
New Jersey Office of the Attorney General
Division of Consumer Affairs

New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling
124 Halsey Street, 6th Floor, P.O. Box 45003

Newark, New Jersey 07101
(973) 504-6400

Certification of  
Cosmetology and Hairstyling School

I hereby certify that the applicant herein, ________________________________________________________________________ ,
	 First name	 Middle initial	 Last name

in our opinion, meets all of the requirements governing the New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling in  
accordance with the Revised Statutes of New Jersey (N.J.S.A. 45:5 B-1 et seq.), to be accepted to be registered as a student by 
the Board.

The applicant enrolled in our school on______________________________________ as a	  Full-time 	  Part-time    student.
	 Month	 Day	 Year

Monday ___________ Tuesday___________  Wednesday___________  Thursday___________  Friday_ _________ Saturday_ ______

(Designate the applicant’s hours of attendance above, e.g. 9:00 - 5:00)

	 Cosmetology & Hairstyling 	 	 Brush-Up	 	 Manicuring	 	 Skin Care Specialty 	

	 Teacher’s Program	 	 Barbering	 	 Beauty Culture	

	 Post-Graduate 	 	 English	 	 Non-English _________________________________________
	 Specialty language

To be admitted to the New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling examination, the student must be at least 17 years 
of age, have completed the required hours of training for the license sought and have completed high school or the equivalent.*

	 School name_______________________________________________________________________________

	 Address_______________________________________________________________________________
	 Street address

	 _______________________________________________________________________________
	 City 	 County 	 ZIP code

	 Permit / License No.____________________________________

	 ____________________________________	 ____________________________________
	 Print name of Principal or Supervisor	 Signature of Principal or Supervisor

*	 To obtain a cosmetology and hairstyling license, the student must complete a 1,200-hour cosmetology and 
hairstyling course.

*	 To obtain a beauty culture license, the student must complete a 1,100-hour beauty culture course.

*	 To obtain a barbering license, the student must complete a 900-hour barbering course.

*	 To obtain a skin care specialty license, the student must complete a 600-hour skin care specialty course.

*	 To obtain a manicuring license, the student must complete a 300-hour manicuring course.




