Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
Global Navigation
Division of Consumer Affairs
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey NJ Home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions
OAG Home
OAG Contact
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Office of the Attorney General Homepage Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs Highlights
Division of Consumer Affairs Topics in a A-Z List Format
Office of Consumer Protection (OCP)
New Jersey Bureau of Securities
Office of Weights and Measures
Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission
Alternative Dispute Resolution
Professions and Occupations List
Contact the Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs in Spanish
Division of Criminal Justice
Division on Civil Rights
Division of Gaming Enforcement
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Division of Law
Juvenile Justice Commission
NJ Racing Commission
State Athletic Control Board
Division of NJ State Police
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
Subscribe to Buyer Beware Alerts
OPRA - Open Public Records Act
Download Free PDF Reader

State Board of Court Reporting
Frequently Asked Questions 

 


 

1. What are the requirements to become a Certified Court Reporter in New Jersey? 
A. To qualify for Certification as a Certified Court Reporter, an applicant shall: 

    1. Be at least 18 years of age;
    2. Be of good moral character, as established by references and a criminal history name search;
    3. Have obtained a high school diploma or equivalent;
    4. Have submitted a completed application form to the Board not less than three weeks before the date of the required examination;
    5. Paid the application fee;
    6. Have successfully passed the Board approved examination for the Certification of Court Reporters; and
    7. Have a place for the regular transaction of business within New Jersey. 

Top

2. My Certification has been in expired status for more than 5 years, what do I have to do to have an active Certification? 
A. You must submit to the Board office:

    1. A Reinstatement application;
    2. Provide proof of having completed 15 credits of Continuing Education;
    3. Pay the Reinstatement fee and all past delinquent renewal fees;
    4. Successfully complete the Board approved Certification examination;
    5. Go through a criminal history name search; and
    6. Provide 2 letters of reference, one business and one personal. 

Top
3. I am licensed in another state as a Court Reporter; can I work in New Jersey as a Court Reporter with that license? 
A. No, New Jersey does not have a reciprocal agreement with other states.  You would have to go through the application process for Certification in New Jersey. 

Top


4. As a Certified Court Reporter in New Jersey, what are the requirements for Continuing Education credits? 
A. An applicant for biennial certificate renewal shall complete, during the preceding biennial period, a minimum of 15 credits of continuing education with at least 10 credits being in core areas relating to Court Reporting; 

Top


5. How long is my Certification valid for?
A. Two years 


 Top


6. What exam does the State Board use as its qualifying examination for certification? 
A. On May 1, 2006, the Board approved the National Court Reporter Association’s RPR exam as its qualifying exam. 

Top


7. If I took the RPR exam prior to May, 2006, does that mean I would have to take it again before I can become Certified in New Jersey? 
A. YES. 

Top


8. Once I pass the RPR exam, does that mean I am instantly Certified as a Court Reporter in New Jersey?  A. No, that is just the first step; you would have to submit a completed application with the Board office as well as the documentation requested on the application and be approved by the Board. 

Top


9. My Certification has been in Inactive status for 2 years; how do I re-activate  my Certification?    
A. Upon application to the Board, a Certificate holder may change from inactive to active status upon payment of past renewal fee as well as completing 15 credits of Continuing Education, which shall be completed by the applicant within one year prior to and one year after the date of application for return to active status. 

Top


10. I am a Temporary Registered Reporter in New Jersey; does this designation carry the same weight as a Certified Court Reporter? 
A. Absolutely not.  As a Temporary Registered Reporter (TRR), you can only work on an emergent basis when a Certified Court Reporter is unavailable.  A Temporary Registered Reporter must disclose to all participants of a proceeding and obtain from those participants, before commencement of the proceeding, a written acknowledgment that the Temporary Registered Reporter is not Certified by the Board but is registered with the Board to practice as a Temporary Registered Reporter. 

Top


11. How long is my Temporary Reporter Registration valid for? 
A. Registrations are issued by the Board for a period of one year.  A TRR may be renewed for two consecutive one year periods following initial registration, during which time a registrant shall attempt to complete the Certification examination.  After the three year period has expired, the registrant shall not be allowed to register as a TRR and shall not practice Court Reporting in the State until he or she has passed the Certification examination and has been Certified by the Board. 

Top

Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
NJ Home Logo
Divisional: ../DCA Home | ../Complaint Forms | Proposals | Adoptions | Contact DCA
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright State of New Jersey
This page is maintained by DCA. Comments/Questions: email

Page last modified: