).
  • Once the fee has been received, the application is considered accepted and a copy will then be mailed to the manufacturer (or to the dealer in Used Car Lemon Law cases).
  • You will then be contacted to set a hearing date, usually within 20 days of the application's acceptance, subject to the hearing dates the Office of Administrative Law (O.A.L.) has available. A copy of the application will then be sent to the O.A.L.
  • The administrative law judge's Initial Decision will be issued within 20 days of the hearing.
  • Within 15 days of having received the Initial Decision, the Director of Consumer Affairs will issue a Final Decision. The Final Decision will either adopt, reject or modify the Initial Decision.

 

Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
NJ Home Logo
Divisional: DCA Home | Complaint Forms | Proposals | Adoptions | Contact DCA
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright State of New Jersey
This page is maintained by DCA. Comments/Questions: email

Page last modified: