Initial and renewal and solicitor registration filings and other required reporting may now be filed online.
Initial and Renewal and and Solicitor Registration Filings
and Other Required Reporting May Now be Filed Online
For the registration year 2016/2017 (due 6/30/16),
registrations and reports may be filed on line OR via mail
(in hard copy as before).
Beginning with the registration year 2017/18
online registration will be
| Go to
DCA Portal |
- The link above will open a new tab. You may need to refer back to this page during registration. Do not close this tab.
- On the page find "Sign In | Register."
- If you already have a
myNewJersey account and accessed Charity Online Registration in the past, choose Sign In to enter your
- If you DO NOT have a
myNewJersey account or need to LINK an existing
myNewJersey account to Charity Online Registration, choose
Registration Information for Independent Paid Fund Raisers and Fund-Raising Counsels
Independent Paid Fund Raisers and Fund-Raising Counsels based, operating or soliciting in New Jersey must be registered with the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs, Charities Registration Section prior to performing any service in this State.
Charitable Registration & Investigation Act (CRI Act) requires that each Independent Paid Fund-Raiser and Fund-Raising Counsel registration statement be signed and sworn to by the principal officer of the organization, and that it be submitted along with the applicable fees and required attachments.
Please refer to the
CRI ActN.J.S.A. 45:17A-27 through
N.J.S.A. 45:17A-32 for complete information, registration requirements, information and financial reporting requirements and prohibited activities regarding the solicitation of charitable contributions in the State of New Jersey.
To register for the first time, professional Fund Raisers and Fund-Raising counsels are required to complete form CRI-500P. Initial registrations must be submitted with a registration fee of $250 and require that copies of the organization's certificate of incorporation or trade be attached.
Annual Renewal Registration
Registered professional Fund Raisers and Fund-Raising Counsels are required to renew their registration on an annual basis using form CRI-500PR, to be submitted with a registration fee of $250.
Renewal Registration Due Date
Annual renewal registrations for Independent Paid Fund Raisers and Fund-Raising Counsels are due June 30. Registrations are effective from July 1 to June 30th of the following year.
Late Registration Fee
Independent Paid Fund-Raiser and Fund-Raising Counsel Registration renewals filed
(postmarked) after the due date must include a late fee of $25.
Registration renewals filed after the due date must include a late fee of $25. The late fee amount is the same for all filers, regardless of the form being used or the gross contributions being reported. Please include this additional fee with your registration fee at the time of filing.
Registration for Solicitors of Independent Paid Fund Raisers
CRI Act states that any person acting as a solicitor of an Independent Paid Fund-Raiser must be registered with the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs, Charities Registration Section. The independent paid fund-raising organization is required to individually register such persons using form CRI-500S prior to the person acting as a solicitor for their organization. Each solicitor filing must be accompanied by a $15.00 registration fee. Please refer to the
CRI Act Registration of Solicitors
N.J.S.A. 45:17a-28 and the
regulations N.J.A.C. 13:48-8.1 for complete information.
Contract Filing - Independent Paid Fund Raiser and Counsel
CRI Act requires that the relationship between a charitable organization and a Fund-Raising Counsel or Independent Paid Fund Raiser be set forth in the form of a written contract. All such contracts must be signed by two authorized officials of the charitable organization, one of whom must be a member of the organizations governing body, and by the authorized officer for the Fund-Raising Counsel or Independent Paid Fund Raiser.
The Independent Paid Fund Raiser or Fund-Raising Counsel is required to file a copy of all such contracts using form CRI-500A as a guideline. The form and contract must be submitted to the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs, Charities Registration Section along with a filing fee of $30.00 at least ten (10) business days prior to the performance of any service within the State of New Jersey.
Please refer to the
CRI ActN.J.S.A. 45: 17a-27d through e for further information regarding Independent Paid Fund Raiser and counsel contract filing requirements.
Campaign Reports of Charitable Solicitation by an Independent Paid Fund Raiser
with custody, control , possession or access to solicited funds
If either a Fund-Raising Counsel or Independent Paid Fund Raiser at any time has or intends to have custody, control, possession or access to a charitable organization's solicited contributions, that Fund-Raising Counsel or Independent Paid Fund Raiser is required to file with the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs, Charities Registration Section a financial report for the campaign using form SR-1 Report of Charitable Solicitation. Please refer to the
CRI ActN.J.S.A. 45:17a-27g (3) and the
regulationsN.J.A.C. 13:48-9.1 (f) for complete information.
without custody, control , possession or access to solicited funds According to regulations effective January 25, 2011, any Fund-Raising Counsel or Independent Paid Fund Raiser who does not have custody, control, possession or access to the charitable organization's contributions must file a form SR2. Please refer to
regulationsN.J.A.C. 13:48-9.1(g) for complete information regarding the filing requirements of the SR2 form. Campaign Reports of Charitable Solicitation are due within 40 days after a solicitation campaign has been completed, or in the case of a campaign lasting more than twelve (12) months, within 40 days of the end of each of the charitable organization's fiscal year(s) end. Each campaign report filing must be accompanied by a filing fee of $10.00.
Registration and Other Filing Fees
Independent Paid Fund Raiser/Fund-Raising Counsel Initial Registration
Independent Paid Fund Raiser/Fund-Raising Counsel Renewal Registration
Solicitor Initial Registration or Renewal
(Form CRI 500S)..........$15.00
Paid Fund Raiser & Paid Fund-Raising Counsel Contract Filing
Campaign Report an Independent Paid Fund Raiser with Custody of Funds
Campaign Report an Independent Paid Fund Raiser without Custody of Funds
Filing by Mail: When filing by mail, registration fee payments are accepted by check or money order only, payable to the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs. The statute requires that registration renewals filed after the annual due date of June 30, must be accompanied by a $25.00 late fee. Please write the professional fund raiser's registration number, along with the name and registration number of the charity
(where applicable) on all checks, documents and attachments being submitted. All fees are due and payable at the time of filing.
Filing Online: Registration, and other fees, must be paid via major credit card
(Visa, MasterCard, Discover and American Express). There is no service fee assessed. The statute requires that registration renewals filed after the annual due date of June 30, must be accompanied by a $25.00 late fee. All fees are due and payable at the time of filing.
Paid Fund-Raiser Registration Forms
Forms for: Registration of Independent Paid Fund Raisers, Fund-Raising Counsel, Solicitors of Fund Raisers, Filing of Contracts, and Contract Campaign Reports