Sign In
Skip to main content Open accessibility information page

Press Release


For Immediate Release:
February 27, 2015

Office of The Attorney General
John J. Hoffman, Acting Attorney General

Division of Consumer Affairs
Steve C. Lee, Acting Director

Division of Law
Jeffrey S. Jacobson, Director
  For Further Information and Media Inquiries:
Jeff Lamm
Neal Buccino
(973) 504-6327

Consumer Alert: Customer Complaint Notices Now Required on and in Privately-Owned Autobuses by “Angelie’s Law”

NEWARK – The New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs today reminds riders of autobuses operated by privately-owned companies that notices informing riders of how to report service complaints are now required to be conspicuously posted on the inside and the outside of such vehicles.

Autobuses must include notices to riders directing them to report service complaints to the Division of Consumer Affairs whose contact telephone number must also be provided.  These notices are required under “Angelie’s Law,” a state law enacted in memory of Angelie Paredes, who was killed in July 2013 by a lamp post that was struck by an autobus driver who was using his cell phone while driving.

The law applies to autobuses that operate on public highways and carry not more than 40 passengers within New Jersey or between states.

The Division of Consumer Affairs has contacted autobus operators to remind them of their notice obligation under Angelie’s Law and has also provided the following suggested wording for these notices:

If you have a complaint about this private bus service or the bus operator, you can call the
New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs at (973) 504-6200.

Division of Consumer Affairs investigators will follow up on filed complaints. Consumer Affairs has the authority to direct payment of civil penalties ($1,000 for the first violation; $2,000 for a second violation; and $5,000 for a third or subsequent violation) for daily violations of the law and stands ready to take all necessary action to ensure compliance with Angelie’s Law.

To learn more about Angelie’s Law, go to http://njconsumeraffairs.gov/angelieslaw/

Consumers who believe they have been cheated or scammed by a business, or suspect any other form of consumer abuse, can file an online complaint with the State Division of Consumer Affairs by visiting its website or by calling 1-800-242-5846 (toll free within New Jersey) or 973-504- 6200.

Follow the Division of Consumer Affairs on Facebook , and check our online calendar of upcoming Consumer Outreach events.

###

Last Modified: 4/7/2015 1:00 PM